
	 Child Labor Laws in Massachusetts*

Prohibited Jobs for Minors

Legal Work Hours for Minors				     Last updated 5/2012

 14 & 15 Year Olds	
Work Hours

All year round:
•	Only between 6 am and 10 pm 
on nights preceding a regularly 
scheduled school day

•	If the establishment stops serving 
customers at 10 pm, the minor 
may be employed until 10:15 pm

•	Only between 6 am and 11:30 
pm on nights not preceding a 
regularly scheduled school day, 
except in restaurants and race 
tracks until midnight

Work Hours 

During the school year:
•	 Only between 7 am and 7 pm
•	 Not during school hours

During the summer
(July 1—Labor Day):
•	 Only between 7 am and 9 pm

All teens under 18 must 
get a Work Permit from 
the school district where 
they live or go to school. 
For more information, 
visit the website of  the 
Department of  Labor 
Standards at:
www.mass.gov/dols/youth

Maximum Hours

When school is in session:
•	 18 hours per week
•	 3 hours per day on school days
•	 8 hours per day on weekends and 
holidays

•	 6 days per week

When school is not in session:
•	 40 hours per week
•	 8 hours per day
•	 6 days per week

Maximum Hours

All year round:
•	 48 hours per week
•	 9 hours per day
•	 6 days per week

After 8 pm, all minors must 
be directly supervised by 
an adult who is located in 
the workplace and who is 
reasonably accessible.
(With the exception of  minors 
who work at kiosks in the common 
areas of  some malls.)

 16 & 17 Year Olds	

Persons under 16 may NOT: 

•	 Operate, clean, or repair power-driven machinery (except office machines or 
machines for retail, cleanup, or kitchen work not otherwise prohibited)

•	 Cook (except on electric or gas grills that do not have open flames) 
•	 Operate fryolators, rotisseries, NEICO broilers, or pressure cookers
•	 Operate, clean or repair power-driven food slicers, grinders, choppers, 

processors, cutters, and mixers
•	 Perform any baking activities
•	 Operate microwave ovens (except to heat food in microwave ovens with a 

maximum capacity of 140 degrees Fahrenheit) 
•	 Clean kitchen surfaces that are hotter than 100 degrees Fahrenheit
•	 Filter, transport, or dispose of cooking oil or grease hotter than 100 degrees 

Fahrenheit
•	 Work in freezers or meat coolers
•	 Work in a manufacturing facility or occupation (e.g., in a factory, as an 

assembler)
•	 Work on or use ladders, scaffolds, or their substitutes
•	 Work in garages, except dispensing gas and oil
•	 Work in brick or lumber yards
•	 Work in amusement places (e.g., pool or billiard room, or bowling alley)
•	 Work in barber shops
•	 Work in door-to-door street sales, including work as a sign waiver (except 

directly outside of employer establishment)
•	 Work in construction, transportation, communications, or public utilities (except 

doing clerical work away from heavy machinery off the job-site)
•	 Work in warehouses (except doing clerical work)
•	 Load or unload trucks, railroad cars, or conveyors
•	 Ride in or on a motor vehicle (except in passenger seat if wearing a seatbelt)
•	 Work doing laundry in a commercial laundry or dry cleaning establishment
•	 Work as a public messenger
•	 Work at processing operations (e.g., in meat or fish, poultry catching, cooping, 

cracking nuts, bulk or mass mailing)
•	 Work around boilers or in engine rooms
•	 Do industrial homework
•	 Work with dangerous electrical machinery or appliances
•	 Work that is determined by the Massachusetts Attorney General to be 

dangerous to the health and well-being of minors
•	Work in any of the occupations or tasks prohibited for persons 

under age 18

Tasks not specifically permitted by the US DOL Secretary of Labor, 
are prohibited.

Persons under 18 may NOT:
•	 Drive a vehicle, forklift, or work assist vehicle (except golf carts in certain 

circumstances) 
•	 Ride as a passenger on a forklift
•	 Operate, clean or repair power-driven meat slicers, grinders or choppers
•	 Operate, clean or repair power-driven bakery machines (except for certain 

countertop models and pizza dough rollers)
•	 Work 30 feet or more above ground or water
•	 Handle, serve, or sell alcoholic beverages
•	 Use circular, chain, or band saws; guillotine shears; wood chippers; and 

abrasive cutting discs
•	 Use power-driven woodworking machines
•	 Use, service, drive, or work from hoisting machines
•	 Operate or load power-driven balers, compactors, or paper processing 

machines
•	 Use power-driven metal-forming, punching, or shearing machines
•	 Use buffing or polishing equipment
•	 Manufacture brick, tile, or kindred products
•	 Manufacture or store explosives
•	 Work in excavation, wrecking, demolition, or shipbreaking
•	 Work in forest fire fighting, forest fire prevention, timber track operations, and 

forestry service
•	 Work in logging, sawmilling, or mining
•	Work slaughtering, packing, or processing meat and poultry
•	Work in railway operations
•	Work in roofing or on or about a roof
•	Work in foundries or around blast furnaces
•	Work manufacturing phosphorus or phosphorus matches
•	Work where they are exposed to radioactive substances
•	Work as a firefighter or engineer on a boat
•	Oil or clean hazardous machinery in motion
•	Work in any job requiring the possession or use of a firearm 

* This is a compilation of state and federal child labor laws. The most protective laws are presented here and 
apply to all employers of teens in Massachusetts including family members who employ their teenaged relatives. 
There are additional regulations and some exemptions such as in agricultural industries and for student learners 
participating in cooperative education programs.

This poster was prepared by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health’s Teens at Work: Injury Surveillance 
and Prevention Project and the Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General with funding from the National 
Institute for Occupational Safety and Health. For more information, please call (617) 624-5632 or e-mail us at 
teens.atwork@state.ma.us.

Persons under 14 may not work! There are a few 
exceptions to this, such as babysitting, working as news carriers, 

on farms, and in entertainment (with a special permit).
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n For questions about wages or the child labor laws:

•	 Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General
Fair Labor and Business Practices Division
  www.ago.state.ma.us  -  (617) 727-3465

•	 U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division
   www.dol.gov/esa/whd  -  (617) 624-6700

For questions about workers’ compensation:
•	 Massachusetts Department of Industrial Accidents

   www.mass.gov/dia  -  (800) 323-3249 x470

For questions about health and safety:
•	 U.S. Department of Labor
Occupational Safety & Health Administration
   www.osha.gov
   Andover Office     -  (978) 837-4460
   Braintree Office    -  (617) 565-6924
   Springfield Office  -  (413) 785-0123

•	 Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Occupational Health Surveillance Program
Teens at Work Injury Surveillance and Prevention Project
   www.mass.gov/dph/teensatwork  -  (617) 624-5632

2010


