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The Massachusetts Board of Registration in Pharmacy 
Alert  

Chapter 159 of the Acts of 2014	Signed into Law on 
July 10, 2014 

The Massachusetts Board of Registration in Pharmacy (BORP) has begun the process of writing regulations that 
define the requirements set forth in chapter 159 of the Acts of 2014. The timeline for implementation of these 

requirements is dictated by chapter 159; some take effect immediately and others by the end of the year.  
 

This alert is the first of many communications from BORP to its registrants. Additional information and updates will be 
disseminated as well as posted to the BORP website. 

Compounding Operations 
‐ Section 6: 

o All drug preparations compounded shall be labeled notifying users/practitioners that the drug is a compounded 
drug preparation  

 Future Guidance will provide details once regulations are promulgated 
o All pharmacies engaged in sterile or complex non-sterile compounding shall provide a telephone number  
o This phone shall be staffed during regular hours of operation and not less than 56 hours/week  
o This phone number shall be noted on the drug’s container 

Continuing Education Requirements: Beginning January 1, 2015 
‐ Section 13:  

o Continuing Education requirements for all pharmacists registered in Massachusetts have changed. 
o The new requirements will take effect January 1, 2015, i.e. for the next renewal cycle (2015 / 2016). 

 
 New Requirements Law 

(Beginning 1/1/2015) 
Previous Requirements 

Total CEU per calendar year 20 15 
Live 5 5 
Law 2 2 
Sterile Compounding 
(if engaged in or oversee ) 

5 N/A 

Non-Sterile Complex  
(if engaged in or oversee ) 

3 N/A 

 
o Audits of randomly selected renewed licenses will be conducted and licensees who are not in compliance or fail 

to provide requested documentation within 7 days of receiving request shall be fined not more than $1,000. 

Link to Chapter 159 of the Acts of 2014: https://malegislature.gov/Laws/SessionLaws/Acts/2014/Chapter159 

For further inquiries after reviewing the Chapter, please email: 

Pharmacy.Admin@MassMail.State.Ma.US 
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