The BBRS has several advisory committees, which provide the necessary technical expertise to the Board to allow the continual development of the Massachusetts State Building Code. The advisory committees are comprised of individuals from private practice and state and local building and fire officials.

The Board of Building Regulations and Standards is indebted to the many individuals, firms, associations and state and local authorities which donate their time and expertise, pro bono, to the Commonwealth.

A complete listing of the BBRS Advisory Committees follows:

8th Edition MA State Building Code

Fire Protection and Fire Prevention Advisory Committee

Ex-Officio Members

Kevin Gallagher, Chief, Acushnet

BBRS Member #1

Rob Anderson (or designee)

BBRS Member #2

Timothee Rodrique

State Fire Marshal or designee

Frank Kodzis, Deputy Chief, Boston

The Commissioner of the City of Boston Fire Department or designee

Members by appointment of the Chairman of the BBRS

Gary B. McCarraher, Chief, Franklin

Fire Chiefs Association of Massachusetts Representative #1

Kevin Gallagher, Chief, Acushnet

Fire Chiefs Association of Massachusetts Representative #2

Wayne Delaney, Assistant Chief, Lexington

Fire Prevention Association of Massachusetts Representative #1

Robert L. Bourke, Captain, Lynn

Fire Prevention Association of Massachusetts Representative #2

Ray Bigelow

International Municipal Signalmen's Association


State Board of Fire Prevention Regulations


The Board of State Examiners of Electricians

Louise Vera

Massachusetts Building Official

Harold R. Cutler, P.E. (Chair)

MA registered Fire Protection Engineer

David J. LeBlanc

MA registered Fire Protection Engineer

Walter B. Adams, AIA

MA registered Professional Architect

Robert M. Carasitti, P.E. (Vice- Chair)

MA registered Professional Engineer (Smoke Control Systems)

Jack Viola

NICET Sprinkler System Installer

Dave Duval

Massachusetts Burglar and Fire Alarm Association and the Automatic Fire Alarm Association, New England.

Jack Rich

Massachusetts Electrical Contractors Association Representative


William HorrocksBBRS Rep.
Donald R. TorricoChairman-Certified Building Official
Jeffery RichardsVice Chairman-Certified Building Official
Christopher ClementeCertified Building Official
Peter McLaughlinMember from Academia
Andrew BobolaCertified Building Official
Bonita WeeksCertified Building Official
John SpauldingCertified Building Official
Roger FullerMassachusetts Municipal Association


Wagdy Anis, AIA, LEED AP, ChairpersonWiss, Janney, Elstner Association Inc.
Michael Andelman, P.E., Vice ChairpersonAndelman and Lelek Engineering
Nicholas Johnson, P.E.Bard, Rao, and Athanas
Michael MartinWaltham Development Corporation
Derek BouchlerCEM, Bay State Gas
Timothee RodriqueDepartment of Fire Services
Mel FinkMassachusetts home Builder Association
Francis BoucherCEM National Grid
Thomas Coughlin, Jr.National Grid
Don VigneauNEEP
Mark HalversonPNNL - DOE
David WeitzCSG Group
Mel FinkMassachusetts Home Builder Association
VacantLabor and industries, Division of Industrial Hygiene


Steven R. Kraemer, P.E. ChairpersonHaley & Aldrich, Inc.
Nino CatalanoEast Coast Slurry Co.
David R. Shields, P.E.GEI Consultants, Inc.
William H. Hover, P.E.GZA Geo Environmental, Inc.
Robert C. Hoyler, P.E.Consultant
Michael W. Oakland, P.E.Weidlinger Associates, Inc.


8 th Edition MA State Building Code Structural Advisory Committee

James Balmer, P.E.

Boston Building Consultants

Michael Berry, P.E.

Consulting Structural Engineer, Inc.

John T. Christian, P.E.

Consulting Engineer

Richard Croswell, P.E.

Symmes, Maini and McKee

Mehul Dhruv, P.E.

Engineer Design Group, Inc.

Michael Fillion, P.E.

Fillion Group, Inc.

Hans William Hagen, P.E.

Foley Buhl Roberts & Associates, Inc.

Richard A. Henige, P.E. Former Vice Chair SAC

LeMessurier Consultants

Dominic J. Kelly, P.E.

Simpson, Gumpertz & Heger, Inc.

Paul L. Kelly, P.E.

Simpson, Gumpertz & Heger, Inc.

Frank D. Leathers, P.E.

GEI Consultants, Inc.

Edward LeNormand, P.E. Former Secretary LAC

Chapin Associates

Nicholas Mariani, P.E.


Garrett McClean, P.E.

McNamara/Salvia Inc.

Mysore Ravindra, P.E.

LeMessurier Consultants

Mark T. Swingle, P.E.

MA Division of Capital Asset Management

Paul J. Trudeau, P.E.

Shaw E&I/Stone & Webster

Kenneth B. Weisner, P.E. , Former Secretary SAC


A. Vernon Woodworth, AIA, LEED AP

RW Sullivan Engineering

Rubin M. Zallen, P.E. Former Chair LAC

Consulting Engineer

Joseph J. Zona, P.E. Former Chair SAC

Simpson, Gumpertz & Heger, Inc.



Norton S. Remmer, P.E.

Corresponding Member, Consulting Engineer

Cetin Soddemir, P.E.

Corresponding Member, Geotechnical Services, Inc.


Robert AndersonChairman / Chief of Inspections Build. Div./ Administrator
Don BakerBristol Norfork Home Builders
James BrandoliniSoutheastern Mass. Building Officials Association
John BrysonHome Builders of Massachusetts
Allan David CarrollHome Builders of Massachusetts
Scoth ColwellBuilders Association of Greater Boston
Charles CooperBuilders Association of Greater Boston
Steven DixonBBRS Member (at time of development)
Dennis M. DowdFire Chiefs Association of Massachusetts, Inc.
Tim FitzgeraldSoutheastern Mass. Building Officials Association
David FlemingHome Builders of Cape Cod
Roger GallagerNational Association of the Remodeling Industry
Kevin GogginMass. Building Commissioners and Inspectors Association
Chip LaPointeBuilding Officials of Western Massachusetts
Paul J. MoriartyBuilders Association of Greater Boston
Jay MurdochOwens-Corning
Tim NeyhartBuilding Officials of Western Massachusetts
H. Jacob NunnamacherDepartment of Fire Services
Jack RhyndParticipating Guest
Harry SmithHome Builders Association of Massachusetts (at time of development)
David WeitzCSG Corp.

780 CMR 8th edition Chapter 34 Advisory Committee

Michael DiMascio, PE, ChairpersonArup
Douglas AndersonCommercial Construction Consulting, Inc.
Wayne DelaneyFire Prevention Association of MA
Michael Grover, CBOBuilding Official, City of Cambridge
Kevin Hastings, PE, LEED APRW Sullivan Engineering
David LeBlanc, PEVP, Rolf Jensen & Associates, Inc.
Nicholas Mariani, PEParsons
Derrick J. Morse, PERW Sullivan Engineering
Jeremy Mason, PERolf Jensen & Associates, Inc.
Jacob NunnemacherDepartment of Fire Services
A. Vernon Woodworth, AIA, LEED APRW Sullivan Engineering