The Architectural Access Board (AAB) members and its staff would like to thank and acknowledge the many individuals and groups that participated with the 2011 Accessible Design Awards, an awards program that recognizes architects for outstanding accessible designs in several categories.  The AAB would, first and foremost, like to extend its thanks and appreciation to the Boston Society of Architects (BSA), who in partnering with the AAB for the fourth awards program in a row, has again resulted in a resounding success of both entries and awards.  The BSA’s continued support, and the special efforts of Pamela deOliveira Smith, assured the awards program a positive outcome.  


The AAB has once again reached out to schools of architecture, and requested the schools to recommend one of their students to serve as a judge for the awards program committee.  As in years past, the AAB also asked past winners to participate in the judging process.  The AAB would like to extend its thanks to Deborah Pierce, AIA, a winner of the 2009 category of Private Residential homes for her design of the Davidge Dorfman House in Newton.  We would also like to thank the following students, whose insight, thoughts and comments were a breath of fresh air for the program: Ryan Schicker of Wentworth Institute of Technology, and Leila Gonzalez of Massachusetts College of Art and Design.


After months of preparation, on a beautiful sunny summer day in August, the 2011 Architectural Access Board Design Awards ceremony was held.  The Hall of Flags at the State House, filled with the sun of that day, set the stage for a special event.   Dignitaries, participants, special guests, family and friends gathered and enjoyed a light lunch, refreshments and conversation.  The AAB would like to extend its thanks to Undersecretary Karen Wells from the Executive Office of Public Safety and Security, for her support and kind words during the ceremony.  Thanks also to the Laura Wernick AIA, Vice President and 2012 President-elect of the Boston Society of Architects, and Myra Berloff, Director of the Massachusetts Office on Disability and Member of the AAB, for their thoughtful speeches. Assisting with the awards presentation was Commissioner Thomas Gatzunis of the Department of Public Safety.  Fran Smith, wife of the late William D. Smith, was also present to help hand out the awards given in memory of her husband, an advocate for creating seamless access at historic buildings and facilities.  The ceremony of the Design Awards would not have been the same without the participation of these key people. 


The AAB would also like to thank the many entrants to the 2011 awards.  The judging committee spent much time, effort and discussion in choosing the 2011 award winners.  All 15 entries were thoughtful, and included designs that provoked debate and some difficulty for the judges in choosing the winners.  Every entrant is a winner in their own right. 


Lastly, thank you to the many friends and family who came in support of the 2011 Accessible Design Awards.

And now, for the Architectural Access Board 2011 Design Award winners .  Please enjoy the descriptions and follow the link to view pictures and other information on the winners.