Salem Woman Arraigned on Assault to Murder and Arson Charges
Tanicia Goodwin, 25, 12 Pope Street, Salem, pleaded not guilty to two counts of armed assault with intent to murder, two counts of assault and battery with a dangerous weapon and one count of arson today in Salem District Court. Judge Robert Brennan ordered her held without bail pending a dangerousness hearing on March 26, 2012.
Yesterday evening, Goodwin allegedly set her apartment on fire after covering all of the vents and sprinklers and removing the door knob from inside the front door. She fled the apartment with her 3 year-old daughter. Salem Fire Department responded and found her 8 year old son inside the apartment with a deep laceration on his neck. He was taken to NSMC/Salem Hospital and then airlifted to Boston Children’s Hospital where he underwent surgery.
The 3 year-old girl was found in a neighbor’s apartment, also with a laceration on her neck. She was taken to NSMC/Salem Hospital and then to Boston Children’s Hospital by ambulance. She also underwent surgery. No further information on either child’s medical condition will be released due to HIPPA privacy laws.
The matter remains under investigation by Massachusetts State Police detectives assigned to the Essex District Attorney’s Office and Salem Police Department. The fire investigation is being conducted by the State Fire Marshall’s Office and the Salem Fire Department. Massachusetts Crime Scene Services and Crime Lab are assisting in the investigation.
Assistant District Attorney Melissa Woodard represented the Commonwealth. Steve Van Dyke represented the defendant. All defendants enjoy the presumption of innocence until proven guilty in a court of law.
The penalty for armed assault with intent to murder (MGL Chapter 265, section 18b) is a state prison sentence of not more than 20 years. The charges of assault and battery with a dangerous weapon (MGL Chapter 265, section 15c) and arson (MGL Chapter 266, section 1) both carry a penalty of not more than 2.5 years in the house of correction or a state prison sentence of not more than 15 years or a fine of not more than $10,000.
People also viewed...
You recently viewed...
Personalization is OFF. Your personal browsing history at Mass.gov is not visible because your personalization is turned off. To view your history, turn your personalization on.
Learn more on our .
*Recommendations are based on site visitor traffic patterns and are not endorsements of that content.