The national Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) Standards were developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in 2000. The standards offer a framework to address the structural, clinical, and organizational barriers that contribute to health disparities. The DPH CLAS Initiative develops and implements the CLAS Standards within DPH programs and agencies who receive direct service grants from DPH.

We understand the CLAS Standards to address six areas:

  • Foster cultural competence
  • Build community partnerships
  • Collect and share diversity data
  • Benchmark: plan and evaluate
  • Reflect and respect diversity
  • Ensure language access



This information is provided by the Office of Health Equity within the Department of Public Health.