Q: Who must obtain a Ticket Resellers license?
A: Under G.L. c. 140, §185A, anyone who engages in the business of reselling any ticket or tickets of admission or other evidence of right of entry to any theatrical exhibition, public show or public amusement or exhibition must be licensed by the Department.
Q: What are the consequences of operating as a ticket reseller without a license?
A: An unlicensed ticket reseller may be fined up to $500 for violation of the statute. After the third offense, the unlicensed ticket reseller may again be fined, and may also be imprisoned up to one year. G.L. c. 140, §185F.
Q: How do I obtain a Ticket Resellers license?
1. First, please read through and complete the Ticket Resellers License application packet . You must submit the following with your application:
a. A completed Ticket Resellers Application form. This is a one page form requiring general information about you and your business.
b. One legible copy of a government issued picture identification bearing a signature.
c. One copy of your business certificate and proof of zoning approval. These are papers that you should already have in your records. The certificate and proof were issued to you by your city or town when you initiated your business. You need only make a copy of these papers to send with your application.
d. Two (2) affidavits or recommendations from two (2) reputable Massachusetts citizens.
2. Complete and sign a "CORI Request Form." This form authorizes the Department to request a copy of your criminal record from the Criminal History Systems Board (CHSB). You may obtain a form by requesting one from the Department.
3. Include a check or money order for the $250.00 licensing fee. The fee is non-refundable
Q: Where do I send the completed application?
A: Send the completed application to:
Department of Public Safety
Ticket Resellers Division
One Ashburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
Q: May I fax my application to be a ticket reseller to the Department?
A: No. The Department requires original documents unless specifically provided otherwise.
Q: May I drop off applications or other paperwork in person?
A: Yes. However, materials that are submitted in person are not processed the same day. They are not processed any faster than materials submitted by mail. Therefore, you are advised to submit applications and other paperwork by mail.
Q: When will I hear back from the Department regarding my license?
A: Generally, the Department will get back to you within two weeks of receiving a complete application packet. The Department will notify you if any part is incomplete.
Q: If my application is incomplete, may I just submit the missing or incorrect parts, or do I have to complete a new application?
A: You may submit the missing information or resubmit the corrected forms. You do not need to complete a new application.
Q: Will the Department accept credit card payment or cash for the fee?
A: No. The Department can only accept checks or money orders.
Q: Is the CORI request form necessary?
A: Yes. All applicants for ticket reseller licenses must consent to a criminal background check as a condition of licensure.
Q: Why must I include two affidavits from Massachusetts citizens?
A: G.L. c. 140, §185A allows the Commissioner of Public Safety to set application requirements for the obtaining a Ticket Resellers license. The affidavits of two reputable citizens are among these requirements. The affidavits should attest to your good moral character.
Q: Who can provide the recommendations/ affidavits of character for my application?
A: The two recommenders must be 1) citizens of the Commonwealth, and 2) reputable.
Q: Where do I obtain the tickets for resale?
A: Even as a licensed ticket reseller, you must still purchase your tickets directly from exhibition venue, from a licensed ticket seller, or from another licensed ticket reseller. You are not entitled to a separate process by virtue of holding a Ticket Resellers license.
Q: Are there limitations on how much I can charge for the tickets I am reselling?
A: Yes. Under G.L. c. 140, §185D, you may charge a service fee, which may include but is not limited to, charges for messengers, postage, and long distance telephone calls, extensions of credit and costs attributable to resale. You may also charge for the cost of the ticket. By statute, it is illegal to increase the price of the ticket by more than two dollars ($2) above the face value of the ticket. The Commissioner may revoke the license and/or fine a ticket reseller found by the Department to be in violation of the statute. M.G.L. c. 140, §§185C, 185D, and 185F.
Q: Are there restrictions on where I can operate?
A: Yes. Under 520 CMR 8.01, you may only operate out of the location specified on the license, and you must remain 20 feet away from any event that you are selling tickets to for purposes of preventing annoyance to prospective patrons
Q: Do I need to notify anyone that I am becoming a licensed ticket reseller?
A: There are currently no notice requirements for ticket resellers.
Q: How will people know that I am a licensed ticket reseller?
A: Under 520 CMR 8.01, your license must be conspicuously posted in your place of business. This will notify people that you are licensed with the Department.
Q: If I am denied a license, can I appeal the decision?
A: Yes. You may file an appeal in Superior Court. G.L. c. 30A, §14.
Q: When do I need to renew my license?
A: All licenses to operate as a ticket reseller expire on December 31 st of the year in which the license was issued. You must renew your license once every year pursuant to G.L. c. 140, §185B. You must file for renewal 30 days prior to expiration under 520 CMR 8.01.
Q: Do I need to complete the application process again to renew my license?
A: No. You do not have to complete the entire renewal process again. However, you must notify the Department of your desire to renew your license, and submit the fee set for that year. The fee is non-refundable.
Q: How do I notify the Department that I wish to renew my Ticket Resellers license?
A: You should receive a renewal application in the mail approximately 1 month before your license is due to expire. If you do not get a renewal application in the mail, it is your responsibility to contact the Department and request that a renewal application be sent to you by mail, fax, or e-mail.
Q: What happens if I do not complete the renewal process in time?
A: Your license will expire and you must reapply for a new license if it is your intent to continue operating as a ticket reseller in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.