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Complaints, Penalties, and Enforcement of  
The Massachusetts Smoke-Free Workplace Law 

 
The Smoke-Free Workplace Law, M.G.L. Ch. 270, §22, mandates that enclosed workplaces with one or more employees must be 
smoke-free. The state law’s intent is to protect workers in enclosed workplaces from secondhand smoke exposure. The full text of the 
law and additional information is available at www.mass.gov/dph/mtcp. 
 

What are the procedures for filing a complaint?  
Complaints can be filed by contacting your local board of health/health department, or the Massachusetts Department of 
Public Health at 1- 800-992-1895. Complaint forms are available online at www.mass.gov/dph/mtcp. Completed forms can 
be faxed to 617-624-5921 or mailed to the Massachusetts Tobacco Control Program, 250 Washington Street, 4th Floor, 
Boston, MA 02108. 
 
What happens once a complaint is made to the Department of Public Health?  
If the complaint appears to be a violation of the state law, a copy of the complaint will be sent by fax to the local board of 
health/health department. If the board of health/health department has a funded tobacco control program, the program will 
also receive a copy of the complaint. The workplace will receive a letter from DPH informing the workplace that a complaint 
has been filed and that the local board of health/health department has been notified. All complaints are entered into a 
database. 
 
What are the penalties for smoking violations for business owners, operator, managers, or persons in 
charge?   
The first offense for permitting smoking in a workplace is $100. The second offense occurring within 2 years of the first 
offense is $200, and the third or subsequent offense occurring within 2 years of the second offense is $300. Individual 
smokers can also be fined $100 for each offense.  Some municipalities may have local laws with stricter penalties. For 
more information, contact your local Board of Health or Health Department. 
 
What if a patron refuses to stop smoking?   
The owner, operator, manager or person in charge should make an effort to obtain compliance.  If the patron refuses to stop 
smoking or becomes disorderly, the patron may also be in violation of other laws, such as trespassing or disturbing the 
peace; therefore, the local police should be contacted.  Patrons can be fined $100 for each violation of the smoke-free law. 
 
Where does the fine get paid?  
The violation notice will indicate where to send the payment. Generally, tickets issued by cities and towns will be paid to the 
clerk’s office and go into the general fund. 
 
Who enforces the Smoke-free Workplace Law?   
The law requires that the owner, operator, manager or person in charge to ensure that employees and the general public 
comply with the law.  The local health department/board of health can respond to complaints received and may conduct 
periodic inspections.  A local health department/board of health, a local inspection department, a municipal government or 
its agent, the Massachusetts Department of Public Health and the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission can enforce the 
law. The Massachusetts Department of Public Health has established a complaint and information line at 1-800-992-1895. 
 
Does the enforcement officer have to witness smoking to take enforcement action?   
The enforcement officer does not have to witness the actual smoking, however credible evidence (e.g. used ashtrays or 
cigarette butts on the floor) that smoking occurred inside the workplace must be provided. 
 
Can a municipality use non-criminal disposition procedures (civil tickets) without an enabling ordinance or bylaw?  
Yes, the state law allows municipal government and it’s agents (e.g. board of health) to use non-criminal disposition 
procedures to ticket any violations of this law. Permission to use this ticketing procedure is not required from either a city 
council or a town meeting. 


