
NOTICE OF CHANGES IN STATEWIDE METHODS AND STANDARDS  

FOR SETTING PAYMENT RATES 

 

SUBJECT: MassHealth: Rates for MassHealth Personal Care Attendant Services 

AGENCY: Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services 

SUMMARY:   MassHealth Changes in Rates for Personal Care Attendant Services Effective July 

1, 2015, and January 1, 2016. 

DESCRIPTION OF CHANGES: 

Pursuant to Administration Bulletin 15-11 posted on July 20, 2015, and effective July 1, 2015, 

the rate for personal care attendant (PCA) services is increased from $3.79 per 15-minute unit or 

$15.16 per hour, to $3.88 per 15-minute unit or $15.52 per hour, inclusive of the PCA wage, 

employer required taxes, and workers’ compensation insurance. The premium pay add-on rate 

for PCAs authorized by MassHealth to work overtime or to work on one of four holidays (New 

Year’s Day, July 4, Thanksgiving Day, or Christmas) is increased from $1.89 per 15-minute unit, 

or $7.58 per hour, to $1.94 per 15-minute unit, or $7.76 per hour, inclusive of employer required 

taxes and workers’ compensation insurance.  See Administrative Bulletin 15-11.  The increase in 

rates is pursuant to the terms of the collective bargaining agreement negotiated between the 

Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the PCA union (1199SEIU).  It is estimated that annual 

aggregate state expenditures will increase by $13,700,000 as a result of these changes.  The 

actual change in annualized expenditures may vary depending on actual utilization of services.   

Pursuant to Administrative Bulletin 15-17 posted on December 31, 2015, and effective January 

1, 2016, the add-on rate for PCAs eligible to receive overtime pay is $0.13 per one-minute unit, 

or $7.76 per hour, inclusive of employer required taxes and workers’ compensation insurance. 

The rate for PCAs eligible to receive travel time pay is $0.26 per one-minute unit, or $15.52 per 

hour inclusive of employer required taxes and workers’ compensation insurance.  See 

Administrative Bulletin 15-17. These changes are in accordance with requirements under the 

Fair Labor Standards Act. It is estimated that annual aggregate state expenditures will increase 

by $44,754,757 as a result of these changes.  The actual change in annualized expenditures may 

vary depending on actual utilization of services. 

Individuals may submit written comments by e-mailing ehs-regulations@state.ma.us. Please 

submit electronic comments as an attached Word document or as text within the body of the e-

mail with the phrase “MassHealth Changes in Rates for Personal Care Attendant Services” in the 

subject line. All submissions must include the sender’s full name and address. Individuals who 

are unable to submit comments by e-mail should mail written comments to EOHHS, c/o Debby 

Briggs, 100 Hancock Street, 6
th

 Floor, Quincy, MA 02171. To be considered, written comments 

must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. on March 30, 2016. 

Please contact Erin Dore at One Ashburton Place, 5
th

 Floor, Boston, MA 02108, or by e-mail at 

Erin.Dore@state.ma.us to request a copy of any notices or any written comments concerning the 

matters described herein. 

http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/adminbull-2015/ab-15-11.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/adminbull-2015/ab-15-17.pdf

