Health and Human Services Secretary JudyAnn Bigby, M.D., appointed an independent 15-member Inpatient Study Commission to evaluate the Department of Mental Health (DMH) inpatient system; determine an appropriate inpatient capacity for DMH facilities; and recommend a plan to the Administration for consideration.

Led by Co-chairpersons James T. Brett and Marylou Sudders. Commission members completed their charge by holding public hearings across the state, reviewing numerous documents, data and hundreds of pages of testimony, and efficiently and expeditiously deliberated to produce this comprehensive report. The Commission's Report and Recommendations were submitted on June 30, 2009.

The recommendations are under review by DMH Commissioner Barbara Leadholm, Secretary Bigby and Governor Deval Patrick. In the coming weeks and months, the Administration will make decisions regarding the recommendations. 
 

DMH Inpatient Study Commission Final Report and Recommendations

Commission Information

Meeting Agendas

Data and Information

  1. Census 5-4-09 (XLS) xls format of    census-5-4-09.xls
  2. Bed Utilization by Legal Status (XLS) xls format of    bed-utilization-by-legal-status.xls
  3. Revised 2009 Projected DMH Inpatient Expenditures (XLS) xls format of    revised_2009_projected_dmh_inpatient_expenditures.
  4. DMH 2008 Cost Report (XLS) xls format of    dmh-inpatient-2008-cost-report.xls
  5. DMH FY 2008 Facility Revenue (XLS) xls format of    dmh-fy2008-facility-revenue-expense.xls
  6. DMH Ref Agency Admit (RTF) rtf format of    dmh-ref-agencyadmit.rtf  file size 1MB
  7. Referral Diversions (RTF) rtf format of    referral-diversions.rtf  file size 1MB
  8. Total Inpatient Waitlist (RTF) rtf format of    total-inpatient-waitlist.rtf  file size 1MB
  9. DMH Inpatient Waitlist Days (RTF) rtf format of    dmh-inpatientwaitlist-days.rtf  file size 1MB
  10. LOS HOSP Report (RTF) rtf format of    loshospreport.rtf  file size 1MB
  11. LOSCMHC Report (RTF) rtf format of    loscmhcreport.rtf  file size 1MB
  12. Barriers to Discharge Summary (XLS) xls format of    barriers-to-discharge-summary.xls
  13. Barriers to Discharge Coding System (RTF) rtf format of    barriers-to-discharge-coding-system.rtf
  14. Description of Services 5.13.09 (RTF) rtf format of    description-of-services-5-13-09.rtf
  15. Adult Community Based Enrollments (XLS) xls format of    adult-community-based-enrollments.xls
  16. New Hospital 5-12-09 (RTF) rtf format of    new-hospital-5-12-09.rtf
  17. Medfield pdf format of    medfield-state-hospital-closure.pdf    State Hospital pdf format of    medfield-state-hospital-closure.pdf    Closure (PDF) pdf format of    medfield-state-hospital-closure.pdf  rtf format of medfield-state-hospital-closure.rtf file size 7MB
  18. 122 Client Status (PDF) pdf format of    122-client-status-5-09-presentation.pdf  rtf format of 122-client-status-5-09-presentation.rtf
  19. DMH Fact Sheets Summary Inpatient Facilities (XLS) xls format of    dmh-fact-sheets-summary-inpatient-facilities.xls
  20. DMH Licensed Hospitals (RTF) rtf format of    dmh-licensed-hospitals.rtf
  21. Medfield State Hospital Update 6-9-09 (PDF) pdf format of    medfield-state-hospital-update-6-9-09.pdf  rtf format of medfield-state-hospital-update-6-9-09.rtf
  22. Statewide Referrals Summary from Acute and General Hospitals to DMH Continuing Care (PDF) pdf format of    statewide-referrals-summary.pdf  rtf format of statewide-referrals-summary.rtf
  23. Admissions to DMH Facilities by Acute and General Hospitals Cal YR 2008 (XLS) xls format of    admissions-by-acute-and-general-hospitals.xls
  24. Average Median Costs of DMH Adult Community Based Services (PDF) pdf format of    costs-adult-community-based-services.pdf  rtf format of costs-adult-community-based-services.rtf
  25. Section 18 Referrals from Correctional Facilities and Bridgewater Step Downs 6-24-09 (XLS) xls format of    section-18-referrals.xls  )
  26. Revised Bridgewater Step Down (XLS) xls format of    revised-bridgewaterstepdown.xls

Public Hearings

Minutes


This information is from