For Immediate Release - October 04, 2013


MILFORD - Friday, October 4, 2013- The Patrick Administration today honored state and county correction professionals for their bravery, dedication and public service to the citizens of the Commonwealth at the 2013 Correctional Employees of the Year ceremony. Secretary of Public Safety and Security Andrea J. Cabral, Public Safety and Security Undersecretary for Criminal Justice Sandra M. McCroom, Department of Correction Commissioner Luis S. Spencer, County Sheriffs and other officials, recognized the outstanding work of these honorees during a State House ceremony in the House Chambers.

“These are principled, skilled professionals,” said Governor Deval L. Patrick. “They are role models for the entire corrections community and all law enforcement agencies.”

“Each man and woman in our correction system puts himself in harm’s way to ensure our safety which alone deserves our highest appreciation,” said Public Safety Secretary Andrea J. Cabral.  “Today we highlight the leadership of the bravest of our men and woman whose extraordinary work keeps our residents and visitors to the Commonwealth safe each and every day.”  

During today’s ceremony, Undersecretary Sandra M. McCroom said, “We appreciate the care and concern shown by correctional staff as they model the way for offenders, setting a path for a better life.”

"Public safety is the primary function of the Department of Correction," said Commissioner Luis S. Spencer. "DOC employees make this happen by working collaboratively with stakeholders to ensure that offenders leave our custody better prepared to reenter their communities and lead productive lives."

The Medal of Honor was awarded to Correction Officers Nathan Beauvais, Benjamin McGinnis, and Stefanie Erickson for courage above and beyond the call of duty after being attacked by inmates at the Souza Baranowski Correctional Center.

Awarded the Medal of Valor at Souza Baranowski Correctional Center is Anthony Giambrocco for his efforts to take a suicidal co-worker into custody in order to thwart the co-worker from hurting himself or others.

Meritorious Recognition was given to Brian Macaruso of MCI Cedar Junction for his efforts in assisting staff to apprehend an escaped inmate while off duty. 

Meritorious Recognition was also awarded to Souza Baranowski Correctional Center Captain Glenn Doher, Lt. Gary Wojcukiewicz, Lt. Anthony Giambrocco, Lt. Eric Smith and Sgt. William Whitten for their actions in locating and apprehending a co-worker who threatened to hurt himself.

A Community Service Award was presented to MCI Framingham Deputy Superintendent Lynn Lizotte for her long and on-going commitment to the children and young adults at the Massachusetts Hospital School in Canton.  Her dedication has helped to brighten their lives as well as the lives of the many volunteers who she’s recruited to help run activities over the years.

The Massachusetts Department of Correction employs approximately 5,000 staff and houses over 11,400 inmates in 18 facilities, ranging from pre-release to maximum security.  More information about the DOC is available on the DOC website at