For Immediate Release - September 22, 2010

Attorney General Martha Coakley Appoints Martin F. Murphy to the State Ethics Commission

Commissioner Murphy Replaces Outgoing Commissioner Jeanne M. Kempthorne

The State Ethics Commission announced that Attorney General Martha Coakley has appointed Martin F. Murphy, a partner in the Boston law firm Foley Hoag, LLP to a five year term on the State Ethics Commission. Commissioner Murphy replaces Commissioner Jeanne M. Kempthorne, whose five year term has expired.

Commissioner Murphy brings a vast amount of trial experience to the Ethics Commission. He served as an Assistant United States Attorney for the District of Massachusetts from 1987 to 1991, including serving as the Chief of the Major Crimes Division. He served as the Middlesex County First Assistant District Attorney from 1992-1997, where, as the office's chief trial lawyer, he supervised a staff of more than 100 prosecutors and personally tried murder and white collar crime cases. His appellate experience includes cases before the United States First Circuit Court of Appeals, the Massachusetts Appeals Court and the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court.

As a partner with Foley Hoag, Commissioner Murphy's practice centers on areas of criminal defense, regulatory investigations and civil litigation.

Commissioner Murphy is a graduate of Princeton University and Harvard Law School and is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers. He has lectured on trial practice and ethics to the Attorney General's Office and the Suffolk County District Attorney's Office and has lectured on criminal practice at Harvard Law School. He is the co-chair of the Boston Bar Association's Task Force to Prevent Wrongful Convictions and is a former co-chair of the BBA's Criminal Law Section. He was appointed by the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court to the Advisory Committee on Massachusetts Evidence Law.

"We are extremely pleased to have Commissioner Murphy onboard," stated Commission Chairman Charles B. Swartwood. "I am well aware of his excellent reputation as a lawyer. His wealth of experience will serve the Commission and the Commonwealth well."

The State Ethics Commission is made up of five members, with three appointments made by the Governor, one by the Attorney General and one by the Secretary of the Commonwealth. The Commission administers and enforces the conflict of interest and financial disclosure laws and has jurisdiction over state, county and municipal employees. Commission members are appointed to five year terms. Commissioner Murphy is Attorney General Coakley's first appointment to the Commission.