Hon. Barbara A. Dortch-Okara (ret.), Chair


Hon. Barbara A. Dortch-Okara, (ret.), Chair

Hon. Barbara A. Dortch-Okara (ret.) was appointed as the Chair of the Commission by Governor Deval Patrick in 2013.  Currently a law professor at New England School of Law in Boston, she previously served as the Chief Justice for Administration and Management of the Trial Court, as an Associate Justice of the Superior Court, as an Associate Justice of the Boston Municipal Court, as attorney advisor for the Massachusetts office of the United States Department of the Interior, as Associate General Counsel at the Massachusetts Port Authority and as Assistant Corporation Counsel for the City of Boston.  Chairman Dortch-Okara is a graduate of Brandeis University and Boston College Law School.


Hon. Regina L. Quinlan (ret.), Vice-Chair


Hon. Regina L. Quinlan (ret.) was appointed to the Commission by Secretary of State William Galvin in 2012.  Commissioner Quinlan served as an Associate Justice of the Massachusetts Superior Court from 1992 to 2012, presiding over both civil and criminal proceedings.  Judge Quinlan was a visiting professor at Boston College Law School for two years, teaching Professional Responsibility, following her retirement.  Prior to her appointment to the Massachusetts Superior Court, Commissioner Quinlan was a practicing attorney in the Commonwealth, representing various clients in civil, criminal, and appellate matters.  She appeared before both State and Federal trial and appellate courts.  Commissioner Quinlan is a graduate of Regis College and Suffolk University Law School and has also received honorary degrees from both schools.


Hon. David A. Mills (ret.)


Judge David A. Mills

Hon. David A. Mills (ret.) was appointed to the Commission by Governor Deval Patrick in 2014.  Judge Mills served as an Associate Justice of the Massachusetts Appeals Court from 2001 to 2012.  As an appellate justice, Judge Mills was the principal author of more than 100 published decisions.  He is a former Middlesex County assistant district attorney and a former assistant attorney general, where he served as chief of the criminal appellate section.  Commissioner Mills has more than 30 years of experience in private practice, and currently is Counsel at the law firm of Rackemann, Sawyer & Brewster.  He is also a member of the Danvers Board of Selectmen.  Commissioner Mills is a graduate of Boston College and Boston College Law School.


Thomas J. Sartory


Commissioner Thomas J. Sartory

Thomas J. Sartory was appointed to the Commission by Attorney General Maura Healey in October 2015.  He is a Director in the Litigation Department at the law firm Goulston & Storrs, PC.  He also serves as General Counsel to the law firm.  Commissioner Sartory has served for more than 25 years on the Massachusetts Bar Association Committee on Professional Ethics.  He also served as Special Counsel to the Judicial Conduct Commission, as a Hearing Officer for the Board of Bar Overseers, as a member of the Harvard Medical School Committee on Human Studies and the American Bar Association Center for Professional Responsibility.  He is admitted to practice in Massachusetts and before the United States District Courts for the District of Massachusetts and the Northern District of Florida, the First Circuit Court of Appeals and the Supreme Court of the United States.  Commissioner Sartory is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers.  He is a graduate of Loyola University and Harvard Law School.


Maria J. Krokidas


Maria J. Krokidas

Maria J. Krokidas was appointed to the Commission by Governor Charlie Baker in October 2016.  She is a founder of the law firm, Krokidas & Bluestein, and presently serves as Of Counsel to the firm’s transactional group.  Commissioner Krokidas has over forty years’ experience representing for-profit, non-profit and public entities in real estate, finance and corporate matters.  She is a magna cum laude graduate of Mount Holyoke College and a cum laude graduate of Harvard Law School.