Massachusetts State and Local Police are Serious About Motorists Buckling Up
Event emphasizes crackdown on seat belt violations
State Police and local police departments across the state have issued zero-tolerance enforcement policies on ticketing for seat belt violations. They have been ticketing unbelted vehicle occupants around the clock with more than 9,000 extra enforcement hours on Massachusetts roadways.
"Safety belts are your best defense against other drivers and the best chance for survival in a crash, and everyone should be buckled up" said Massachusetts State Police Colonel Mark Delaney. "If you are pulled over and are not wearing your safety belt, or one of your passengers is unbelted, you will be ticketed."
In Massachusetts driving or riding without a properly secured seat belt is an offense, punishable with a $25 fine for the driver and for each passenger not properly restrained.
In 2007, according to the NHTSA, more than 14,000 people died in passenger vehicles crashes while unbelted. When worn correctly, safety belts have proven to reduce the risk of a fatal injury to front-seat passenger car occupants by 45 percent - and by 60 percent in pickup trucks, SUVs, and minivans.
"In the few seconds it takes to buckle a safety belt, people make a life saving choice that can protect against serious consequences whether you're in a crash or not," said Sheila Burgess, Director of Highway Safety for the EOPSS. "On behalf of the Patrick-Murray administration we are proud to support the State and local police in their efforts to enforce safety belt use and increase the safety of Massachusetts roadways."
For the Click it or Ticket mobilization, the EOPSS has provided $494,000 in federal highway safety funds to the Massachusetts State Police and local police for additional patrol hours.
For more information, go to www.mass.gov/highwaysafety