For Immediate Release - April 14, 2017

ADA MacDougall Named Prosecutor of the Year

Essex Assistant District Attorney Kate MacDougall was named the William O’Malley Prosecutor of the Year on Thursday, April 13, at the Annual Massachusetts Prosecutor's Conference at the Renaissance Waterfront Hotel in Boston. The award was presented to MacDougall by Essex District Attorney Jonathan W. Blodgett.

MacDougall has been a prosecutor for nearly 20 years.  She started her career in the Middlesex District Attorney’s Office in 1998.  She was appointed Chief of the Family Crimes and Sexual Assault Unit in the Essex District Attorney's Office in 2006. In that time, she has overseen and assigned hundreds of investigations of child abuse, sexual assault, domestic violence and elder and disabled persons’ abuse. 

“The combination of her tremendous talent as a trial attorney and her genuine compassion for crime victims makes Kate a formidable force for justice.  She is a powerful advocate for victims, most particularly for children who have been physically abused or sexually assaulted,” District Attorney Jonathan W. Blodgett said.  “Outside of the courtroom, Kate generously gives of her time to conduct trainings and to mentor young assistant district attorneys.”

She has prosecuted hundreds of cases, most notably Philip Chism, the 14-year-old Danvers High School student who raped and murdered his teacher; Kristen LaBrie, the mother who withheld chemotherapy treatment from her 9-year-old autistic son; and Valentin Underwood, who kidnapped and brutalized a young woman over 20 years ago.

She leads a multi-disciplinary team of child abuse investigators as President of the Essex Child Advocacy Center in Lawrence.  

MacDougall is also a frequent trainer at MCLE, MDAA, Flashner Judicial Institute.  She was honored by the Massachusetts Lawyers’ Weekly as a Top Woman of Law in 2011.  She received an Excellence in Training Award from the Massachusetts District Attorney’s Office in 2012.

She is a graduate of McGill University (1993) and the Northeastern University School of Law (1997).