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n Massachusetts, about 13% of households with children allow smoking in their home.  This means that an estimated 187,000 children in Massachusetts are not protected from secondhand smoke in their own home.1  

[bookmark: _Ref210038355]About 487,000 (11%) adult nonsmokers in Massachusetts are exposed secondhand smoke in the home, at work, or in other places more than one hour per week. [endnoteRef:1]  [1:  Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Tobacco Control Program.  Data based on the Massachusetts Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, 2012.
] 


Secondhand smoke contains at least 250 chemicals known to be toxic, including more than 50 that can cause cancer.[endnoteRef:2]   [2:  National Toxicology Program. 11th Report on Carcinogens, 2005. (PDF–219KB) Research Triangle Park, NC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Sciences, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, 2000 [cited 2006 Sep 27]. Available from: http://ntp.niehs.nih.gov/ntp/roc/eleventh/profiles/s176toba.pdf.
] 


The U.S. Centers for Disease Control report that secondhand smoke causes sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), acute respiratory infections, ear problems, and more frequent and severe asthma attacks in children.3

[bookmark: _Ref210036478]Nonsmokers who are exposed to secondhand smoke at home or work increase their heart disease risk by 25–30% and their lung cancer risk by 20–30%.[endnoteRef:3] [3:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The Health Consequences of Involuntary Exposure to Tobacco Smoke: A Report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta, Georgia: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Coordinating Center for Health Promotion, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 2006 [cited 2006 Sep 27]. Available from: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/secondhandsmoke/report/.
] 






 

 


Smoke-Free Workplace Law became effective July 5, 2004




Secondhand Smoke 


Data Sources
Exposure to Secondhand Smoke (>1 hour/week) 
Among Non-Smokers, MA, 2002 to 2012
>	1 hour per week	
2002	2003	2004	2005	2006	2007	2008	2009	2010	2011	2012	31.7	24.7	23.2	16.5	17	13	15	14	13	13	11	Data Source:  Massachusetts Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
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Tobacco Control Program
(617) 624-5900  www.mass.gov/dph/mtcp
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Make smoking history.
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Make smoking history.




