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SODA SNACKS JUICE COFFEE

Your Full Service Vending Company Machines Professionally Serviced & Installed




From:   Dana Coburn

             JDK Vending Services

             508-303-8007

             14 Woodbury Rd.

             Southborough, MA 01772

To:       Commissioner John Auerbach

             Massachusetts Department of Public Health

             250 Washington Street

             Boston, MA 02109

Dear Commissioner,
RE: Vending Machines Fees

 I am writing in protest of the increase in the vending machine license fees.  I have been a small business owner since 1997 and currently have two (2) employees.  Last year I paid $321 for 107 machines.  The new price tag will be $2140.  Really?

Currently the costliest D.P.H. annual license fee imposed on any industry other than vending is $375.This applies to a meat and poultry processing plant making in excess of $10 million  in sales during one calendar year. If a vending operator has 126 machines or more, they already pay the HIGHEST LICENSE FEE to the D.P.H. without this proposed increase.  After fifteen years in business, I have grossed less than one-third (1/3rd)   of that $10 million combined yet my fee will rise over 5 times as much as theirs yearly.  How is this equitable?

Is the D.P.H. saying it will spend 5 times more time and energy inspecting calorie labels on my machines than inspecting a meat processing plant?  I think the people of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts will feel much better eating from a vending machine than having a burger in a restaurant or buying chicken at a supermarket knowing the D.P.H. will be spending over 5 times their effort on inspecting calorie labels than it will be on inspecting meat and poultry at processing plants.  
Which industry has the greater potential to cause health risks?  A meat processing plant could cause E. Coli, botulism, and food poisoning, all of which could be deadly.  Even if the vending industry does not comply with the calorie labeling law, there is NO RISK of death or well-being of any person.


How can the DPH compare possible deadly health risks with no health risks?   

This is a federal law, so why isn’t the state asking for federal funding to cover the cost instead of placing the burden on small businesses?  Many small businesses are leaving the state or being created in other states due to the economic climate and prohibitive nature of the rules, regulations and fees in Massachusetts. So why is the state willing to hurt the businesses that have remained and are attempting to grow?

 Furthermore, if the product manufacturers were forced to place the calorie content on the front of their products, there would be no need for this inspection.  Would the DPH rescind the increase if this occurs?

It’s been stated by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health and Massachusetts Health Policy Forum that there is an epidemic of childhood obesity in children between the ages of 10 and 17.  I ask you, where are the 10-17 year olds buying high calorie snacks in vending machines? Certainly not the schools since the Commonwealth has mandated low calorie products (the A-Acceptable List) in school vending machines for well over 5 years. 


How is it that a 10-17 year old can go into a supermarket, convenience or variety store and purchase any candy bar, soft drink, or salty snack without any restrictions, yet when I provide a vending machine to a private company that 10-17 year olds have NO access to that machine is subject to restrictions? 

Thank you for the opportunity to voice my opinion on this matter.
I look forward to your response to the questions I have posed.                                 Sincerely, 

 Dana Coburn

