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Introduction 
 
 
 
 
 
 
MTCP envisions an environment where all people in Massachusetts can live tobacco-
free. Smoking prevention among children must be a principal goal in seeking to achieve a 
smoke-free environment. Preventing young people from starting to smoke and protecting 
children and adults from secondhand smoke are two main goals of our mission. 
 
One aspect of the multifaceted approach to smoking prevention is the support and 
enforcement of laws and policies that prohibit smoking in schools. This report lists the 
applicable laws, sample policies and penalty options that schools can utilize to create a 
smoke free environment. This information is provided for educational purposes only and 
is not to be construed as legal advice. Training and technical assistance is available from 
MTCP staff and statewide programs. For assistance, contact MTCP at 1-800-992-1895 or 
617-624-5900 
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WHAT LAWS APPLY TO MY SCHOOL REGARDING TOBACCO 
POLICIES? 
  
 There are several laws that apply to schools regarding tobacco policies.  Schools 
must conform to all applicable laws when developing and implementing their own policies. 
 
 Federal Laws 
 

The United States government in 1994 passed a law called the Pro Children 
Act of 1994 1.  This federal mandate states “No person shall permit 
smoking within any indoor facility owned or leased or contracted for and 
utilized by such person for provision of routine or regular kindergarten, 
elementary, or secondary education or library services to children.”   Thus, 
no building used as a school may permit smoking within its indoor facilities.  

 
The primary enforcers of this law are the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services (HHS), the U.S. Department of Education, and the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture. 
 
The law provides for civil monetary penalties for violations of this law. “The 
civil monetary penalties may not exceed $1000 for each day of violations, or 
exceed the amount of applicable Federal funds the recipient receives for the 
fiscal year.” 

 
 State Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts  
 

1. The Smoke-Free Workplace Law 
 
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts requires that all enclosed 
workplaces remain smoke-free.  The Smoke Free Workplace Law 2 
specifically refers to schools, stating that “smoking shall be prohibited in 
workplaces, work spaces, common work areas, classrooms, conference 
and meeting rooms, offices, elevators, hallways, medical facilities, 
cafeterias, employee lounges, staircases, restrooms, restaurants… or in a 
school…or in any public transportation conveyance.”  
 
This means that smoking is prohibited in all school buildings including 
classrooms and restrooms, since schools are workplaces.  The law 
applies to all persons: students, teachers, personnel and visitors. 
Furthermore, the law also prohibits smoking in “public transportation 
conveyances” including all school buses and transportation vehicles.  
 
The Smoke Free Workplace Law provides for fines for violating the 
law: “An individual or person who violates this section by smoking in a 

                                                 
1 United States Code, chapter 20, section 68. 
2 Massachusetts General Laws, chapter 270, section 22. 
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place where smoking is prohibited shall be subject to a civil penalty of 
$100 for each violation.”   
 
Local boards of health and their agents enforce this law and  can write 
civil tickets to violators.  Many Boards of Health have designated school 
administrators and/or nurses as agents of the Board of Health for 
purposes of enforcing the law in schools.  Check with your local Board 
of Health to find out who enforces the Smoke Free Workplace Law in 
your city or town.  
 
Tickets for violating the Smoke Free Workplace Law are civil fines.  
Similar to parking tickets, they are not criminal offenses.  These civil 
tickets are paid to the town or city clerk.  However, school 
administrators should be aware that failure to pay a civil ticket has the 
potential to result in a criminal case.  An application for a criminal 
complaint may be filed in district court against a student staff member, 
or visitor that fails to show up for a civil court date for non-payment.  If 
the complaint is issued, the case becomes criminal in nature.  
 

2. The Education Reform Act 
 
In addition to the Smoke Free Workplace Law, Massachusetts requires 
that all students refrain from smoking on school property.  The 
Education Reform Act 3 states “it shall be unlawful for any student, 
enrolled in either primary or secondary public schools in the 
commonwealth, to use tobacco products of any type on school grounds 
during normal school hours.” 
 
The Education Reform Act4 requires that prohibited tobacco behaviors 
be outlined in school handbooks.  “The superintendent of every school 
district shall publish the district’s policies pertaining to the conduct of 
teachers and students.  Said policies shall prohibit the use of any 
tobacco products within the school buildings, the school facilities or on 
the school grounds or on school buses by any individual, including 
school personnel.” 
 
This law does not stipulate any required penalties, so school policy 
makers are free to enforce individual school district penalties as long as 
they are consistent with the Smoke Free Workplace Law (mentioned 
above), the school’s disciplinary guidelines, and outlined in advance in 
school handbooks.  
 
 
 

                                                 
3 Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 71, section 2A. 
4 Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 71, section 37H. 
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3. Motor Vehicles and Aircraft Laws 
 

Massachusetts’s Motor Vehicles and Aircraft Law5 provides that “No 
person shall operate any school bus, and the owner or custodian of a 
school bus shall not permit the same to be operated upon or to remain 
upon any way, unless the following requirements are complied with: —  
 

(10) No person shall smoke or consume alcoholic beverages on a 
school bus while such bus is being used to transport school pupils” 

 
 
Similar to the Education Reform Act, this law does not stipulate any 
required penalties.  However, since school buses are covered under the 
Smoke Free Workplace Law penalties regarding buses must be 
consistent with those requirements.  Penalties should be consistent with 
disciplinary guidelines and outlined in advance in school handbooks. 

   
 Local Laws- City Ordinances, Town By-Laws, and Board of Health Regulations 
 

Massachusetts is comprised of 351 cities and towns. Each city has local 
ordinances and each town has local by-laws.  Local governments also have 
Boards of Health, which are authorized to create regulations regarding the 
public health and safety of their constituency.  Check local ordinances, by-
laws, and local health regulations before creating a comprehensive school 
tobacco policy.  Often local lawmakers have addressed tobacco related 
subjects, and all school policies must be consistent with local laws of the 
town or city in which they are situated.  
 

 Federal, State, and Private Grants - Stipulations 
 

Check to see if your school receives grant money. Sometimes health related 
grants have stipulations to exchange grant funding for compliance with 
certain conditions. School nurses may also receive grants that have health 
conditions attached. Make sure to check all grants so that their rules are 
consistent with a proposed tobacco policy.  

 
 MIAA Policies 
 

If your school is a member of the Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic 
Association (MIAA), there are mandatory eligibility requirements pertaining 
to tobacco use by both athletes and coaches. The MIAA rule is a minimum 
standard. Schools may develop more stringent standards and eligibility 
requirements.  
 

                                                 
5 Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 90, section 7B. 
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“RULE 62: Student and Coach Eligibility: Chemical Health/Alcohol/Drugs/ 
Tobacco 
62.1 From the earliest fall practice date, to the conclusion of the academic 
year or final athletic event (whichever is latest),, a student shall not, 
regardless of the quantity, use, consume, possess, buy/sell, or give away any 
beverage containing alcohol; any tobacco product; marijuana; steroids; or 
any controlled substance. 

 
62.2 Coaches - During practice or competition, a coach shall not use any 
tobacco product.” 

  
MIAA also has minimum penalties for violations of the policy, for both first 
offenses, and subsequent offenses. For the complete text of their policies 
see http://www.miaa.net  
 

WHAT IS A SCHOOL TOBACCO POLICY? 
 

A school tobacco policy is a comprehensive strategy and list of guidelines to help a 
school prevent tobacco use among their students and personnel.  Typically, a tobacco 
policy is comprised of Education, Disclosure, Enforcement, and Penalties.  

 
Education 
 

Massachusetts requires that health education be a part of every school’s 
curriculum.  Included in health education courses should be topics detailing 
the dangers of tobacco.  A comprehensive educational program, spanning 
several years, is proven to help teach students about tobacco use and the 
harms associated with it.  The U.S. Centers for Disease Control, the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, and both the Massachusetts 
Department of Education and the Massachusetts Department of Public 
Health all support a prominent educational foundation to help keep 
students from using tobacco products.  

 
 
 Disclosure 
 

It is required by the Education Reform Act that all tobacco related policies 
be disclosed and published in school handbooks. Students, parents, and 
concerned citizens should have access to all tobacco related policies that are 
promulgated in every school. Students should have an opportunity to read 
and familiarize themselves with the school policy, and teachers and 
administration should encourage publicizing tobacco related policies.  

 
 Enforcement 
 

Enforcement of school policies can come from various outlets. Enforcing 
tobacco related education and disclosure usually occurs via administration 
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and school committees that stipulate curricula for schools.  As for 
administration of penalties, schools may rely on enforcement help from 
local police and school security, if available, local Board of Health agents, 
administrators, teachers, school nurses, and other educational personnel.  
 
It is a good idea to outline who the proper enforcement agents are for each 
part of the tobacco related policy. For instance, a Board of Health agent 
may enforce a fine for smoking indoors, and a principal may enforce a 
Saturday school session for smoking in a school parking lot.  
 
It is important to inform staff whether they are responsible for enforcement 
or not. Teachers, administrators, school nurses, and security should have a 
detailed explanation of the responsibilities and expectations that are 
presumed of them regarding tobacco policy enforcement. A comprehensive 
network where everybody knows his or her responsibility helps to maintain 
a system that students respect and understand.  

 
 Penalties 
 

When a student or other person uses tobacco products in a way that violates 
the school’s policy, certain penalties should apply.  Which penalties to 
enforce is a policy choice for each school as long as the penalty conforms to 
all applicable laws.  The best advice for choosing penalties is to know your 
school, your resources, and your students, and plan accordingly.  
 
For instance, if your school has a very involved parent/guardian network, 
then parental notification may be an effective option.  Or, if your resources 
are limited, prevention education programs may be too costly and in-school 
penalties may be more effective.  Evaluating the pros and cons for each 
penalty option is a very important aspect of compiling an effective tobacco 
policy.  

 
 
WHAT SHOULD BE COVERED IN MY POLICY? 
 
 
 There are several types of tobacco related offenses that should be included in a 
school tobacco policy.  It is also important to enumerate in what areas your policy extends.  
Often there are different penalty options for tobacco use in different areas of school 
property. Below are some suggestions of what might be contained in a policy, and whether 
certain areas of school property are covered under the previously described state and 
federal laws.  
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What Places Should be Covered? 
 

1. School Buildings 
 
Description 

 All school buildings and indoor hallways connecting buildings 
 
 Implications of the Smoke Free Workplace Law 

In school buildings, the Massachusetts Smoke Free Workplace law applies to 
smoking (not to other types of tobacco such as chew, spit or snuff).  Minimum 
monetary penalties are mandated by the law. The fine for smoking in violation 
of this law is $100.00.    

 
 Implications of the Education Reform Act 

School buildings are covered under the Education Reform Act and smoking 
inside is illegal.  ”The Educational Reform Act requires the policies of the 
school district to include disciplinary procedures and measures. If fines are 
imposed, they should be consistent with the Smoke Free Workplace Law”   

 
2. Outside School Buildings 

  
Description 

 Outdoor hallways connecting school buildings, courtyards, quadrangles, etc. 
 
Implications of the Smoke Free Workplace Law 
Outside areas are not subject to the Smoke Free Workplace Law except where 
outside smoke wafts back into a protected area.  Schools and school districts 
may develop their own policies and penalties. 

 
Implications of the Education Reform Act 
If the outside area is on public school grounds, smoking on those outside areas 
is illegal under the Education Reform Act. The Education Reform Act does not 
apply to private schools. Schools and districts may develop their own policies 
for discipline and penalties.  

 
3. On School Grounds 

 
Description 
Parking lots, athletic fields, other school facilities, adjacent roads/sidewalks to 
the school 
 
Implications of the Smoke Free Workplace Law 
Outside areas are not subject to the Smoke Free Workplace Law.  School 
districts can have their own policies and penalties. 
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Implications of the Education Reform Act 
Smoking on public school grounds is illegal under the Education Reform Act. 
Schools and districts may develop their own policies for discipline and 
penalties. 

 
4. At School Related or School Sponsored Events 

 
Description 
Sporting events, field trips, dances, meetings and other events not on school 
property  
 
Implications of the Smoke Free Workplace Law 
If the event is inside (a gymnasium, indoor facility, etc.) then the Smoke Free 
Workplace Law covers it and minimum penalties are mandated by the state.   
Outside areas (fields, outdoor stadiums, etc) are not subject to the Smoke Free 
Workplace Law and school districts can have their own policies and penalties.  
 
Implications of the Education Reform Act 
If the location is affiliated with the public school, the Education Reform Act will 
apply to any event considered on school grounds. 

 
5. On School Buses or Other School Vehicles 

 
  Description 

On school buses, charter buses, vans, and other vehicles used for school 
purposes 
 
Implications of the Smoke Free Workplace Law 
School buses and municipal vehicles are covered under the Smoke Free 
Workplace Law and smoking is illegal and monetary penalties apply. The fine 
for smoking is $100.00. Chartered buses fall under “public transportation 
conveyances” and must be smoke-free. 
 
Implications of the Motor Vehicles and Aircraft Laws 
School buses are subject to Motor Vehicles and Aircraft laws. Other school 
vehicles are not subject to Chapter 90, section 7B, but most likely are subject to 
the smoke-free mandate in the Smoke –Free Workplace Law. 

 
 
What types of tobacco should be included? 
 

1. Smoking 
Tobacco policies should cover all types of smoking tobacco, including but not 
limited to: cigarettes, cigars, little cigars or cigarillos, pipes, clove cigarettes and 
any other burning of a tobacco product resulting in smoking.  
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2. Smokeless 
 

Tobacco policies should also cover smokeless tobacco products, which are 
becoming increasingly popular.  Some examples are: dip, snuff, chew, tobacco 
chew and spit packs, as well as any other type of tobacco product that is 
ingested but not burned.  

 
3. Other tobacco 

 
Other tobacco products may be covered by school policies as well including: 
blunt wraps and loose tobacco.  Blunt wraps and similar tobacco products may 
also be considered drug paraphernalia.  Make sure to examine the specific 
details of a particular offense when deciding on the extent of disciplinary action.  
 

4. Tobacco paraphernalia  
 

Tobacco paraphernalia may be covered by school policies as well including: 
packs of cigarettes, pipes, rolling papers, lighters, and matches. Lighters and 
matches may also be considered dangerous for fire safety purposes. Rolling 
papers, pipes and other products may also be considered drug paraphernalia. 
Make sure to examine the specific details of a particular offense when deciding 
on the extent of disciplinary action.  
 

5. Smoke Free Workplace Law language 
 

A school policy may decide to use the state law’s definition for “smoke” or 
“smoking”.  The state law reads “the lighting of a cigar, cigarette, pipe or other 
tobacco product or possessing a lighted cigar, cigarette, pipe or other tobacco or 
non-tobacco product designed to be combusted and inhaled.”  This definition 
expands smoking to be any product that was manufactured with the intent of 
being burned and inhaled, including clove or herb cigarettes. 

 
What other issues should be addressed in my tobacco policy? 
 

1. Some school districts may want to add “possession of tobacco products” to 
the list of prohibited activities in their policy.  This would allow school 
personnel to confiscate tobacco products from students.  This policy should 
be limited to students because its goal is to confiscate the product from the 
student. 

 
2. The use of athletic fields and sporting arenas with tobacco advertisements 

for school events. 
 
3. Smoking by association policies (“guilty” of smoking if a student is found in 

the presence of cigarette smoke) are controversial, but many schools use 
them.  
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4. Communicate that the policy is in effect “24/7”, so students and the general 
public do not assume they can use tobacco on school grounds during after-
school activities. 

 
5. Education and instruction can help to inform students of the harms of 

tobacco besides school penalties.  Ideally, a school’s tobacco policy will be 
coupled with thorough health and tobacco education and instruction. 
However, different resources and specific needs make every school’s 
method for tobacco education unique.   

 
6. Make sure teachers and staff are aware of the tobacco policy and encourage 

them to set a good example for the students.  
 
7. Ensure that administrators and other staff communicate about tobacco 

discipline- let athletic coaches, club sponsors and other staff know of a 
student’s violation if it is consistent with your school policy.  But make sure 
not to unnecessarily broadcast an offense to unfairly disparage a student.  

 
 
WHAT KINDS OF PENALTY OPTIONS ARE AVAILBLE? 
 
 

1. Cessation Program 
 

Description 
 

These programs are designed to educate and provide resources and support for 
tobacco users to quit smoking. These programs are usually designed and given 
by a school nurse, health teacher, or other school personnel trained in tobacco 
cessation techniques. 

 
Some programs already in place in Massachusetts are: Tobacco Awareness 
Program (TAP), School Nursing Pilot programs, and group tobacco counseling.  
 

 
 Sample Policies * 
 

Somerset High School:  
As punishment for a student found using tobacco products for a second 
offense, a student “will be required to attend an involuntary ‘Smoking 
Cessation’ program. This will consist of two classes per week for 4 weeks or 
a total of 8 sessions. A scheduled date will be arranged and a contract of 
commitment to this program will be signed by the parent or guardian within 
one (1) week of the offense.”  

 
Weymouth High School:  
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For first offenses of tobacco use a “smoking cessation program will be 
offered.” 
 
 

  
Pros and Cons 
 

Pros Cons 
1. Provides discipline (the student 

must give up free time to attend 
the program). 

2. Provides rehabilitation (goal is to 
help student quit).  

3. Provides education (teaches the 
student about tobacco use so 
they are informed about the 
dangers).  

4. Individual attention to a student’s 
health by a medical or school 
official can be very persuasive. 

5. Positive relationships with school 
nurses may help students quit. 

1. May be expensive to pay school 
nurse or other personnel to 
teach the class.  

2. May be expensive to train nurse 
or personnel to effectively teach 
the classes. 

3. Not all schools have the 
resources to provide cessation 
programs.  

4. Student may not know what a 
cessation program is, so it may 
have no deterrent function. 

5. Mandating cessation if a student 
is not ready to try to quit may 
not be effective. 

 
 
 

  
 Resources 

 
TAP: Tobacco Awareness Program is an eight-week tobacco cessation program for youths 
in grades 7-12 addressing the use of both smokeless and smoking tobacco. It focuses on 
techniques to assist with quitting smoking for good through the use of mental and physical 
skills.  
 
CDC Youth Tobacco Cessation: A guide for Making Informed Decisions. For complete 
description of the program see: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/ 
educational_materials/cessation/youth_cess/pdf/Youth_Tobacco_Cessation.pdf.  

 
2. Prevention Education 

 
Description 
 
Prevention Education programs are designed to teach students about tobacco 
use, general dangers regarding tobacco products, prevention techniques, and 
the consequences regarding smoking in schools.  Programs may be required or 
optional.  Many schools choose to stipulate either/or options for education or 
other disciplinary procedure.  
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Sample Policy * 
 

Braintree High School:  
“An educational component is available to all students who are interested in 
learning about the dangers of smoking or needing assistance in stopping the 
use of tobacco products.”  

 
 Pros and Cons 
 

Pros Cons 
1. Education lets students make 

their own informed decisions on 
further tobacco use. 

2. Education programs take up a 
student’s free time, and thus have 
a penalty associated with them.  

3. Provides a good mix of 
discipline, education, and 
rehabilitation in helping students 
to stop smoking in schools.  

 

1. May be expensive to pay school 
nurse or other personnel to 
teach the class.  

2. May be expensive to train nurse 
or personnel to effectively teach 
the classes. 

3. Not all schools have the 
resources to provide 
preventative education 
programs. 

4. Students may not care about 
learning materials that are not 
directly involved in their 
schedule. 

 
 Resources 

 
DASH: Division of Adolescent and School Health seeks to prevent the 
most serious health risk behaviors among children, adolescents and young 
adults. For a complete description of the program see: http://www.cdc.gov/ 
HealthyYouth/about/index.htm.  

   
TEG: Tobacco Education Group is an eight-week educational group that is 
used as an alternative to suspension for youth who are caught using tobacco 
on school property or at school sponsored activities. This program provides 
basic information on effects of tobacco use and motivates participants to 
join an ongoing tobacco cessation group such as the Tobacco Awareness 
Program. 
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3. Parent/Guardian Notification 
 
 Description 

 
Notifying parents/guardians of students’ tobacco use.  This can come in many 

forms:  
 
 

A. Letter sent home to parents/guardians 
B. Phone call to parents/guardians 
C. Meeting with parents/guardians and administrator 
D. Meeting with parents/guardians, student and administrator 

 
 Sample Policies * 

 
 Natick High School:  

A second offense of smoking at school will involve “notification of parents, 
meeting between parents, student and administration.”  

 
Pioneer Valley Regional High School:  
For a first offense, “Notification of parent/legal guardian by letter and 
phone.”  

 
Brookline High School:  
For a first offense of tobacco use “A phone call is made and a letter is sent 
home notifying parent/guardian of this violation of school rules.” 
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Pros and Cons 
 

Pros Cons 
1. Notification of parents/guardians 

provides discipline from a 
family/home environment. 

2. Parents/guardians can help 
facilitate informing their children 
of the dangers of both tobacco 
and breaking school rules. 

3. Parents/guardians may be able to 
help students understand 
discipline, rehabilitation and 
education from a non-school 
related person.  

4. Familial respect and 
communication may help 
students understand their actions 
more thoroughly. 

5. Students are familiar with this 
regulation, as many offenses in 
school involve parental/guardian 
notification.  

6. Low cost option. 

1. Parents/guardians may not 
consider their child smoking a 
serious concern. 

2. Parents/guardians may not 
provide any further discipline 
than acknowledgement of 
student’s transgression. 

3. Parental/guardian involvement 
may be minimal in certain 
schools, thus mandating a school 
meeting may be very difficult. 

 
 
 
 

4. Community Service 
 
 Description 
 

Requiring a student to perform service activities for their community is an 
option. Some tobacco related examples are picking up cigarette butts from a 
public park, visiting hospital patients with smoking related diseases, or creating a 
public service project detailing the harms of tobacco. 

 
Sample Policies * 

 
Pioneer Valley Regional High School:  
For a second offense a student will create “a student-managed tobacco 
education/service project based on the PVRS (Pioneer Valley Regional 
School) Independent Study Proposal (such as interviews of adults with 
emphysema) with proof of completion required.” 
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Pros and Cons 
 
Pros Cons 

1. Provides discipline in requiring 
student to give up free time for 
service project. 

2. Some projects may have 
extensive educational value. 

3. Helps the community at large 
with public service. 

4. May help students change their 
views on tobacco use. 

1. May not give enough discipline 
because of its nature as an 
independent endeavor. 

2. May not have long term 
benefits- student may not feel 
the need to stop smoking based 
solely on community service. 

3. Enforcement issues- how to 
make sure that community 
service is actually completed. 

4. Effective programs require 
extensive resources and 
personnel.  

 
5. In School Penalties 
 
 Description 
 

Imposing restrictions and other penalties regarding in-school activities. 
Examples are restriction of extra curricular activities, demotion of class officer 
or club leader status, restriction of privileges such as off-campus lunch, parking 
permits, dances, and many others. 
 
 
 
Athletic consequences may be imposed as well: automatic penalties incur if 
your school is a member of the MIAA, the Independent School League (ISL), 
or other league with specific eligibility requirements.  
 
See the MIAA website for their Chemical Health Policy, which includes 
suspension from sports teams for tobacco offenses. See also the website for ISL 
or other leagues for their tobacco health policies. 

 
Sample Policies * 

 
Natick High School:  
A first offense for a student found using tobacco includes “Notification to 
sports and activity directors.”  

 
Brookline High School:  
After a second offense of tobacco use, “the student is placed on closed 
campus for four weeks.” 
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Pros and Cons 
 

Pros Cons 
1. In school penalties have 

immediate consequences for 
students. 

2. Students are stripped of some 
of their non-academic activities, 
which many are very attached 
to. 

3. Large deterrent function, 
students don’t want to give up 
“fun” activities or privileges.  

4. Athletes do not want to let their 
team down- large deterrent 
function.  

5. Works to punish students by 
taking something away that they 
enjoy while not punishing too 
severely. 

6. Low cost option. 

1. May be ineffective for certain 
students that are indifferent to 
school activities. 

2. May not be much of a penalty 
and can be perceived by 
students as a slap on the wrist. 

3. May not be a good idea to 
further alienate students that 
may be at high risk for other 
negative behaviors by stripping 
these students of the very few 
non-academic activities in which 
they may be involved. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
6. Detention / Saturday School 
 

Description 
 

Requiring student to spend supervised time either in after-school detention or 
Saturday detention. 
 
Sample Policies * 
 
 Somerset High School:  

Punishment for a student found using tobacco products for a first offense is 
“one Saturday School”.  

 
 Lexington High School:  

Discipline for smoking anywhere on campus may include “after-school 
detention.” 
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Pros and Cons 
 

Pros Cons 
1. Provides discipline for the student 

because they must give up free 
time.  

2. Students are aware of detention 
and Saturday school, and 
understand what it entails, 
resulting in a deterrent effect. 

1. Does not encourage quitting, 
rehabilitation or education about 
tobacco use. 

2. Punishment without education 
may not do as much for changing 
student behavior. 

3. Staff time for supervision may be 
costly.  

 
7. Fines 

Description 
  

The penalty for smoking in violation of the statewide Smoke Free Workplace 
law is a $100 civil fine6.  The fine is payable to the city or town clerk, similar to 
a parking ticket.  The enforcing authority for this law is the local board of health 
or its agent.  School personnel may be designated as agents of the board of 
health for the purposes of enforcing this law specifically in school buildings and 
school buses only.  Schools that issue tickets must work with their local Board 
of Health to determine a procedure for issuing tickets. 
 
The Smoke Free Workplace law prohibits smoking in enclosed workplaces.  
Either an internal school policy enforceable by the school district or a local law 
enforceable by the local board of health would be necessary in order to fine for 
smoking on school grounds. 
 
Sample Policies * 
 
 Weymouth High School:  
 A first offense of using tobacco will result in a “$100.00 fine”. 
Pros and Cons 
 
Pros Cons 
1. “Tickets” have a strong 

connotation of being against the 
law, so monetary penalties may 
serve a large deterrent function. 

2. Money collected by the town 
could be used for tobacco control 

1. Students may not be able to afford 
penalties and not have any 
legitimate way to pay the fine. 

2. Staff may enforce penalties 
because they are seen as too 
severe. 

                                                 
6 Prior to enactment of the Smoke Free Workplace law (July 2004), some local boards of health 
promulgated local regulations that prohibited smoking in schools.  These regulations frequently imposed 
fines as penalties.  If your municipality has such a regulation and the fines listed are less than $100 they 
may need to be raised because the state law now requires that the fine be $100 for smoking in a school 
building. 
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programs if town meeting or city 
council so provides. 

3. Money that students could have 
used for cigarettes now has to be 
paid to the municipality. 

4. Students abhor having to give up 
their own money. 

 

3. Students may not pay penalties; 
further enforcement involves a 
clerk magistrate and possible 
criminal record- which may not be  
what the school really wants to 
accomplish.   

4. Parent may pay fines and students 
experience no discipline.  

5. It may involve extensive 
administrative resources to 
administer fines. 

 
8.  Suspension 

Description 
 

Suspension is a mandatory removal of student from classes. Suspension can be 
either in school or out-of-school, and schools differ on their policies regarding 
make-up work and forced incompletes. 
 
Sample Policies * 
 

Braintree High School: 
For a first offense of a student using tobacco, there is a “3 day Out of   
School Suspension.” 

 Lexington High School:  
“Student will be suspended and may be referred to an expulsion hearing for 
the following behaviors- 6. Smoking in school buildings or on school 
grounds.” Types of suspension are: “temporary or permanent removal from 
classes; in-school suspension; suspension from school.” 

  Pros and Cons 
 

Pros  Cons  
1. Students are aware of this 

disciplinary measure and it has 
large deterrent functions. 

2. Students are penalized for time 
out of school. 

3. Students associate this 
consequence with severe 
transgressions.  

4. Suspension is part of academic 
records and is disclosed on 
college applications and other 
educational resources.  

1. May be too severe a punishment 
for students to be suspended.  

2. Administration may be reluctant 
to enforce suspensions because 
of future consequences on the 
student. 

3. Parents and students may 
contest automatic suspensions 
for tobacco use creating 
administrative hearings and extra 
paperwork for school officials. 

4. Out-of-school suspensions may 
actually provide more 
opportunity for the student to 
smoke.  
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9. Expulsion  

 
Description 

 
After an appropriate administrative hearing, the student is permanently 
removed from the school.  
 
Sample Policies * 
 
 Lexington High School:  

“Student will be suspended and may be referred to an expulsion hearing for 
the following behaviors- 6. Smoking in school buildings or on school 
grounds.” 
 

  Pros and Cons 
 
  

Pros Cons  
1. Removing student smoker from 

the school ends that smoking 
problem permanently. 

 

1. Very severe punishment. 
2. Expulsion of a student because of 

their smoking may end that 
students’ formal education forever. 

 
 
 
 
* Sample policies where current as of August 2007 
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APPENDIX: Sample School Tobacco Policy 
 
Italicized parts are optional and may not apply to every school.  
The word town is used in the model—if you reside in a city, be sure to change 
the text accordingly.   The local Board of Health has the legal authority to enact 
regulations prohibiting smoking.  In addition, in order for school personnel to 
enforce the Smoke Free Workplace Law, the local Board of Health should 
authorize school personnel to act as “agents” of the Board of Health for this 
regulation.  It is recommended that you contact your local Board of Health 
regarding your school tobacco policy in so far as it references the Smoke Free 
Workplace Law. 
 
SECTION I. STATEMENT OF PURPOSE AND AUTHORITY 
 
Conclusive evidence exists that tobacco use is a pervasive health problem in the 
United States, affecting numerous cities and towns including [insert town name]. 
Smoking inside enclosed buildings used as schools and inside school buses or 
other vehicles used to transport pupils is prohibited by the Massachusetts Smoke 
Free Workplace Law. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 270 §22.  
 
Furthermore, smoking on outside school grounds or at school sponsored events 
is prohibited by the Massachusetts Educational Reform Act. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 
71 §§ 2A, 37H.  [Insert school name] has developed a comprehensive policy to 
prohibit the use of any tobacco related product.  
 
SECTION II. DEFINITIONS: 
 
Administrator Person(s) including but not limited to principals, vice-

principals, office personnel, and others who have 
disciplinary and managerial authority to enforce 
school policies and penalties. 

 
Faculty Person(s) employed by [insert school name] as a full-

time, part-time, contract, or volunteer labor. 
 
Parent/Guardian Person(s) that have legal guardian status and 

responsibility over a student enrolled in [insert school 
name] for educational purposes 

 
School building Any building or enclosed walkway that is used or 

leased for educational purposes 
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School grounds All school buildings, parking lots, athletic fields, 
loading docks, and /or other school outdoor facilities,  
and other premises owned or leased by the school for 
educational purposes 

 
Student  Person(s) legally enrolled in [insert school name] for 

educational purposes. 
 
Smoking or smoke The lighting of a cigar, cigarette, pipe or other tobacco 

product or possessing a lighted cigar, cigarette, pipe 
or other tobacco or non-tobacco product designed to 
be combusted and inhaled. 

 
Tobacco advertisement Any poster, billboard, flyer, sticker, piece of clothing, 

hat, accessory, commercial, or other material 
featuring a tobacco product.  

 
Tobacco paraphernalia  Any device used to aid, ingest, light, burn, or 

consume tobacco products, including but not limited 
to: pipes, rolling papers, lighters, and matches. 

 
Tobacco product Any form of tobacco including but not limited to: 

cigarettes, cigars, little cigars or cigarillos, clove 
cigarettes,  loose tobacco leaves, blunt wraps, chew, 
dip, snuff, and any other product not mentioned that 
contains tobacco of any kind. 

 
Visitors Person(s) physically present on school property who 

are not administrators, students, faculty or staff as 
defined above. 

  
SECTION III. TEXT OF THE POLICY  
 
No person(s) shall smoke in any school building at any time.  
No student shall smoke or ingest any tobacco product in any school building or 
on school grounds at any time.  
No visitor, faculty, or administrator shall smoke or ingest any tobacco product 
on school grounds at any time. 
The penalties for violations of the above policy are outlined in Section IV.  
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SECTION IV. PENALTIES 
 

Choose 1-3 penalty options from the 9 types listed in the handbook. Choice of 
penalties should consider school resources, likely student response, past successes and 
disappointments, and any other applicable factors.  Every school is different and 
tobacco policy penalties should be tailored to your school. The example below is not a 
specific model for any school, it is just an example.  

 
 Students found violating the tobacco policy 
 
1st Offense: 

• Civil fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for violations of the Smoke Free 
Workplace Law. 

• One (1) Saturday school detention  
• Letter and Phone call to parent/guardian and scheduled conference 

between student, administrator and parent/guardian. 
• Mandatory attendance to one (1) Prevention Education class. 

 
2nd Offense 

• Civil fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for violations of the Smoke Free 
Workplace Law. 

• Mandatory attendance to three (3) Cessation Program classes. 
• Revocation of elected status in clubs, teams, committees. Revocation of 

field trip and/or dance privileges for one (1) month.  
• Two (2) Saturday school detentions. 
• Letter and Phone call to parent/guardian and scheduled conference 

between student, administrator and parent/guardian. 
 
3rd Offense 

• Civil fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for violations of the Smoke Free 
Workplace Law. 

• Mandatory attendance to six (6) Cessation Program classes. 
• Four (4) Saturday school detentions OR a three (3) day Suspension. 
• Mandatory completion of a community service project regarding tobacco 

use.  
• Conference between student, administrator and parent/guardian to 

discuss suspension and serious consequences for subsequent offenses.  
 
Athletic consequences 

• If your school is a member of MIAA, there are minimum prescribed 
guidelines for students and coaches found using tobacco (called the MIAA 
Chemical Health Policy.) Make sure to publish the minimum guidelines 
OR a modified version of the MIAA Chemical Health Policy.  
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• Tobacco health policies of the Independent School League and/or other 
athletic leagues should be reviewed if applicable to your school. 

 
Faculty found violating the tobacco policy  

 
1st Offense 

• Civil fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for violations of the Smoke Free 
Workplace Law.  

• Given a copy of the tobacco policy.  
 
Subsequent Offenses 

• Civil fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for violations of the Smoke Free 
Workplace Law. 

• Refer to appropriate union contract to utilize existing penalties agreed 
upon by the school district and that union.  

 
Visitors and others found violating the tobacco policy 

 
1st Offense 

• Civil fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for violations of the Smoke Free 
Workplace Law.  

• For smoking on school grounds, visitors and others will be asked to leave 
the premises immediately. 

  
SECTION V. ENFORCEMENT 
 
The educational consequences of this Tobacco Policy will be enforced by the 
school principal and his/her designees.  Penalties for violation of the Smoke Free 
Workplace Law will be enforced by the [insert town name] Board of Health, their 
agents, and the [insert town name] Police Department.  
 
SECTION VI. EFFECTIVE DATE 
 
This policy shall take effect in full on [insert date] upon its passage.  
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Resources: 
 
Massachusetts: 
 
Massachusetts Association of Health Boards – www.mahb.org 
 
Massachusetts Health Officers Association – www.mhoa.com 
 
Massachusetts Health Promotion Clearinghouse – www.maclearinghouse.com 
 
Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association  - www.miaa.net 
 
Massachusetts Municipal Association – www.mma.org 
 
Massachusetts Tobacco Control Program – www.mass.gov/dph/mtcp 
 
Massachusetts Youth Against Tobacco – www.makesmokinghistory.org 
 
Try-to-Stop Tobacco Resource Center – www.TrytoStop.org 
 
U Mass Medical School/ Center for Tobacco Prevention and Control – 

www.umassed.edu/behavmed/tobacco 
 
National: 
 
American Legacy Foundation – www.americanlegacy.org 
 
Campaign For Tobacco Free Kids   - www.tobaccofreekids.org 
 
Kick Butts Day information - www.kickbutt.org 
 
National Federation of State High School Associations - www.nfhs.org 
 
National School Boards Association (NSBA) – www.nsba.org/site/index.asp 
 
Smoke Free Educational Services, Ins. - www.quitnet.org 
 
U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  

Tobacco www.cdc.gov/tobacco 
 School Health www.cdc.gov/HealthyYouth/partners/ngo/nsba.htm 
  
Youth Tobacco Cessation Collaborative – www.youthtobaccocessation.org 
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