• The State Hazard Mitigation Team (SHMT) is a joint effort between the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) and the Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency (MEMA). The SHMT is co-chaired by the State Hazard Mitigation Officer at DCR and the Disaster Recovery Manager at MEMA. The SHMT consists of the staff in DCR and MEMA working full-time on hazard mitigation programs, projects, and planning, such as the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) and FEMA Hazard Mitigation Assistance programs including HMGP, the FMA program, the PDM program.


    NameTitleAgencyPhone NumberEmail
    Colleen Bailey, CFMDCR Flood Hazard Mapping CoordinatorDCR (Floodplain Management)617-626-1446A.Colleen.Bailey@state.ma.us
    Eric Carlson

    Environmental Engineer

    Acting State Hazard Mitigation Officer/NFIP Coordinator

    DCR (Floodplain Management)617-626-1362Eric.Carlson@state.ma.us
    Beth DubrawskiHazard Mitigation Contract SpecialistMEMA508-820-1425Beth.Dubrawski@state.ma.us
    Marybeth Groff, CFMHazard Mitigation PlannerMEMA508-820-1435Marybeth.Groff@state.ma.us
    Sherry LeungLead Hazard Mitigation Contract SpecialistMEMA508-820-1436Shirletta.Leung@state.ma.us
    Scott MacLeodMitigation & Disaster Recovery Division ManagerMEMA508-820-1445Scott.MacLeod@state.ma.us
    Sarah WhiteHazard Mitigation Grants SupervisorMEMA508-820-2053Sarah.White@state.ma.us
    David WoodburyHazard Mitigation Grants CoordinatorMEMA508-820-2034David.Woodbury@state.ma.us


    State Hazard Mitigation Interagency Committee (SHMIC)

    The State Hazard Mitigation Interagency Committee, which consists of state, federal, and private sector organizations, is responsible for contributing to the development of the State Hazard Mitigation Plan as well as reviewing and endorsing project applications proposed by applicants for grant funding. Learn more about the SHMIC members and responsibilities: SHMIC Responsibilities  doc format of SHMIC Responsibilities