On Monday, April 13th, 2015, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts received a Major Disaster Declaration (FEMA-4214-DR) making federal funding available under FEMA’s Public Assistance (PA) Program as a direct result of the January 26-28, 2015 Blizzard.  PA assistance will be made available to local governments, state agencies, and various eligible private non-profit organizations within the ten (10) counties of Barnstable, Bristol, Dukes, Essex, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk, Nantucket and Worcester for emergency work and permanent repair and replacement of facilities damaged as a direct result of the January 26-28, 2015 Blizzard.  In addition, nine (9) of the counties listed above, with the exception of Nantucket, are eligible for Snow Assistance under FEMA guidelines for a 48-hour period. 

Applicant briefings for this declared disaster will take place from May 4-8, 2015. See the Applicant Briefing Schedule - FEMA 4214  pdf format of Applicant Briefing Schedule - FEMA 4214
for dates, times, and locations of applicant briefings. For all information related to this declared disaster including applicant briefing information, forms, guidance, workbooks and more, see the January 2015 Severe Winter Storm, Snowstorm & Flooding Public Assistance (FEMA-4214-DR) webpage.


Sandy Recovery Improvement Act:

On January 29, 2013, the Sandy Recovery Improvement Act of 2013 was signed into law.  The law authorizes several significant changes to the way FEMA may deliver disaster assistance to both individuals and public assistance applicants.  Below are links detailing these policy changes and pilot programs that are currently in place by FEMA.


General resources related to the Public Assistance Process:


Private Nonprofit (PNP) Forms:


Project Worksheet Forms:




Previous Declared Disaster Information: