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From the Fire Marshal

From the Fire Marshal

This winter we welcomed the new Secretary of Public
Safety and Security Daniel Bennett to the Department of
Fire Services. I appreciate the time he took to tour our
campus, listen to senior staff explain our mission and
work, and the thoughtful questions he asked.

26th Annual Firefighter of the Year Awards

This has been a long, hard winter for residents, firefighters
and other first responders. There have been many heroic
acts by the Commonwealth’s fire service under difficult
conditions. I urge fire chiefs to think now about nominat-
ing the brave men and women on their teams for the 26th
Annual Firefighter of the Year Heroic Awards while the
images and memories are still fresh. Very soon, the Heroic
Awards Committee will be accepting nominations for the
July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2015 period. One small way for fire
chiefs to show how much they appreciate their team is to
recognize their efforts through this program.

Legislation

The fire service is monitoring several pieces of re-filed leg-
islation this session. First is legislation that will require all
residences (1-5 units), upon sale or transfer regardless of
date of construction, to have smoke alarms that meet
either the State Building Code in effect at the date of con-
struction, or be equipped with smoke alarms powered by
10-year sealed lithium batteries. This new technology ends
the need to replace batteries for the entire life of a smoke
alarm and can prevent tampering. If the battery is removed,
the device no longer functions and must be replaced. This
legislation ensures there are working smoke alarms in
buildings when they are sold or transferred. The fire ser-
vice is also following legislation which would create a local
option law to allow individual communities to decide
whether or not to require fire sprinklers in newly con-
structed one- and two-family homes. This decision can
affect a community’s ISO rating, and thus homeowner
insurance premiums.

Two New Division Directors

In January, the Department of Fire Services welcomed two
new division directors: George Kramlinger as the new
Massachusetts Firefighting Academy Director, and Paul
Vigneau as the new Division of Fire Safety Director. Direc-
tor Kramlinger served in the U.S. Air Force (USAF) for 26
years. While still on active duty he completed the

Massachusetts Call/Vol-

unteer Recruit Firefighter

training and in 2008

became a full-time fire-

fighter/EMT in Dover,

New Hampshire. He has

taught at the New Hamp-

shire State Fire Academy

in many programs. Direc-

tor Vigneau was assistant commissioner for the Worcester
Department of Inspectional Services and previously
served as special assistant and as project manager for the
Worcester City Manager. He served for 23 years in the U.S.
Marine Corps.

DFS Springfield Campus

Despite the brutal winter, construction of the Department
of Fire Services Springfield campus continued. This was
possible because the construction team installed the roof
in December before the heavy weather began. We are still
on track for completion of the campus this fall. Our facili-
ties manager Jim DiRico has done an excellent job
monitoring progress on the construction.

Construction at DFS Springfield.

Revised Fire Code

Implementation of the largest single revision of the State
Fire Code has gone smoothly so far. The Board of Fire Pre-
vention Regulations will be asked to issue interpretations
on the new code as questions arise and to provide clarifica-
tion and guidance as we move forward. Fire departments
should not hesitate to consult with the Code Compliance
and Enforcement Unit in the Division of Fire Safety about
code questions to help ensure the code is enforced uni-
formly across the Commonwealth.
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2014 brought many changes and accomplishments to the
Call/Volunteer Recruit Firefighter Training Program. In
January, program staff were asked by the State Fire Marshal
to be part of a working group to examine program curricu-
lum. We were asked to evaluate topics that should be added
to or removed from the program in order to better meet the
needs of end users and to reflect our changing profession.

The working group included the MFA director, fire
chiefs from call and volunteer departments across the state,
and myself. Over four months we revised the curriculum
and the new program began in January 2015. The group
removed Emergency Vehicle Operator from the program
and minimized the amount of time spent teaching about
pumps and hydraulics. We revised the Rapid Intervention
Team (RIT) training and will transition away from RIT to
teaching several of the self-rescue techniques in the Saving
Ourselves program. These include the Long Lug Out method
of using the fire hose to exit if disoriented in a fire, the Low
Profile Drill for removing airpacks to squeeze through tight
spots, and using the entanglement prop to escape the wires
and cables found above dropped ceilings.

E-Blended Format Began in 2014

The Call/Volunteer Recruit Firefighter Training program
began using the Jones & Bartlett online e-blended learning
platform last year with good success. We hope that using an
online platform for a portion of the training will give stu-
dents better control of their workload and time
commitments. Moving some program components online
allows more time for students to get practical training in
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By Chris Norris, Program Coordinator

performing evolutions when they are onsite. Some early
technical issues arose, but the online system is now work-
ing well.

New Instructors

The academy has many new instructors and they are com-
pleting their audit time. We pair new and senior instructors
to provide the best instruction for both students and the
new instructors. Training of new instructors is ongoing.

Grading

Throughout 2014 program staff have worked hard with the
Massachusetts Fire Training Council, advocating for
needed changes in rules and regulations regarding Call/
Volunteer training. The most significant change made was
in the academic requirements for the program. Previously,
in order to pass, a student had to achieve 70% on the final
exam. Now a student must achieve a 70% average between
the final class academic grade and the final exam grade.
This does not affect certification. This final grade better
reflects all the work and effort firefighters put into the pro-
gram, instead of focusing on one final exam grade.

Equipment

In the past year, the academy replaced one of our remote
site storage containers. The containers hold all the equip-
ment for the 15-week program at the site.

DFS Springfield Campus
The Call/Volunteer was the first program to use the
Department of Fire Services Springfield campus after it

Continued on next page
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American
Red Cross

Home Fire Preparedness Campaign

The American Red Cross, through their Home Fire Pre-
paredness Campaign, is trying to reduce fire deaths and
injuries by 25% over a five year period. They are establish-
ing local partnerships that include fire departments,
providing in-home fire education, and installing 500,000
smoke alarms each year.

Alarms Meet Massachusetts Codes

DFS staff has met with American Red Cross of Massachu-
setts staff to discuss the types of smoke and carbon
monoxide (CO) alarms required by the State Fire and
Building Codes. While the national program was origi-
nally purchasing only ionization smoke alarms, they are
now offering several different types of alarms in Massa-
chusetts so that they can meet current fire codes. The
alarms include: photoelectric-only smoke alarms (not a
10-year alarm); ionization-only smoke alarms; and combi-
nation CO/photoelectric smoke alarms. All alarms are UL
listed. The Red Cross is committed to ensuring that
installed alarms meet code. The Red Cross program is also
replacing batteries in existing smoke and CO alarms.

Local Coalitions Can Complement

Senior SAFE Programs

American Red Cross volunteers may be contacting local
fire departments about organizing local coalitions to carry
out this program. Fire departments must be part of a coa-
lition for the project to proceed. Coalition members will
determine how to work together and how to train install-
ers. These coalitions can complement a fire department’s
Senior SAFE Program, providing additional volunteers for
home safety visits, in-home education, and resources for
smoke and CO alarms. The Red Cross is well aware of our

Student Awareness of Fire Education (S.A.F.E.) and Senior
SAFE programs and is dedicated to complementing and
enhancing those programs.

Timely Opportunity

Many fire departments worked with the Massachusetts
Department of Public Health over several decades with
the U.S. Center for Disease Control funded Residential Fire
Injury Prevention Program. The partnership provided
departments with smoke alarms, but has ended. The
American Red Cross project comes along at just the right
time to fill the void and will also provide volunteers.

Liability for Smoke and CO Alarm

Installation Programs

Departments participating in smoke alarm and/or other
safety device installation programs should know there is
always a risk of liability on the part of the city, town, or fire
district and their employees when providing or installing
these devices, if or when the devices fail or the batteries are
not changed.

In order to protect the participating municipalities
and fire districts and their employees, the Department of
Fire Services' general counsel has drafted a sample Hold
Harmless, Waiver and Release which can be put on local
government letterhead and used as part of such programs.
It is provided only as a recommendation and fire depart-
ments should seek advice from their own city, town or fire
district legal counsel regarding use of this document. If
you or your legal counsel have any questions, please con-
tact DFS General Counsel Steven Rourke at (978) 567-3182.
The waiver and memo were sent to fire chiefs and can be
found on the DFS website under DFS Advisories.

Call/Volunteer Recruit Training, continued from previous page

was transferred from city to state ownership. We used the
burn building for live fire training, saving students the
travel time to Stow. When the Springfield campus is com-
plete in the fall of 2015, it will provide a state of the art fire
training location in the western part of the state for the
Call/Volunteer Recruit Firefighter Training program and
other MFA programs.

2014 was a productive and successful year for the
Call/Volunteer Recruit Firefighter Training program. We
graduated four classes and made substantial improve-
ments to the program and the way it is delivered. In 2015,
we will be closely evaluating those changes and making
adjustments based on feedback from all stakeholders - fire
chiefs, firefighters, and instructors.
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Fireworks

The Fire Safety Division (FSD) works closely with local fire
departments to enforce fireworks laws and regulations and
to make sure that supervised fireworks displays are safe for
both spectators and shooters. The Fire Safety Division is
ready to provide technical, compliance, and enforcement
support, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, especially
during the busy 4th of July week. For immediate assis-
tance, call the Massachusetts Emergency Management
Agency (MEMA) at (508) 820-2000 outside of regular
business hours and (978) 567-3375 during normal busi-
ness hours (8 a.m. to 4 p.m.).

The DES Fireworks for Fire Prevention webpage pro-
vides resources for fire departments as they prepare for
fireworks displays, including contact information and a
fireworks display checklist which includes guidelines for a
fireworks program (before the show, day of the show, fol-
lowing the show).

Fire Departments Issue Permits
for Supervised Displays
All fireworks shows must have a permit issued by the local
fire department and must be supervised by the fire depart-
ment (527 CMR 1.00:1.12.8.39.2.1). Permit applications
must be submitted 20 days prior to the show and the fire
department must inform the Fire Safety Division within
five days if they approve or disapprove the application.
The permitting process gives the fire department the
opportunity to review that the regulations are being met,
the shooters are licensed, all other required permits have
been issued, the audience will be a safe distance from the
shells and debris, an electronic firing board is used, the
fireworks will be secured from the moment they arrive on
scene, and a first light search will be conducted for unex-
ploded shells, among other safety issues. Fireworks display
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Safety

applications require the following and are incomplete if all

requirements are not met:

« Diagram/site plan showing points where fireworks are
to be discharged, location/distance to the audience,
buildings, highways, overhead obstructions, etc. (hand-
written maps are not acceptable; maps must be from
Google, Bing, GIS).

o The number and description of the fireworks/pyrotech-
nics including the diameter of the shells.

o A copy of the natural barrier letter from the Fire Safety
Division (if applicable).

o FAA, Coast Guard, or other agency approvals/notifica-
tions (if applicable).

Natural Barrier Approvals

The Fire Safety Division grants natural barrier approvals
when needed (527 CMR 1.00:65.1.4.1). If approval was
previously received and nothing has changed in the plans
submitted by the fireworks shooter, another approval is
not needed. If a site inspection is needed, please contact
(978) 567-3375, at least thirty (30) days before the pro-
posed date of the display.

Licensed Fireworks Shooters Licenses

The Fire Safety Division issues licenses to people and com-
panies engaged in fireworks, special effects, and cannon
and mortar firing (527 CMR 1.00:1.13.9). Applications for
certificates of competency (licenses) and the exam sched-
ule are on our licensing webpage. For information about
licensing issues, contact the Licensing Desk at 978-567-
3700 or at dfs.licensing@dfs.state.ma.us. To check on an
individual license there is an easy to use application on the
webpage that looks like Figure I.


http://www.mass.gov/eopss/agencies/dfs/dfs2/osfm/fire-prev/fireworks-for-fire-prevention.html

Figure 1
(O Professional License Information

Search by license type to find out where to apply for, renew, or verify a license,
or to file a complaint against a license holder. (Ex. Nursing)

Enter license type: | | (Search)

Licensed Shooters Must Abide

by State Regulations

The Fire Safety Division has reminded licensed fireworks
shooters of their responsibility for public safety and their
obligation to abide by the state’s laws and regulations.
Licensed fireworks shooters have also been notified that
involvement in an unsupervised and/or unpermitted fire-
works display is both a violation of law and the fire code,
and a violation of the terms and conditions of their license,
which can result in suspension or revocation of a certifi-
cate of competency. If a fire or police official is aware of
such activity they should contact our office immediately.

Contact State Police Bomb Squad to Dispose of
Confiscated Illegal Fireworks

All police officials are required to confiscate illegal fire-
works. Police and fire officials should contact the State
Police Bomb Squad at (978) 567-3310 during normal
business hours to dispose of the materials. Depending on
type, quantity and condition, they will advise on whether
an emergency response is required or if the fireworks can
be safely stored until pick-up is arranged. Notify the Bomb
Squad immediately if you receive a large quantity of mate-
rials, commercial grade materials, or deteriorated
materials. After hours, contact the Troop Duty Officer for
your area, or call State Police dispatch (508) 820-2121 and
ask to be connected to your Troop Duty Officer. Ask the
duty officer to contact the State Police Bomb Squad on call
person right away.

Fireworks Display Checklist

Date of Show:

Before Show /check:

a
a

a

Pre show site inspection.

Natural barriers must be pre-approved by the Fire
Safety Division (plan sufficient time ahead)

At least 20 days prior to display application/permit
must be submitted, including site diagram (hand
drawn sketches are not acceptable) and shell
inventory.

Verify that all applicable State Fire Marshal permits
such as transportation, electrical firing board,
portable firing trailers, 12-inch shells have been
issued.

Within 5 days of receipt of application/permit, form
must be approved or disapproved and forwarded to
the Fire Safety Division (FSD). This may be done via
mail, email or fax.

Day of Show /check:

a

Establish secured area with a suitable barrier such
as snow fencing or equivalent (caution tape is not
sufficient), natural barriers, as approved by FSD
(secured area must be established and maintained
from the arrival of the fireworks until the completion
of the display).

Verify State Fire Marshal permits (transportation,
electric firing boards, and portable firing trailers).
If using racks, determine that the rack placement
conforms to the approved site.

Check racks for correct spacing and stability. Check
angling of mortars.

If not using racks, determine that tubes are
sufficiently buried. Check angling of mortars.
Determine weather and wind condition prior to
display.

Following the Show /check:

a

A competent operator must ensure a thorough
search is made for any unignited shells immediately
following the display and at the first available
daylight.

Upon completion of the search, a competent
operator shall report all findings to the head of the
fire department.

The Fire Safety Division is ready to
provide technical, compliance, and

enforcement support, 24 hours a day,

seven days a week, especially during
the busy 4™ of July week.
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Summer Fire Prevention

Marine Fueling Permits

The Fire Services Division (FSD) issues

three types of Marine Fueling Permits:

Barge Marine Fueling (FP 293B), Fixed

Marine Fueling (FP 293F), and Mobile

Marine Fueling (FP 293M). The appli-
cations are available at www.mass.gov/dfs.

Existing permit holders received renewal notices in
October 2014, along with notification of the changes in the
State Fire Code that took effect on January 1, 2015.

Applicants are responsible for holding a valid permit
when fueling.

Code enforcement officers will conduct inspections of
marine fueling facilities to ensure they are properly per-
mitted and licensed and the operations are conducted in
conformance with the State Fire Code. For technical ques-
tions, please contact the Code Compliance and Enforcement
Unit at 978-567-3375 or in western Massachusetts at
413-587-3181.

Grills in the Revised Fire Code

The revised fire code and Massachusetts amendments spe-
cifically address barbecue grills (open flame cooking
devices) directly for the first time. Previously, the code
addressed only the use and storage of LP-gas, not grills, as
a fire hazard. NFPA 58-LP-Gas Code (2011 Edition) is
adopted by reference and provides guidance on gas grill
use and storage.

Look for grill regulations in 527 CMR 1.00:10.11.6,
Cooking Equipment. 10.11.6.1 addresses where grills can
be used and 10.11.6.2 addresses where they can be stored.
In essence, no open flame cooking device (non-electric

grill) can be

iy .
(@ FireFactors
<>’ Office of the State Fire Marshal - www:mass gov/dfs - (978) 567-3300
P

used on a bal-
cony, porch,
deck or under
overhangs,
except in cer-

Preventing Mulch Fires

Mul

Regulation on Mulch Safety
Safe use of mulch is regulated through 527 CMR 1.00, section
10.14.104. The regulation prohibits new application of mulch

build as

tain conditions
for single-fam-
ily dwellings.
Gas grills can
only be used

wood or vinyl, but not brick sident ings with
six units or less are exempted from the regulation, but all homeowners may want to adopt these
safety practices. The regulation applies to all other buildings including commercial properties

Tips for Property Managers, Building Owners & Landscapers
- Provi etween landscape mulch beds and combustible
decks

d gas mbustible

t

+ Grounds and maintenance crews should be aware when conditions are favorable for mulch
fires and increase surveillance of mulch beds.

+ Keep mulch beds moist when possible.

on first floor
balconies  of
single-family
homes

Million Dollar Mulch Fire
e

chusetts occurred at a Peabody apartment complex
ire caused a $6.7 million loss, and displaced 750 people
temporarily and 36 permanently
«+ InApr

smoking materials ignited mulch outside an assisted living
early morning evacuation of many older adults, some of lf an

center
whom suffered smoke inhalati

outdoor stair-
way leading to
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the ground exists (NFPA 58). This allows propane tanks to
reach the grill without entering the home.

The code prohibits the use of grills on fire escapes since
grills must be used ten feet away from buildings (with the
exception for single family dwellings mentioned earlier).

Grills can be stored on the first floor balconies of both
one- and two-family dwellings, but they cannot be used on
the balconies of two-family homes.

527 CMR 1.00:10.11.6 Cooking Equipment

10.11.6.1 For other than a single-family dwelling, no hiba-
chi, grill, or other similar devices used for cooking, heating
or any other purpose shall be used or kindled on any bal-
cony, under any overhanging portion, or within ten feet of
any structure.

10.11.6.2 For other than one- and two-family dwellings, no
hibachi, grill, or other similar devices used for cooking,
heating or any other purpose shall be stored on a balcony.

Mulch Fire Safety

Spring is the time for businesses and homeowners to
spruce up landscaping. Spring is also the time when fire
departments respond to mulch fires from spontaneous
combustion or the improper disposal of smoking materi-
als. The State Fire Code has regulations on mulch wood
projects that were developed in response to significant fires
in the state. Fire officials may want to alert nurseries, local
landscaping companies, and building owners and manag-
ers about the proper placement and storage of mulch in
order to prevent fires. The Department of Fire Services has
an educational flyer called Preventing Mulch Fires that
explains the regulation and provides safety tips.

527 CMR 1.00 Regulates Mulch
527 CMR 1.00:10.14.10.4 prohibits the new application of
mulch within 18” from combustible exteriors of buildings
including wood and vinyl but not brick or concrete.
Residential buildings with six units or less are exempt
from this regulation, but all homeowners may want to
adopt these safety practices. The regulation applies to all
other buildings including commercial properties.

Storage and Manufacturing of Mulch

The regulation also has safety requirements for those who
store or manufacture mulch (527 CMR 1.00:31.3.7). It lim-
its the size of mulch piles and requires a distance of 30 feet
between piles. Large piles of mulch generate heat and can
spontaneously combust, so it is important to be vigilant
and employ good housekeeping. The distance between
piles prevents a fire from spreading to another pile or
to a building.

Continued on next page


http://www.mass.gov/eopss/docs/dfs/dfs-briefs/april-2015/10-publiceducation-firefactors-preventingmulchfires.pdf

Fire Marshal Advisories

State Fire Marshal Coan has sent recent advisories to local
fire chiefs in order to spread awareness of code changes
and interpretations and issues affecting code enforcement.
Adpvisories are posted on the DFS website (www.mass.gov/
dfs) under DFS Advisories and as part of the monthly DFS
Briefs. For questions or assistance, contact the Code Com-
pliance and Enforcement Unit at (978) 567-3375 or in
western Massachusetts at (413) 587-3181.

January 1, 2015

Sky Lanterns

In response to concerns regarding the dangers posed by
sky lanterns, I want you to be aware of a provision in the
revised Massachusetts Comprehensive Fire Safety Code,
which became effective January 1, 2015.

527 CMR 1.00:10.11.9.1 now prohibits the use of open
flame devices, including sky lanterns, unless a permit is
issued from the Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ). The
citation is as follows:

10.11.9.1 Welding torches, tar pots, fire lanterns, and
other devices, machines or processes liable to start or cause
fire shall not be operated or used in or upon any areas,
except by permit from the AHJ.

This violation is also included in the M.G.L. Chapter
148A revised ticket books. Tickets can now be issued for
$100, $500 or $1,000 for first, second and third or subse-
quent offense for violations of this provision.

February 1, 2015
Open Air Burning
Apparently there is some confusion regarding the provi-
sions of 527 CMR 1.00:10.11.4.3 as it relates to the 25-foot
distance from structures.

The Department of Environmental Protection (DEP)
regulation on open burning, 310 CMR 7.07, requires that
open air burning take place at least 75 feet from a

Summer Fire Prevention continued from previous page

structure. Because the DEP regulation provides for a
higher standard of safety, it prevails (527 CMR 1.00:1.3.3.3).

For additional information on open burning, please
visit our web page at http://www.mass.gov/eopss/agencies/
dfs/dfs2/ostm/pubed/fs-topics/fs-topics-a/safety-tips-for-
open-burning-season.html.

March 1, 2015

Fire Suppression System Initiators Containing
Explosive Materials

Recently, a municipal fire department and the State Police
Bomb Squad assigned to my office were called out to a
facility that contained a Halon fire suppression system.

A fire suppression system company had been con-
tacted to remove components of the fire suppression
system. The company removed the agent cylinders, but left
the explosive-containing initiators and contacted the fire
department for disposal.

I want to remind you that work on systems containing
these initiators must be conducted by companies and indi-
viduals possessing the proper technical qualifications,
certificates of registration and competency, along with the
appropriate federal and state licenses related to the posses-
sion and use of explosive materials. It is the responsibility
of these companies and individuals to properly handle and
dispose of the explosive-containing initiators.

Permits Required to Store 300+ Cubic Yards of Mulch

Permits from the fire department are required wherever

more than 300 cubic yards of mulch is produced or stored

(527 CMR 1.00:1.12.8.17).

Tips for Landscapers,

Property Managers and Building Owners

How to prevent mulch fires:

o Keep wood mulch 18” away from combustible exteriors
of buildings such as wood or vinyl siding. Don’t put it
right up against the building.

o Create an 18-inch barrier around the foundation of a

building using pea stone or crushed rock.

o Provide proper receptacles for smoking materials at
entrances to buildings (place at least 18 inches away from
the building) and in designated smoking areas. Empty
regularly and do not mulch these areas.

o Train maintenance staft to watch for mulch fires espe-
cially when conditions are most favorable: when mulch
is fresh or weather is very hot and dry or windy.

The Massachusetts Department of Public Health has infor-

mation for landlords and owners on making properties

smoke-free on their Let’s Make Smoking History webpage.

All Hands Herald
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http://makesmokinghistory.org/smoke-free-environments/

Smoke and CO Alarms

for People Who Cannot Hear Audible Signals

By Jonathan O’Dell, Massachusetts Commission on the Deaf and Hard of Hearing

Fire and carbon monoxide (CO) are deadly threats for
everyone, but especially for Deaf, hard of hearing and
deafblind individuals who cannot hear the audible signals
generated by conventional smoke and CO alarms. Often,
people test their ability to hear these alarms while they are
wearing hearing aids or cochlear implants; but as these are
always taken off at bedtime, someone who hears the alarm
with an aid during the day may not hear it at night.

Although strobes are very bright, they may not wake
Deaf and hard of hearing individuals who are stomach or
side sleepers, as they may have a pillow or blanket covering
their eyes. Very few residences, whether rental properties
or private homes, feature strobes in the bedroom. If strobes
are installed, they are likely to be in a hallway where a
closed door can render them invisible.

The inclusion of a tactile component is very important
when implementing fire and carbon monoxide safety pro-
tocols for individuals who are Deaf, hard of hearing or
deafblind. This is usually a bed shaker (also called a pillow
shaker) which is generally placed between the mattress and
the box spring and connected to a controller or receiver
unit at the bedside. The controllers and receiver units often
double as alarm clocks, and may include a strobe.

If audible-only alarms are used in a residence, it is
important to add units that detect the sound of an alarm,
and will activate a bed shaker. The devices must be close
enough to audible fire and CO alarms to activate; they may
also require a specific alert frequency and pattern, such as
the Temporal-3 (T3). In my opinion, the shortcoming of
these devices is that they are not actually detectors; they
merely listen for the sounds of alarms.

Some equipment manufacturers have created fire
panel transmitters and proprietary system- integrated fire/
CO alarms that give audible alerts and send triggering sig-
nals to remote receivers in different locations. In the
bedroom, the receiver flashes a built-in strobe and shakes
the bed, while in other rooms the visual signal is activated.
The components can also be integrated into a larger whole-
house system including entry and egress, as well as doorbell
and telephone alert systems.

To find out more about accessible fire and CO detec-
tors, please contact Jonathan.ODell@Massmail.state.ma.us.
Jonathan can provide equipment consultation, vendor
referrals, and information on the availability of potential
funding sources.

Firefighters and Hearing Loss

What did you say?

Firefighters with hearing loss? Sadly, it is not uncommon
for firefighters to have minor to moderate hearing loss.
While many people wear eye glasses easily, many are
embarrassed to use technology to help address hearing
loss. But hearing all of an important training program is
crucial. A firefighter’s life could depend on it.

The Department of Fire Services (DFS) has equipment
that amplifies a speaker’s voice and eliminates distracting
background noises. The equipment is available to all stu-
dents. For students, the devices include a battery-operated
receiver and headphones, or a neck loop for those who use
hearing aids. The presenter wears a microphone on a neck
loop that plugs into a transmitter they wear on a belt (like
a lavalier microphone). DES has seven receivers for stu-
dents. Any student or audience member can request the
assistive device by asking the instructor or the front desk to
contact Cynthia Ouellette or Jennifer Mieth. The devices
are currently housed in the Public Education Unit.
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NIOSH Study on Hearing

Loss Among Firefighters

In May 2013, the National

Institute for Occupational

Safety and Health (NIOSH)

issued a bulletin called Pro-

moting Hearing Health among

Firefighters  (http://www.cdc.
gov/niosh/docs/wp-solu-
tions/2013-142/pdfs/2013-142.pdf). The bulletin says,
“Exposure to high noise levels among fire fighters is well
documented and increases the risk for noise-induced hear-
ing loss. NIOSH recommends measures to promote better
hearing health through the use of quieter equipment, bet-
ter work practices, hearing protection devices, and
implementation of effective hearing loss prevention pro-
grams” It also cites a 2001 study of Massachusetts
firefighters that shows they suffered a greater than average
rate of significant hearing loss than the general population.


http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/wp-solutions/2013-142/pdfs/2013-142.pdf

Available Through Grant

With early warning from smoke or carbon monoxide (CO) alarms, people are better able to escape a fire or CO event.
Hearing the familiar beeping sound tells us there is an emergency and to respond quickly. We only have a few minutes to
get out of our homes - fire doubles in size every minute. Imagine that you cannot hear the sound of CO or smoke alarms.

Without a warning, someone who is deaf or hard of hearing could succumb to fire,
smoke or CO. But devices that alert people who are deaf and hard of hearing to
danger do exist.

Assistive Devices are Available

In 2013, the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (MDPH) partnered with
the Massachusetts Commission for Deaf and Hard of Hearing (MCDHH) and the
Department of Fire Services (DFS) and applied for a federal Assistance to Firefight-
ers Grant (AFG) to supply hearing impaired citizens with assistive alarms. Through
the MCDHH, independent living organizations were contacted to help identify cli-
ents in need of the technology. Fire safety education was also provided as part of the
requirements to receive the alarms. Both trained firefighters and agency staft went
into homes to install assistive devices that include:

« Bedside fire alarm and clock-alert device with a bed shaker. The device is not a
smoke alarm but detects the sound made by alarms that emit the Temporal-3 (T3)
signal. The bedside device emits a low-frequency signal which may be heard by
those with hearing loss. It also flashes an emergency signal on a digital screen. A
bed shaker that is placed under the mattress or pillow to shake a person awake is
an option. The device is electronic with battery backup. It must be synced with a
T3 alarm in order to operate.

CO alarm with a strobe

« Photoelectric smoke alarm with visual signaling. The  Phofoelectric smoke alarm with visual signaling

device gives an early warning of smoke with audio and
visual (flashing strobe light) signals. This electronic alarm
is plugged into an outlet with battery backup for the audible
alert only, not the strobe.

o CO alarm with a strobe. The device senses carbon monox-
ide and triggers both a strobe light and an audio alert. This
electronic alarm must be mounted on a wall. It has a battery
backup for the audible alert only, not the strobe.

The Department of Fire Services received 100 of each device,
as well as T3 smoke alarms to sync with the bed shakers.

So far, eighteen fire departments received and have in-
stalled more than 85 devices. The one-year grant successfully
provided new and better options for early fire warnings. One
person was thrilled to have the devices installed and wanted
to “pay it forward”. They have volunteered to help the fire de-
partment educate other seniors about fire safety.

A few alarms are still available from the Department of
Fire Services or the Massachusetts Commission for Deaf and
Hard of Hearing. At DFS, contact Cynthia Ouellette, Fire
Data and Public Education Coordinator at 978-567-3381

or Cynthia.ouellette@state.ma.us. At the MCDHH, contact  Bedside fire alarm and clock-alert device

Jonathan.O’Dell@state.ma.us or Debra.Lobsitz@Massmail. with a bed shaker
state.ma.us.
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The Massachusetts Fire Training
Council (MFTC) recently revised its
policies on withdrawal and readmission
for the Career Recruit Firefighter
Program, and on reasonable accom-
modations for both the Career and

Call/Volunteer Recruit Firefighter
Training programs. Unless a student is
dismissed for misconduct, a student
may have a second opportunity to

complete their Career Recruit Fire-
fighter Training under the new policy.
In addition, the reasonable accommo-
dation policy has been amended to
ensure consistency with Executive
Order 526. These revised policies were
recently sent to all fire chiefs.

DFS During the

Snowiest Winter. ..

Recruit firefighter training in Stow amid the drifts.

Vuona Wins Fire Chiefs’ Leadership Award

Captain Rick Tustin, president of the Massachusetts Asso-
ciation of Fire and Safety Educators (MaSAFE), presented
the Fire Chiefs' Leadership in Fire Education Award to
Shrewsbury Fire Chief James M. Vuona at the Fire Chiefs’
Association of Massachusetts’ (FCAM) annual professional
development conference on February 4 in Boxborough.
Citations were also presented to Oxford Fire Chief Sheri
Bemis, Granby Fire Chief Russell E. Anderson, Chicopee
Fire Chief Stephen S. Burkott, and Worcester Deputy Fire
Chief John Sullivan.

Tustin said, “Shrewsbury Fire Chief James Vuona has
changed the culture of his department through his empha-
sis on customer service, and has made fire education the
cornerstone of that change. His ability to communicate
and share this vision with his staff, residents and other
town agencies is an example of his leadership in commu-
nity risk reduction”

MaSAEE

MASS. ASSOCIATION OF SAFETY AND FIRE EDUCATORS

May 2015

Left to right: Cynthia Ouellette, Chief James M. Vuona, and Captain
Rick Tustin.

MaSAFE created the Fire Chiefs’ Leadership in Fire
Education Award to honor fire chiefs for excellence in lead-
ership of community fire education efforts. Often these
efforts take place behind the scenes and are not noticed. No
community fire educator can be successful without the sup-
port of the fire chief. Introducing the award, Capt. Tustin
said, “Fire chiefs know they not only have the responsibility
to respond to and suppress fires, but also to prevent them
from happening. There is no better way to accomplish this
than with prevention through education.”



Teams of high school students and media teachers received
awards on April 9, 2015 for their YouTube™ videos from
the 7th annual statewide YouTube™ Burn Awareness Video
Contest. State Fire Marshal Stephen D. Coan was joined by
contest co-sponsors Ron Meehan from the Massachusetts
Property Insurance Underwriting Association (MPIUA)
and Captain Rick Tustin, president of the Massachusetts
Association of Safety and Fire Educators (MaSAFE). The
ceremony was held at Shriners Hospital for Children® in
Boston. National Burn Awareness Week was February 1-7,
2015. The award ceremony was originally scheduled for
Burn Awareness Week but was postponed due to weather.

Winning Videos

Thirty-eight teams from nine high schools in Agawam,
Ayer-Shirley, Bedford, Mashpee, Sharon, Spencer, West-
ford, Worcester, and Williamstown participated in this
year’s contest. The first place winner was the team from
Mashpee High School with their dramatic video Make a
Plan. Second place went to Sharon High School students
for their video Silent Film. Third place winners were from
Nashoba Valley Regional High School for their video Fire

9" Annual

_ Northeast
Youth Firesetting

Conference

Burn Awareness Video Contest

Winners Announced

Fairy. The Department of Fire Services posted the winning
videos on its You Tube™ channel at www.youtube.com/
DFSOSFM.

Honorable Mentions

Three teams from Ayer-Shirley Regional High School,
Mt. Greylock High School and Sharon High School
received honorable mention for their entries.

State Fire Marshal Stephen D. Coan said, “YouTube™ is
ten years old and our contest is seven years old. The contest
is a great way for young people to learn about the conse-
quences of fires and burns without getting hurt, and more
importantly to teach others. There are too many internet
videos that don’t show the true impact of burn injuries.”
Recent headlines from across the country about teens
being injured participating in “The Fire Challenge” and
unthinking parents being charged for filming their kids
lighting themselves on fire, demonstrate how this problem
persists. Perhaps the fact that there have been no “fire chal-
lenge” burn injuries in Massachusetts says something
about the effectiveness of the video contest in our state. Or
perhaps we have just been lucky.

N2
/]

May 14-15, 2015

The Brandon School, MaSAFE, FirePsych, Inc., and
Telamon have joined forces to offer the ninth annu-
al Northeast Youth Firesetting Conference. This year’s
theme is Strength Training: Promoting Resilience in
Kids, Caregivers, and First Responders. The confer-
ence will be held May 14 - 15, 2015 at the Hampton
Inn in Natick, Massachusetts. Workshop highlights
include: Positive Psychology and Strength-Based
Assessments; Straight Talk About Stress: Resiliency
and Self-Care; and a Shriners Hospital program on
Supporting Families Through Crisis.

The conference is designed for professionals in
the fields of education, social services, fire services,
mental health, juvenile justice, burn care, and inju-
ry prevention. For more information and to regis-
ter online, visit www.brandonschool.org/pathways.

Hampton Inn - Natick, MA

educators

social services

s130
s160

Register 3 or more to save $10 per person!

fire service

mental health

burn care

www.brandonschool.org

&5
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Fire Safety

Public Education Conference in September

Mark your calendar for September 28 and 29, 2015 for the
21* annual Fire and Life Safety Education Conference,
Here We Grow Again. The conference will be held at the
Westford Regency Inn and Conference Center in West-
ford, Massachusetts. See the back cover of this All Hands
Herald for more information.

Grill Fire Safety

Memorial Day is the traditional launch of the summer bar-
becue season. It is also when the number of grill fires
begins to rise. In 2013, there were 85 grill fires reported to
the Massachusetts Fire Incident Reporting System
(MFIRS). The fires caused two civilian injuries and an esti-
mated dollar loss of $300,000. Three-quarters (75%) of all
grill fires happen between May and September. The
Department of Fire Services has developed a new Grilling
Safety FireFactor. Visit www.mass.gov/dfs, click on Public
Education, then Fire Safety Topics and Flyers.

Safety Tips for Grill Use
o Inspect grills for leaks and cracks.
o Check to make sure all connections are tight and secure

Grilling Safety

Many people enjoy barbecuing in the summer months. But
when grills are not used safely, things can go horribly wrong.
Between 2009 and 2013 Massachusetts fire departments
responded to 356 fires involving grills, hibachis, and barbecues.
These fires caused 16 civilian injuries, one firefighter injury,
and $2.4 million in property damage. For safe grilling, always
follow your owner's manual and practice the safety tips
provided here.

Safety First

+ Always grill outdoors.

 Place grills away from the house and deck railings. Make sure grills are not under eaves
or overhanging branches.

« You should not use a gas or charcoal grill on any porch or balcony. Electric grills that
have no open flame may be used.

+ Gas grills can be used on first floor decks or patios, only if there is an outdoor stairway
to the ground, or it is at ground level.

« Grills cannot be used on fire escapes.

« Keep all matches, lighters and lighter fluid away from children.

+ Keep children and pets three feet away from grills. Children should never play near
grills or propane cylinders.

Gas Grill Safety

Gas grills are safe and convenient when they are assembled and used properly. Gas
grills are fueled by liquid propane which is pressurized and requires special handling
and storage.

Safe Cooking
+ Make sure that the lid of a gas grill is open when you light it. Propane can build up
inside and when ignited, the lid may blow off.
« If you smell gas while cooking, turn off and get away from the grill. Call 911 from a
safe location. Do not move the grill.
« Always turn off the burners and close the propane cylinder when done cooking.
« Never leave a burning grill unattended.

(over) 2

(@) FireFactors

315

Office of the State Fire Marshal + www.mass.gov/dfs « (978) 567-3380

before lighting a gas grill for the first time this season.
Using a brush, apply a soapy solution made of one part
dish liquid and one part water to the tank connection. If
the solution bubbles, you have a leak that needs repair.

o Check for and replace cracked hoses.

o Place grills well away from the exterior of a house (ten
feet), deck railings and out from underneath eaves and
overhanging branches to prevent a grill fire from ignit-
ing a building.

 Never use a grill indoors.

+ Keep children and pets three feet away from grilling,
creating a circle of safety.

o Never leave a burning grill unattended.

» Never use gasoline on any grill.

No Grills on Balconies or Fire Escapes

Unless you live in a single-family home, you may not use a

charcoal or gas grill on a porch or balcony. Electric grills

have no open flames and can be used instead.

o Never use a grill on a fire escape.

o Gas grills can be used on the first floor deck or porch of
a single family home only if there is an outside stairway
to the ground.

o Never bring a propane tank into a house.

o Keep your grill clean by removing grease and fat from
grills and trays below the grill.

o If you smell gas while cooking, immediately get away
from the grill and call the fire department. Do not move
the grill.

o If the flame goes out, turn the grill and gas off and wait
15 minutes before relighting.

Mulch Fire Safety

Mulch is a combustible material that can be easily ignited
by improperly discarded smoking materials. Hundreds of
small and large fires are started this way every year. Small
outdoor mulch fires can quickly spread to buildings and a
mulch fire can be well underway before a smoke alarm
sounds or a sprinkler system is activated. The DFS Mulch
Fire Safety webpage has information for fire prevention
officers, property and building owners, nurseries and land-
scaping companies, and the public on the use and storage
of mulch. The webpage includes an informative Mulch
FireFactor.

May 2015

Continued on next page


http://www.mass.gov/eopss/docs/dfs/osfm/pubed/flyers/ffgrillingsafety2015-legalapproved.pdf
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http://www.mass.gov/eopss/docs/dfs/osfm/pubed/flyers/mulchfires2015.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eopss/docs/dfs/osfm/pubed/flyers/mulchfires2015.pdf

| eave Fireworks to the Professionals

The possession and use of all fireworks by private citizens is illegal in Massachusetts. This includes Class C fireworks

which are sometimes falsely called “safe and sane fireworks." Class C fireworks include sparklers, party poppers,

snappers, firecrackers, spinners, cherry bombs and more. One example of the danger of these so-called safe fireworks

is that sparklers burn at 1800°F.

July 4th is No Holiday for Fire Departments

Between 2004 and 2013, there were 802 major fire and explosion incidents involving illegal fireworks reported to the

Massachusetts Fire Incident Reporting System (MFIRS). These incidents caused 14 civilian injuries, two fire service
injuries, and an estimated dollar loss of $2 million (high considering most fireworks fires are outdoor brush fires). The
majority of these fireworks fires and injuries occur over the holiday weekend each year. During this time, 49 people

were treated at Massachusetts emergency rooms for severe burn injuries from fireworks (burns covering 5% or more of

the body) according to the Massachusetts Burn Injury Reporting System (M-BIRS). Seventy-two percent of the victims
were children and youths under age 25. Many of these victims are scarred for life.

Outreach to Law Enforcement, Community Groups and Citizens
May is a good time for fire departments to reach out to local law enforcement, remind them of the fireworks law in the

Commonwealth and develop a plan to work together over the July 4th holiday weekend. Some communities send letters

to homeowner associations (often around beaches and lakes) where there have been past problems with illegal fire-

works. Prevention and education in communities ahead of time can help to reduce the danger of this holiday.

During the July 4th holiday, fire departments are busy both supervising permitted fireworks displays, and respond-

ing to fires and emergency medical incidents. Illegal fireworks cause fires and injuries and are also used in crimes

including the 2013 Marathon bombing. We must work hard to prevent the flow of illegal fireworks into our state and

to educate the public about the dangers of fireworks.

Visit www.mass.gov/dfs and search for Leave Fireworks to the Professionals. The page includes a wide range of

information for both the fire service and the public.

Springtime Fire Safety, continued from previous page

May is Electrical Safety Month
Electrical fire safety is a critical area for
public education because these fires are a
leading cause of fire deaths. In 2014, elec-
trical fires were the leading cause of all resi-
dential fire deaths and the number one cause
of fire deaths for seniors.*

The Department of Fire Services has re-
sources for fire educators and the public on
electrical fire safety at www.mass.gov/dfs.
The U.S. Fire Administration (http://www.
usfa.fema.gov/prevention/outreach/electrical.
html) and the National Fire Protection Asso-
ciation (http://www.nfpa.org/) also have excel-
lent public education materials and videos on
electrical safety on their websites.

* 2014 data is preliminary.
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Electrical Fires: A Leading
Cause of Fire Deaths

From 2009-2013, Massachusetts fire depart-
ments reported 2,694 home fires caused by
electrical problems. These fires caused 35
civilian deaths, 1 fire service death, 138 civil-
ian injuries, 311 fire service injuries and an
estimated dollar loss of $122.6 million. The
average loss per fire was $45,499, Electrical
fires were the leading cause of fire deaths in
2011 and they were tied for the second cause
in 2012 and 2013.

Potential Warning
Signs and Hazards
Call the fire department immediately if you
have any of these warning signs:
« Arcs, sparks or short circuits;
« Sizzling or buzzing sound;
« Odors, vague smell of something burning
Firefighters can use thermal imaging technol-
ogy to see excessive heat inside the walls.
Call a professional electrician soon if you
have any of these warning signs:
« Frequently blown fuses or tripped

circuit breakers;

+ Dim or flickering lights, bulbs that wear
outtoo fast;

« Overheated plugs, cords or switches;

« Shock or mild tingle - more than normal
static electricity;

« Loose plugs; or

+ Unusually warm or faulty
outlets or switches.

Look around for these hazards in your

home and correct them:

+ Overloaded outlets - more than one
appliance cord plugged into one wall
outlet

« Cords pinched behind furniture like
couches or bureaus.

+ Overloaded power strips. They should
only be used with a few low current
devices such as electronics.

« Lamps or fixtures with light bulbs higher
than the recommended wattage. Most
lamps recommend 60 watts. Be careful
where you use higher wattage
light bulbs.

+ Electrical cords underneath rugs, carpet
or furniture. Move them to reduce the
tisk of fire from overheating due to
worn insulation

+ Cords with frayed wires or cracked
insulation. Replace them with new ones
having a certification label from an
independent testing laboratory.

+ An extension cord that is not properly
rated for the appliance it powers. Typical
"lamp cord" extension cords cannot
carry the electrical current needed for
appliances such as space heaters or
air conditioners.

+ Cords or wires that are nailed into
place. This can cause electrical shorts
and arcing.

« Indoor appliances and cords being
used outdoors.

\
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Fire Investigation News

This winter brought a large number of fatal fires to Massa-
chusetts and devastated the families involved. Fatal fires
also take a toll on public safety personnel. From October 1,
2014 to March 31, 2015, the Fire and Explosion Investiga-
tion section responded to 25 fatal fires and one explosion
that resulted in 27 deaths. On March 31, Det. Lt. Paul Zip-
per coordinated with the Massachusetts Firefighting
Academy to sponsor a 3-hour presentation entitled Psy-
chological Effects of Working a Fatal Fire Scene. Over 120
people attended the seminar which provided public safety
professionals an understanding of how responding to fatal
fires can affect them. The seminar covered current research
into the psychological effects of working fatal fire scenes
and included a methodology of how to perform duties
while navigating a fatality. The speaker was Special Agent
William Visnovske who is a certified Fire Investigator with
the Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and
Explosives (ATF).

Chelmsford Fatal Fire Ruled Accidental

The December 30, 2014 fatal fire at 20 Summer Street,
Chelmsford was accidental. It was, most probably caused
by the improper disposal of smoking materials. The fire
took the life of 76-year old Marion Guarino, a resident of
Summer Place, an independent senior living residence.
Fire sprinklers contained the fire to a single apartment.
The fire started on the victims bed. She was seriously
burned and died later that day in the hospital. The fire was
jointly investigated by the Chelmsford Fire and Police
Departments, and State Police assigned to both the Office
of the State Fire Marshal and to the Office of the Middlesex
District Attorney.

Cause of Holden Fatal Fire Self-Immolation

The October 26, 2014 fatal fire at 18 Farragut Way, Holden
was started by self-immolation. The victim was found in a
closet under the basement stairs, doused in gasoline, with
a gas can at his feet. There were no signs of foul play. The
fire spread from the basement through the home. Two sep-
arate explosions were reported and are believed to be from
gasoline vapors igniting inside of enclosed containers such

Candle Fires
In 2013, 135 Massachusetts candle fires

caused two civilian deaths, 25 civilian
injuries, six firefighter injuries and an
estimated dollar loss of $4.3 million.

May 2015

as heating ductwork. Firefighters found the front door blown
outwards and had to move it to gain entry to the house.

The fire was jointly investigated by the Holden Fire
Department, Holden Police Department and State Police
assigned to both the Office of the State Fire Marshal and to
the Office of the Worcester District Attorney.

One firefighter suffered minor injuries fighting the
fire. Arriving firefighters found a car inside the garage but
no occupants outdoors. They had to assume that someone
might be trapped inside and focused on search and rescue
first and fire suppression second, which always increases
the risk to firefighters.

Self-immolation is sadly not an uncommon cause of
fatal fires. In 2014, five people died from self-immolation
or in fires they intentionally set themselves. In 2013, four
people died in similar fires. In 2012, self-immolation was
the leading cause of fire death; twelve people lost their lives
in these fires.

Candle Ignited Palmer Fatal Fire
The cause of the fatal February 9, 2015 fire at 1047 Pleasant
Street, Palmer was a candle. The fire took the life of Chris-
tine Grinaski, age 53, who lived in the basement studio
apartment where the fire originated.

Ms. Grinaski notified a neighbor of the fire in her
apartment saying a candle had started it, and asked her to
call the fire department. The neighbor barely made it out
alive. Like most people who die in fires, Ms. Grinaski was
overcome by smoke.

Investigators found evidence of a melted candle where
the fire started in the living room and eliminated all other
possible causes. The fire was jointly investigated by the
Palmer Fire Department, the Palmer Police Department,
State Police assigned to both the Office of the State Fire
Marshal and to the Office of the Hampden District Attor-
ney. Assistance was received from the Code Compliance
Unit in the Department of Fire Services’ Division of Fire
Safety and State Police Crime Scene Services.

The fire displaced 33 people living in the 20-unit
apartment building. Hard-wired, interconnected smoke
alarms in the common hallways activated and alerted resi-
dents, but it is unclear if the battery-operated smoke alarms
in the individual apartments worked. After the fire, many
of the smoke alarms that had not been destroyed by the fire
were found to have missing or dead batteries.

Adams Fatal Fire Caused by Candle
The second fatal fire in two weeks that was caused by a can-
dle took place on February 18, 2015 fire at 5 West Street,

Continued on next page



Fire Deaths High in 2014

57 Civilian and 2 Fire Service Deaths
Preliminary figures show 57 civilian fire deaths
and two fire service deaths in 2014. This is a 30%
increase from 44 civilian fire deaths in 2013. The
main reason for the increase in fatalities was two
fires that each killed seven people: a private jet
crash at Hanscom Field in Bedford that killed
all seven passengers; and an electrical fire in a
Lowell apartment building that killed seven res-
idents. The 57 deaths in 2014 was the highest
number of civilian fire deaths since 2007 when
61 people died in fires. This chart shows both the
number of fire deaths and the average number of
fire deaths over the past five years. 2014 deaths
are 21% higher than the five-year average. (2014
figures are preliminary.)

2015 Fire Deaths

Massachusetts Fire Deaths, 2010 - 2014

® Number of fire deaths
@ 5-year average

2010 ' 2011 ' 2012 ' 2013 ' 2014 '

Unfortunately, the winter of 2014 -15 continues to be a difficult one with a higher than average number of fire deaths so
far. As of March 31, Massachusetts already had 19 civilian fire deaths. Twelve of the victims were men and seven were
women. Older adults, people over the age of 65, account for nine of the deaths.

Fire Investigation News, continued from previous page

Adams. The fire took the life of Eunice St. Hilaire, the
88-year old resident of the home.

The fire started on the nightstand in the woman’s first
floor bedroom. Remnants of a candle were found in the
area of origin and all other possible causes were ruled out.

A life alert-type system that included a connection to
a smoke alarm notified the fire department of the blaze.
The victim lived in the home alone.

Chief Goyette said, “We had to dig out the nearest
hydrant but had sufficient water from the engine until the
hydrant connection was made. If it had been a larger fire,
digging out the hydrant might have caused a delay at a
time when seconds count”

The fire was jointly investigated by the Adams Fire
Department, the Adams Police Department and State
Police assigned to both the Office of the State Fire Marshal
and to the Office of Berkshire District Attorney. Assistance
was received from an electrical expert, the Code Compli-
ance Unit of the Department of Fire Services’ Division of
Fire Safety and State Police Crime Scene Services.

Arson Ruled Out in Waltham Fatal Fire

The February 16, 2015 fire at 67 Ash Street, Waltham took
the life of 49-year old Eric Miller and his 75-year old
mother, Elizabeth Miller. Investigators have ruled out
arson, cooking, heating and electrical as possible causes of
the fire that started in Mr. Miller’s second floor bedroom.

He was known to be a heavy smoker and investigators can-
not rule out the improper disposal of smoking materials as
a possible cause. However, despite eliminating several pos-
sible ignition scenarios, investigators could not pinpoint a
definitive cause.

The fire was jointly investigated by the Waltham Fire
Department, Waltham Police Department and State Police
assigned to both the Office of the State Fire Marshal and
the Office of the Middlesex District Attorney. Assistance
was received from an electrical expert and the Code
Compliance Unit of the Department of Fire Services’ Fire
Safety Division.

New E-K9

in Training

The State Police Bomb
Squad has a new explo-
sive detection canine in
training. Dash will join
the eight other E-K9s in
the unit once he and his
handler, have been cer-
tified. To see the rest of
the explosive detection
canine team, visit www.
mass.gov/dfs and search

for canines.
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Summary of

Massachusetts Fireworks Law. |~ |
MGL Chapter 148, S. 39 N/ﬁ;

— ﬁ
What does the law prohibit? (%\ \\

It is illegal for private citizens to use, possess, or sell fireworks in Massachusetts, or to purchase them
legally elsewhere and then transport them into the state. The law prohibits any article designed to
produce a visible or audible effect

Sale of fireworks /\ //

/'

Penalty: Fine or imprisonment or both, and confiscation /‘ ev

Fine: $100 to $1000
Imprisonment: Maximum of 1 year «

Seizure of fireworks: Mandatory /
Who can arrest? Any officer qualified to serve criminal process. //m

Must an officer arrest? No. Statute says the officer may arrest without a warrapt.

\

//_5%\/\

’_\

’

Must an officer seize the fireworks? Yes, the statute says the officer shall seize any flreworks.

Possession, use, cause to explode of fireworks

Penalty: Fine and confiscation only
Fine: $10 to $100
Seizure of fireworks: Mandatory

Who can seize? Any officer qualified to serve criminal process.

May an officer arrest? For possession, no. The statute only provides for a fine upon conviction and
automatic confiscation of fireworks.

Must an officer seize the fireworks? Yes, the statute says the officer shall seize any fireworks.

Seizure
Can people get their fireworks back? No. If convicted, the fireworks are forfeited to the state.

What does an officer do with confiscated fireworks? During business hours, contact the State
Police Bomb Squad at (978) 567-3310. Notify them immediately for large quantities, commercial
grade, or deteriorated materials. After hours, call (508) 820-2121 and ask for the Troop Duty Officer
in your area. An on-call Bomb Squad Officer will arrange for pick-up.

FireFactors
Office of the State Fire Marshal « www.mass.gov/dfs « (978) 567-3380
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MFA Graduations

Career Recruit Firefighter Training

Class #222

On January 16, 2015 members of Class #222 of the
Career Recruit Firefighter Training program graduat-
ed after nine weeks of training. The 23 graduates, two
women and 21 men, represent the 12 fire departments
of Attleboro, Belchertown, Framingham, Hingham,
Lowell, Medway, Newton, Salem, Sandwich, Saugus,
Wakefield and Wellfleet.

Class #223

On February 6, 2015, members of Class #223 of the
Career Recruit Firefighter Training program graduated.
The 22 graduates, all men, represent the 13 fire depart-
ments of Arlington, Boxborough, Canton, Concord,
East Bridgewater, Hanson, Haverhill, Holyoke, Littleton,
Marshfield, Stoughton, Watertown and Wilmington.

Class #224

On February 27, 2015, members of Class #224 of the
Career Recruit Firefighter program graduated. The 24
graduates, all men, represent the 18 fire departments
of Billerica, Clinton, Cotuit, Dracut, Dudley, Hudson,
Hyannis, Ludlow, Mashpee, Maynard, Methuen, North
Reading, Peabody, Plymouth, Taunton, Weston, Wilm-
ington, and Woburn.

Class # 225

On March 20, 2015 members of Class #225 of the
Career Recruit Firefighter program graduated. The 25
graduates, 23 men and two women, represent the 14 fire
departments of Acton, Centerville-Osterville-Marston
Mills, Duxbury, Easton, Hanover, Lancaster, Leomin-
ster, Methuen, Nantucket, North Attleboro, Sandwich,
Saugus, Scituate, and Stoughton.

Class # 226

On April 10, 2015, members of Class #226 of the Career
Recruit Firefighter Training program graduated. The 23
graduates, all men, represent the 12 fire departments of
Acton, Arlington, Centerville-Osterville-Marston Mills,
Concord, Fitchburg, Needham, Norton, Tewksbury,
West Springfield, Westford, Westminster, and Woburn.

Classes 223, 224, and 225 trained during
the snowiest winter on record. Some
classes took pictures on the huge
snow piles in the drill yard. All classes
gained valuable experience in the
extreme weather conditions.

Class #222

Class #223

Class #224

Class #225

Class #226
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Standp

Hose valve reducer with incorrect thread

Checking for correct pressure

Flow testing

Inspections

e System

Inspection and Testing

In recent years the fire service has become better at ensuring that a new
building’s fire alarm, sprinkler, and kitchen suppression systems are in-
spected and properly tested prior to issuing a Certificate of Occupancy.
With all the attention being given to the fire alarm, sprinkler, and kitchen
suppression systems, the inspection and testing of the standpipe system
is often overlooked. This article describes inspection and testing criteria
for a standpipe system.

Most installed standpipe systems are specifically designed for the fire
department’s use and it is in the fire service’s best interest to ensure that
the system is inspected and tested before it is needed.

For new construction, the Massachusetts State Building Code (780
CMR) Section 905 sets the requirements for when standpipe systems
must be installed. 780 CMR refers to the 2013 Edition of NFPA 14: In-
stallation of Standpipe and Hose Systems for the system’s installation cri-
teria. NFPA 14: Chapter 11 contains the standpipe system’s inspection,
and acceptance testing criteria.

Design Issues

Four major issues commonly found during final standpipe system in-

spection are really design issues that should have been addressed prior

to installation because of the time, cost, and inconvenience in resolving
them later:

1. The location of the standpipe system in the stairway, whether on the
floor landing or the intermediate floor landing, is at the discretion of
the fire department.

2. Thelocation of the hose connection must not be blocked or obstruct-
ed by the opening of a door.

3. A fire hydrant must be within 100 feet of the fire department connec-
tion unless the fire department permits otherwise.

4. Atleast one hose connection shall be located at the highest landing of
stairway with stair access to the roof, or on a flat roof.

firefighter’s gloved hand can easily operate the valve’s
handwheel. The valve must not be too close to the bottom

During a standpipe system inspection, each hose valve
must be exercised to verify ease of operation and full open-
ing/closing. Every hose valve must have a cap to protect
the valve’s thread. The valve’s position must be assessed to
reduce kinking of the hose; a downward 45° position is
acceptable for many departments.

Hose Valves in Cabinets
Hose valves in cabinets must be located far enough away
from the wall or inside of the cabinet to ensure that a

May 2015

of the cabinet, preventing easy attachment of a hose to the
valve. The position of the valve in the cabinet must be eval-
uated to reduce kinking but also to ensure that the cabinet
door can be fully closed.

Signage

There must be signage on all valves stating the purpose of
the valve and what portion of the system is controlled by
the valve. All hose valve cabinets must have signage

Continued on next page



Canine Appreciation Day

February 23 was K-9 Appreciation Day for the State Police
Fire and Explosion Investigation Section (F&EIS) assigned
to the Department of Fire Service. The event was an oppor-
tunity to thank the Connecticut State Police, who train our
teams, the Massachusetts-Rhode Island FAIR Plan for
their support of the program since its beginning, the State
Police chemist who tests evidence the dogs help to collect,
the State Police Association of Massachusetts, and the State
Fire Marshal for their support of the program.

Since 1990, 37 dogs and 28 handlers of accelerant and
explosive detection dogs have served the state. Currently,
the F&EIS has six accelerant detection dogs working with
State Police fire investigators and nine explosives detection
dogs working with State Police bomb technicians assigned

Standpipe System, continued from previous page

to the Office of the State Fire Marshal. Each K9 team is
trained by the Massachusetts State Police in conjunction
with the Connecticut State Police using a food reward
method. Because the dogs must work to eat, the handlers
train with them every single day. The dogs live with their
handlers and families, even after they retire from duty.

K9 teams respond to fire or explosion incidents around
the clock and across the state. They help detect potential
evidence of arson or malicious use of explosives.

Al F&EIS canines were purchased by the Massachusetts
Property Insurance Underwriting Association (MPIUA),
which is also known as the Massachusetts and Rhode Island
FAIR Plan (Fair Access to Insurance Requirements) for the
Office of the State Fire Marshal.

indicating the cabinet’s contents. A weatherproof sign must
be adjacent to the fire department connection indicating
the pressure required to achieve the demands of
the system.

Testing
Piping between the fire department connection and the
check valve must be hydrostatically tested at 200 psi.

The standpipe must be flow-tested to ensure that actual
system demand has been provided for and the flow meets
the design specifications. If the fire department’s apparatus
pump was used to determine the required flow and pres-
sure, either an apparatus or a portable pump must be used
to verify that the flow can be achieved through the fire
department connection.

Check for Proper Hose Thread

Every hose connection and reducer must be checked to
confirm that it has the proper hose thread. Over half of
standpipe installations seen by the Division of Fire Safety
have at least one connection with the incorrect thread. The
most effective way to confirm the proper thread is to use
your own department’s double-female fittings.

For concerns, questions, or more information, contact
the Division of Fire Safety’s fire protection specialists.
Communities north of the Massachusetts Turnpike should
contact Jen Hoyt at 978-567-3376 or Jennifer. Hoyt@state.
ma.us . For communities south of, or on the Massachusetts
Turnpike, contact Jake Nunnemacher at 978-567-3377 or
jacob.nunnemacher@state.ma.us.
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2015 License Examination Schedule

The Department of Fire Services’ Division of Fire Safety
issues licenses, permits and certificates of competency
(“licenses”) to people and companies engaged in fireworks,
blasting, explosives, special effects, cannon and mortar fir-
ing, commercial cooking exhaust system cleaning and
inspection, special hazard systems, portable fire extin-
guishers, marine fueling facilities and above ground tanks.

To see the licensing status of an individual or
company, visit the DFS License Look Up at http://elicense.
chs.state.ma.us/DFS_Verification/Search.aspx or www.
mass.gov/dfs and click on Licensingand DFS License Look-Up.

For information about licensing issues, contact
the Licensing Desk by phone at 978-567-3700 or by email
at dfs.licensing@dfs.state.ma.us.

License Exam Schedule

« Applicants must be pre-registered to sit for exams. Com-
pleted applications must be received by 5:00 p.m. on the
deadline date listed below. Application forms are avail-
able at www.mass.gov/dfs then click on Licensing. If your
application is received after the deadline, you will not be
allowed to take the exam.

o All exams start promptly at 10:00 a.m. unless other-
wise noted.

o License exams are given at DFS in Stow at 1 State Road,
Stow, MA and at the Northampton office, 1 Prince Street,
Northampton, MA. In Stow, please park in the remote
lot at the top of the hill. In Northampton, park only in
visitor spaces. Directions: www.mass.gov/dfs.

Fire Suppression, 10:00 a.m.,
Commercial Hood Cleaning, 1:00 p.m.

July 29, 2015 (Wednesday)
October 28, 2015 (Wednesday)

July 10, 2015 (Friday)
October 9, 2015 (Friday)

Cannon/Mortar, Fireworks,
Special Effects, Blasting,
Blasting R & D

May 20, 2015 (Wednesday)
August 26, 2015 (Wednesday)
November 18, 2015 (Wednesday)

May 1, 2015 (Friday)
August 7, 2015 (Friday)
October 30, 2015 (Friday)

Brush Fires

Springtime brings brush fires to Mas-
sachusetts. April is the peak of the
Massachusetts brush fire season as

Massachusetts Brush Fires, 2010 - 2014

2014
® 5-year average

v

illustrated in this graph. On average, 1400 —
the Commonwealth has 107% more
brush fires in April than it does in the 1200 —
next busiest month, May. However, in
2014 there were only 39% more brush 1000 —
fires in April than in May.

Every spring, wind and weath- 800
er conditions combine to elevate the
hazards of brush fires. Once the snow 600 —|
melts it reveals dried grass, leaves, and
fallen branches. Warm winds, low hu- 400 —
midity and sunshine make them tin-
der dry, providing the fuel for brush 200 —
and wood fires.

DFS has an Open Burning FireFac- 0T

an

tor that fire departments can hand out
with open burning permits to educate
the public about safe practices.
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www.mass.gov/dfs
www.mass.gov/dfs
http://www.mass.gov/eopss/docs/dfs/osfm/pubed/flyers/open-burning-fire-factors.pdf

MFIRS Coding Tips

for Wildland, Mulch, Grill and Drug Fires

Fire vs. Wildland Fire Modules

In Massachusetts, we strongly recommend using the Fire
Module for brush and outdoor fires. The Wildland Module
is an optional module that may be used for any of the fol-
lowing incident types: 140-143, 160, 170-173, 561, 631 and
632, but is really designed for reporting the large scale
wildland fires seen in the western part of the country, not
the smaller woodland and brush fires typically seen in New
England. Third party software should offer the option of
using the Fire Module instead of the Wildland Module. Ifa
software program does not, contact the vendor to remind
them that they must.

Permit Fires and Unauthorized Burning

When responding to a permit fire that requires extinguish-

ment, code it as an Incident Type = 631: Authorized

controlled fire or 632: Prescribed fire. If the fire expands
beyond the focus of the permit, then wuse an

Incident Type = 140-143.

o Do not use Cause of Ignition = 1: Intentional. This is
reserved for arsons.

o Use either Cause of Ignition = 2: Unintentional or 4: Act
of Nature depending on the reason the fire got out of
control.

When responding to an illegal burn use

Incident Type = 561: Unauthorized burning.

Mulch Fires
Mulch fires should be coded as Incident Type = 140: Natu-
ral vegetation fire, other & Item Ist Ignited = 72: Light
vegetation (not crop) — Includes mulch, grass, leaves, nee-
dles, chaff, & compost.

Do not code any fires as Incident Type = 100: Fire,
other, unless it does not fit into any of the other incident
types between 111 and 173.

Outside Rubbish Fires

Code outside rubbish fires as Incident Type = 150-155. Do
not use Incident Type = 118: Confined trash or rubbish fire
in a structure. Outside rubbish fires also do not require a
Fire Module.

Grill Fires

The incident type for grill fires depends on the situation.
They can be building fires if they are on a deck or an adja-
cent patio (111 or 120 - 123) or in a structure that is not a
building (112). They can be motor vehicle fires if someone
is grilling in the back of pickup truck while tailgating, pic-
nicking or camping (130 - 138). If the grill is not on

something attached to a building and it is the only thing
that is burning, i.e. does not start a natural or cultivated
vegetation fire, then it would be an outside equipment fire
(162). If the grill is away from structures and vehicles but it
starts a natural or cultivated vegetation fire use these inci-
dent type codes: 140 - 143 or 170 - 173.

Under Equipment Involved in Ignition on the Fire
Module use the code 643 - Grill, hibachi, or barbecue.
Then complete the equipment subfields Power Source
and Portability.

Fires Involving Illegal Drugs
It is important for the fire service to track drug-related fires
and drug operations that are discovered during fire sup-
pression in order to identify risks to residents and first
responders. This could include marijuana grows, clandes-
tine meth labs, and hash oil fires. Many states where
marijuana has been legalized or decriminalized have had
an increase in hash oil fires that can include flammable
gases. Despite recent changes in Massachusetts law regard-
ing marijuana, the only codes available in MFIRS to track
these issues deal with illegal drugs, but should be used any-
way until the National Fire Incident Reporting System
(NFIRS) codes catch up. These codes are in Fire Suppres-
sion Factor, a less frequently used field, and the Arson
Module (if relevant).

Code Fire Suppression Factors on the Fire Module as
222 - Illegal and clandestine drug operation. Also code
Other Investigative Information on the Arson Module as
5 — Illicit drug activity. If the fire was set to destroy the
operation and/or the evidence also code Suspected
Motivation Factors on the Arson Module as 64 — Destroy
records/evidence.
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Department of Fire Services
Commonwealth of Massachusetts www.mass.gov/dfs

978-567-3100 n a

Save the Date

September 28 - 29, 2015

21t Annual
Fire & Life Safety
Education Conference

Here We

Grow
Again

Presented by the Department
of Fire Services and the
Massachusetts Public Fire
& Life Safety Education
Task Force

Westford Regency Inn and
Conference Center
Westford, Massachusetts

For registration information
+ Email cynthia.ouellette@state.ma.us
Include “conference” in the subject line
« Visit www.mass.gov/dfs under What's New

Share conference ideas,
photos and information.
Post on Facebook,
Instagram and Twitter.

#MAFLSEConf15


http://www.mass.gov/eopss/docs/dfs/osfm/pubed/conference/savethedatecolorfinal.pdf

