Bicycle Safety

 

Boy riding bike artwork



 

There were 10 bicycle-related fatalities and 81 incapacitating injuries in Massachusetts in 2008. In 2008, bicycle incapacitating injuries were highest in June and August, with 14 reported each month.

The 35 - 44 year old and 45 - 54 year old age groups experienced the highest number of incapacitating injuries and nearly five times as many males as female bicyclists suffered incapacitating injuries.

Massachusetts law requires bicyclists to adhere to all applicable motor vehicle laws (for instance, come to a full stop at a stop sign before proceeding). Massachusetts law was updated in January of 2009 now requiring children 16 years of age and under, who operates a bicycle (or who rides as a passenger on a bicycle), skateboard, in-line skates, or scooter on a public way or bike path to wear a properly fitted and fastened bicycle helmet. This law requires approved helmets to have a U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission certification sticker.

The Executive Office of Public Safety and Security's Highway Safety Division (EOPSS-HSD) recommends that all bicyclists and passengers wear a helmet.

To encourage bicycle safety, the EOPSS-HSD supports community-based bicycle safety programs, offers trainings and conferences, and provides public information.

 



 

Motorcycle Safety

In 2008, there were 42 motorcycle fatalities and 329 motorcycle-related incapacitating injuries.

The Massachusetts Rider Education Program (MREP) is administered by the Registry of Motor Vehicles.

The Motorcycle Safety Foundation website provides information on motorcycle safety efforts across the country.