Complying with the New AES Export
August - September 2008 Newsletter
By Paula L. Murphy, Director
Massachusetts Export Center
Exporters sending shipments meeting the following criteria must ensure that an AES entry is filed:
• All export shipments containing
$2,500 or more for any one Schedule B product
• All licensable shipments regardless of value or destination
• Shipments to some U.S. territories including Puerto Rico
Exporters may file their Electronic Export Information (EEI) directly with the Census Bureau via AESDirect or have their freight forwarder file the information on their behalf. Regardless of filing method, however, exporters are required to keep all AES documentation and related information on file for five years.
Exporters and forwarders are required to comply with new AES filing deadlines depending upon the mode of transportation. The new regulations also have tougher penalty provisions that will affect all parties to the export transaction. Penalties can reach $10,000 per violation for delayed filing, failure to file, or filing false export information.
A clear understanding of and compliance with these regulations is essential to avoid penalties and seizure of shipments. The Massachusetts Export Center will host a seminar in November of 2008 featuring officials from the Census Bureau to explain these regulations in detail. For further information, call 617-973-8664 or visit www.mass.gov/export .
Paula Murphy is director of the Massachusetts Export Center, part of the Massachusetts Small Business Development Center Network. The Export Center provides a full range of support to the state’s exporting community, including counseling, technical assistance, international business development services and training programs. For further information, visit www.mass.gov/export.