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NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

 
SUBJECT: Nursing Facility User Fees 
 
AGENCY: Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services 
 
Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 118E and in accordance with M.G.L. c. 30A, the Executive Office of Health and 
Human Services (EOHHS) will hold a public comment period until November 15, 2016, relative to the 
emergency adoption of:  
 

101 CMR 512.00:  Nursing Facility User Fees 
 

and the emergency repeal of: 

 
114.5 CMR 12.00:  Nursing Facility User Fees  

 
These actions update the nursing facility user fee regulation to ensure it conforms to federal and state 
requirements. The amendments update the nursing facility user fee structure, including the criteria used 
to determine how facilities are grouped for purposes of the user fee assessment, consistent with 
Chapter 283 of the Acts of 2016 and 42 CFR 433.68. The amendments also increase the per diem user 
fee applicable to certain user fee groups pursuant to Chapter 133 of the Acts of 2016 (the FY 2017 
budget), which increases the aggregate user fee assessment by approximately $15 million over the 
required aggregate user fee assessment in FY 2016. The amendments also include several technical 
changes to reflect updates to EOHHS’s regulatory authority pursuant to Chapter 224 of the Acts of 
2012, to enhance clarity and consistency, and to eliminate ambiguity. 
 
As a result of the amendments, certain nursing facilities have been assigned to a different user fee 
group than under the previous user fee structure, resulting in a higher or lower category of per diem 
assessment amount for those facilities. In addition, the amendments increase the per diem assessment 
amounts for user fee Groups I-III, from $18.41 (for Group I) and $1.84 (for Groups II and III), to $22.22 
and $2.22, respectively (Group IV remains exempt). These updated per diem assessment amounts 
include an annualization adjustment to ensure the required increase to the aggregate assessment 
amount is collected during FY 2017. 
 
The regulation and repeal went into effect as an emergency on October 6, 2016.   
 
All persons desiring to submit data, views, or arguments concerning these proposed actions may 
submit them in writing to EOHHS, c/o D. Briggs, 100 Hancock Street, 6th Floor, Quincy, MA 02171, or 
e-mail them to ehs-regulations@state.ma.us. E-mailed comments should contain the sender’s name, 
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mailing address, and organization or affiliation, if any. Comments will be accepted through 5:00 p.m. on 
Tuesday, November 15, 2016. 
 
All persons desiring to review the current draft of the proposed actions may go to 
www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/laws-regs/hhs/public-hearings.html or request a copy in writing or in person 
from the MassHealth Publications Unit, 100 Hancock Street, 6th Floor, Quincy, Massachusetts 02171. 
 
EOHHS may adopt a final revised version of the regulation taking into account relevant comments and 
any other practical alternatives that come to EOHHS's attention. 
 
October 25, 2016 
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