Teen Driving Safety
On January 3, 2007, the Junior Operator Law (JOL) was put into effect. The law is designed to ensure that teen drivers are not only getting the best possible training before they are fully licensed but that they are also aware of the responsibilities associated with getting behind the wheel. Further increasing the Commonwealth's commitment to youth driver safety, the Safe Driver Law became effective on September 30, 2010, which prohibits the use of mobile electronic devices (i.e. cellphones, smartphones) for motor vehicle operators under the age of 18 while driving. Violators of this law will face steep penalties including a first offense penalty of $100, 60-day license suspension, and attitudinal course attendance.
Below are key topics related to youth driver safety and education found on MassDOT's RMV Junior Operator License webpage.
- Overview of Massachusetts' Junior Operator License (JOL)
- Parent's Guide to Massachusetts' Junior Operator License Laws
- Summary of Massachusetts' Safe Driving Law (effective 9/30/10)
- Guide to Massachusetts' Driver Education Program
- Locate a Driver's Education Program
- Driver's Manual
- Learner's Permit Checklist
- Frequently Asked Questions about Learner's Permits and JOL
- Important Information for JOL Operators
- Roadway Safety Tips for Teens
- Safe Driving Tips
- AAA Exchange: Teen Driver Safety
- Teen Driving Tips
- General Driving Tips
People also viewed...
You recently viewed...
Personalization is OFF. Your personal browsing history at Mass.gov is not visible because your personalization is turned off. To view your history, turn your personalization on.
Learn more on our .
*Recommendations are based on site visitor traffic patterns and are not endorsements of that content.