• Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Grant Program

    Application period: Closed

    The FMA grant program provides funds to assist state agencies and local governments implement measures that reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to buildings, manufactured homes, and other structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program.  This program funds only flood related mitigation measures and is considered an annual program.

  • Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) Grant Program

    Application period: Closed

    The PDM grant program provides funds to states, territories, Indian tribal governments, communities, and universities for hazard mitigation planning and the implementation of mitigation projects prior to a disaster event. PDM grants are to be awarded on a nationally competitive basis and is an all hazards program.

  • Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP)

    Application period: Closed

    The HMGP provides funds to assist state agencies, local governments, and certain private non-profit organizations to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration. The HMGP is authorized under Section 404 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act.  This program funds all-hazards related mitigation measures, is competitive statewide, and is only available after a Disaster Declaration.

  • Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) Unified Guidance

    FY 2013 HMA Unified Guidance, issued July 2013, is the official guidance for all HMA programs; including Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP), Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM), and Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA).

  • Benefit Cost Analysis (BCA)

    Benefit-cost analysis (BCA) is a standardized, systematic way to count the benefits of a mitigation project and to compare these benefits to the costs of mitigation. All FEMA Hazard Mitigation grant programs require a Benefit-cost analysis to be submitted with the application for funding.