In 2004 the Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security developed five homeland security planning regions to receive U.S. Department of Homeland Security grant funds designated to support local governments and first responders.

Each region has a multi-disciplinary and multi-jurisdictional advisory council of first responders to ensure these funds meet the planning, organization, equipment, training, and exercise needs of the region. Funded activities must be regional in scope and must build or enhance capabilities that enable a region to prevent, protect against, mitigate, respond to, and recover from the threats and hazards that pose the greatest risks.

More information on the activities of these councils is available through the links below:

Metro Boston Homeland Security Planning Region

The region’s advisory council, known as the Jurisdictional Points of Contact, receives fiduciary support from the Boston Office of Emergency Management.

Northeast Homeland Security Planning Region

Northeast Homeland Security Regional Advisory Council

Southeast Homeland Security Planning Region

Southeast Region Homeland Security Advisory Council

Central Homeland Security Planning Region

Central Region Homeland Security Advisory Council

Western Homeland Security Planning Region

Western Region Homeland Security Advisory Council

The current fiduciary agent for the Northeast, Southeast, Central, and Western Regions is the Metropolitan Area Planning Council.

Map of Five Homeland Security Planning Regions