Chapter 6: Section 116 of the Massachusetts General Laws establishes a Municipal Police Training Committee, which is tasked with setting “policies and standards for the training of municipal police officers and candidates for appointment as municipal police officers.” In addition, “[t]he municipal police training committee shall approve or disapprove municipal police training schools and shall make rules and regulations subject to the approval of the governor and council, for such schools, relating to courses of study, attendance requirements, equipment and facilities and qualifications of instructors.” Moreover, the committee provides policy guidance to the MPTC staff and advises the Secretary of the Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS) on personnel and budget issues related to the operation of the MPTC. The committee is comprised of chiefs of police representing Western, Central, Northeastern and Southeastern Massachusetts and the MBTA Transit Police. It also includes representatives from the Massachusetts Police Association, the Boston Police Department, the State Police, the Attorney General’s Office, and the EOPSS as voting members.

Voting Member

Area of Representation

E-mail Address

Term Expires

Chief James Hicks, Chairman
Natick Police Department
Northeast Chiefs of Policehicks@natickpolice.comAugust 2013
Anne P. Powers, Undersecretary for Law Enforcement, EOPSSExecutive Office of Public Safety
and Security
Anne.P.Powers@MassMail.state.ma.usJanuary 2015
Chief Scott P. Livingstone
Amherst Police Department
Western Massachusetts
Chiefs of Police
livingstones@amherstma.govAugust 2013
Chief Michael BotieriSoutheastern Massachusetts
Chiefs of Police
chiefbotieri@plymouthpolice.com 
Chief Francis Fox
Belchertown Police Department
Massachusetts Chiefs of Policeffox@belchertown.orgSeptember 2013
Chief Mark Leahy
Northborough Police Department
Central Massachusetts Chiefs of Policemleahy@town.northborough.ma.usAugust 2013
Deputy Chief Gloria Andrews-Ward
MBTA Transit Police
Massachusetts Bay Transportation
Authority
gandrews@mbta.comSeptember 2017
Attorney James O’Brien
Office of the Attorney General
Attorney General's OfficeJim.O'brien@ago.state.ma.usJanuary 2014
Captain Robert McGrath
Massachusetts State Police
Massachusetts State Policerobert.mcgrath@pol.state.ma.usApril 2015
Lieutenant Michael Chapman
Boston Police Department
Boston Police DepartmentChapmanM.bpd@cityofboston.gov

April 2014

Officer Joseph Vieira
Dartmouth Police Department
Massachusetts Police Associationjv100@comcast.netSeptember 2016