Q: What is refrigeration?

A: Refrigeration is defined by statute as the installation, repair, replacement, maintenance of any refrigerant containing part of any refrigerant system of a ten ton capacity, or greater. See M.G.L. c. 146, §81, available on-line at www.mass.gov/legis.

Q: Is a license required to install, repair or perform maintenance for refrigeration devices?

A: Yes, for systems of ten ton capacity or greater.

Q: How may I obtain a license?

A: You must first obtain a refrigeration apprentice license. In order to obtain the apprentice license, you must get registered as an apprentice with the Division of Apprentice and Training. Once registered with the Division, you must then make application for the apprentice license. You may do so by submitting the following:

1. A complete application with proper mailing address, permanent home address, and social security number.

2. A copy of your high school diploma or equivalency certification.

3. A 1" x 1.25" photo, showing your head or head and shoulders only.

4. A non-refundable application processing fee ($75): and

5. Required documentation of experience.

Q: What type of documentation is acceptable evidence of experience for licensure as a refrigeration technician?

A: You submit one of the following complete sets of documentary evidence:

1. Documentation form an employer that you have worked not less than 6,000 ours in Massachusetts as a refrigeration apprentice or trainee; and documentation from an approved school that you have completed 100 hours of refrigeration theory and 150 hours of related Massachusetts electrical code training; OR

2. Documentation from an employer that you have worked not less than 4,000 hours in Massachusetts as a refrigeration apprentice or trainee; and documentation from an approved school that you have completed 500 hours in a refrigeration course, of which 250 hours must be shop related work, 100 hours of refrigeration theory, and 100 hours of related Massachusetts electrical code training.; OR

3. . Documentation from an employer that you have worked not less than 2,000 hours in Massachusetts as a refrigeration apprentice or trainee; and documentation from an approved school that you have completed 1000 hours in a refrigeration course, of which 700 hours must be shop related work, 100 hours of refrigeration theory, and 100 hours of related Massachusetts electrical code training.; OR

4. Approved by a majority vote of the Bureau.

Q: Is a license required to own a refrigeration device?

A: No

Q: What is Pipefitting?

A: "Pipefitting" is defined as "the installation, repair, replacement, maintenance or alteration of any apparatus for piping appliances, devices or accessories for heating systems having a rating greater than seven hundred thousand British Thermal Units including apparatus and piping for the general use of conveyance of steam and associated pumping equipment but excluding sheet metal work, air conditioning and refrigeration systems, boilers and plumbing"

 

Q: Is a license required to perform pipefitting?

A: Yes, you must hold a pipefitter's license.

Q: How do I obtain a Pipefitters license?

A: There are three levels of pipefitter licensure: master pipefitter; journeyman pipefitter; and and apprentice pipefitter. Both master and journeyman pipefitter require that applicants first obtain an apprentice pipefitter license. In order to obtain the apprentice license, you must be registered as an apprentice with the Division of Apprentice and Training. Once registered with the Division, you must then make application for the apprentice license. Once the apprentice pipefitter license is obtained, applicants for master and journeyman pipefitter must submit evidence of additional experience.

Q: What is required to apply for a license as a master pipefitter?

A: Applicants for the position of master pipefitter must submit:

1. Completed Application with proper mailing AND home address, social security number.

2. Attached 1" x 1.25" photo of the applicant's head or head and shoulders only.

3. Documentation from employer that you have held and used a Massachusetts Journeyman Pipefitters license for not less than 2,000 hours.

4. Documentation from an approved school that you have completed 100 hours of Code A.S. M.E. instruction.

5. Non-refundable application processing fee ($100)

Q. What is required to apply for a license as a journeyman pipefitter?

A: Applicants for the position of journeyman pipefitter must submit:

1. Completed Application with proper mailing AND home address, social security number.

2. Copy of high school diploma or equivalency certification

3. Attached 1" x 1.25" photo

4. Non-refundable application processing fee ($75): and

5. Documentation of necessary experience (see below).

Q. What experience is required to obtain licensure as a journeyman pipefitter?

A:You submit one of the following complete sets of documentary evidence:

1. Documentation from employer that you have worked not less than 6,000 hours in Massachusetts as an apprentice pipefitter; and documentation from an approved school that you have completed 350 hours of Code instruction; OR

2. Documentation from employer that you have worked not less than 4,000 hours in Massachusetts as an apprentice pipefitter; documentation from an approved school that you have successfully completed 200 hours of Code instruction; and documentation from an approved school that you have successfully completed 500 hours of study in a pipefitter's course, or which 250 hours was obtained during practical, shop-related work.

3. . Documentation from employer that you have worked not less than 2,000 hours in Massachusetts as an apprentice pipefitter; documentation from an approved school that you have successfully completed 200 hours of Code instruction; and documentation from an approved school that you have successfully completed 1000 hours of study in a pipefitter's course, or which 700 hours was obtained during practical, shop-related work; OR

4. Approved by a majority vote of the Bureau.

Q: What is required to apply for a license as an apprentice pipefitter?

A: Applicants must submit the following:

1. Completed Application with proper mailing AND home address, and social security number;

2. Proof that the company where applicant will be employed as an apprentice is registered with the Department of Labor and Industry;

3. Attached 1" x 1.25" photo

4. Non-refundable application processing fee ($40).

Q: What is a Sprinkler fitter?

A: A person who has completed an apprenticeship training program to the satisfaction of this Bureau and who, by himself or with other sprinkler fitters, performs any work in sprinkler fitting subject to inspection under any law, ordinance, by-law, rule or regulation, but does not employ other sprinkler fitters.

Q: What type of work requires a license?

A: A fire sprinkler system, for fire protection purposes, the work of the sprinkler fitter and apprentice shall consist of the installation of all fire protection and fire control systems, including both overhead and underground water mains, fire hydrants and hydrant mains, standpipes and hose connections to sprinkler systems, sprinkler tank heaters, air lines and thermal systems, hot water fire protection systems and standpipes connected to sprinkler systems.

Q: How do I obtain a Sprinkler fitters license?

A: There are three levels of sprinklerfitter licensure: sprinkler contractor; journeyman sprinklerfitter; and apprentice sprinklerfitter. Both master and journeyman sprinklerfitter require that applicants first obtain an apprentice sprinklerfitter license. To obtain the apprentice license, applicants must submit a letter from a licensed Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractor indicating that you were employed by them as an apprentice sprinklerfitter. Once the apprentice sprinklerfitter license is obtained, applicants for sprinkler contractor and journeyman pipefitter must submit evidence of additional experience.

Q: What must I submit to apply for a license as a sprinkler contractor?

A: To be considered for licensure as a sprinkler contractor, you must submit the following:

1. Completed Application with proper mailing and home address, and social security number.

2. A 1" x 1.25" photo of your head or head and shoulders only;

3. Documentation from employer that have worked five (5) years in the fire protection sprinkler system business in a management position.

4. Documentation that you are an owner, partner, officer, or in a full time management position of a fire protection sprinkler system company.

5. Proof that you are a citizen of the United States, or entitled to work in the United States.

6. Proof that you are at least eighteen (18) years of age.

7. Non-refundable application processing fee ($100)

Q: What must I submit to apply for a license as a journeyman sprinklerfitter?

A: To be considered for licensure as a journeyman sprinklerfitter, you must submit the following:



1. Completed Application with proper mailing address, permanent home address, and social security number.

2. Copy of high school diploma or equivalency certification

3. A1" x 1.25" photo showing the applicant's head and head and shoulders.

4. Non-refundable application processing fee ($75).

5. Documentation from employer that you have worked not less than 8,000 hours in Massachusetts as an apprentice sprinklerfitter or trainee; and

6. Documentation from an approved school that you have completed 144 hours of sprinkler fitting study per year of apprenticeship, or approval by a majority vote of the Bureau.

Q: What must I submit to apply for a license as an apprentice sprinklerfitter?

A: To be considered for licensure as an apprentice sprinklerfitter, you must submit the following:

1. A completed Application with proper mailing AND home address, social security number.

2. A 1" x 1.25" photo of your head or head and shoulders only;

3.Documentation that you are employed by a Massachusetts Sprinkler Contractor.

4. A non-refundable application processing fee ($40)