
MASSACHUSETTS REAL ESTATE BOARD: RECIPROCAL  LICENSURE, ATTORNEY LICENSURE AND EDUCATIONAL WAIVERS 

 

Massachusetts Attorney: An Applicant must remit a LETTER OF GOOD STANDING issued by the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court (SJC) along with a 

cover letter that includes the Applicant's mailing address, birthday and a non-refundable application fee of $52.00. Once the Board receives and reviews 

the materials, the Board will mail the Applicant an Attorney Broker Application. Letters of Good Standing are valid for 90 days and must be valid at the 

issuance of the Massachusetts license application. There is no examination.   

 

Massachusetts Law School Student: Massachusetts law school students are eligible to take the Salesperson’s examination without first taking the Real 

Estate Salesperson course provided he/she has completed a course in property law at an accredited Massachusetts Law School. An Applicant must remit 

a certified transcript from the Applicant’s Massachusetts Law School along with a cover letter that includes the Applicant’s name, mailing address and 

request for an Educational Waiver. Educational Waivers are valid for two (2) years. Once the Board receives and reviews the materials, the Board will 

mail the Applicant a Candidate Handbook that authorizes the Applicant to take the entire Real Estate Salesperson examination (General portion and 

Massachusetts State portion of the examination). 

 
Connecticut, Rhode Island, West Virginia, Nebraska, Iowa, Tennessee, Mississippi, Colorado, Georgia, Pennsylvania and New Mexico 

Complete reciprocity for both Salespersons and Brokers. An Applicant must remit a CERTIFIED RECORD OF LICENSE HISTORY from the appropriate State's 

Real Estate Commission showing a current license along with a cover letter that includes the Applicant’s name, mailing address, birthday and a non-

refundable application fee of $52.00 for Brokers and $31.00 for Salespersons. Certified Records are valid for 90 days and must be valid at the issuance of 

the Massachusetts license application. For Colorado, an Employing Broker is equivalent to a Massachusetts Broker and an Associate Broker is equivalent 

to a Massachusetts Salesperson. Once the Board receives and reviews the materials, the Board will mail the Applicant a Reciprocal Application. There is 

no examination.   

 

Oklahoma: Salespersons and Brokers that have been licensed for two (2) years have complete reciprocity. An Applicant must remit a CERTIFIED RECORD 

OF LICENSE HISTORY from the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission showing a current license along with a cover letter that includes the Applicant’s name, 

mailing address, birthday and a non-refundable application fee of $52.00 for Brokers and $31.00 for Salespersons. Certified Records are valid for 90 

days and must be valid at the issuance of the Massachusetts license application. Once the Board receives and reviews the materials, the Board will mail 

the Applicant a Reciprocal Application. There is no examination.   

 

Oklahoma Salespersons and Brokers with less than two (2) years of licensure - See "All Other States" below.  

 

New York: Brokers licensed for two (2) years have complete reciprocity. An Applicant must remit a CERTIFIED RECORD OF LICENSE HISTORY from the 

New York Real Estate Commission showing a current license along with a cover letter that includes the Applicant’s name, mailing address, birthday and 

a non-refundable application fee of $52.00. Certified Records are valid for 90 days and must be valid at the issuance of the Massachusetts license 

application. Once the Board receives and reviews the materials, the Board will mail the Applicant a Reciprocal Application. There is no examination.   

 

New York Brokers with less than two (2) years of licensure and all New York Salespersons  -  See "All Other States" below. 

 

New Hampshire: Salespersons and Brokers must apply for an Educational Waiver which allows the Applicant to take only the Massachusetts State 

portion of the examination without completing Massachusetts pre-licensure education. An Applicant must remit a CERTIFIED RECORD OF LICENSE 

HISTORY from the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission showing a current license along with a cover letter that includes the Applicant’s name, 

mailing address and request for an Educational Waiver. Educational Waivers are valid for two (2) years. Certified Records of License History are valid 

for 90 days and must be valid at the issuance of the Educational Waiver. Once the Board receives and reviews the materials, the Board will mail the 

Applicant a Candidate Handbook that authorizes the Applicant to take the Massachusetts State portion of the examination. 

 

Maine: Brokers licensed for three (3) years must apply for an Educational Waiver which allows the Applicant to take only the Massachusetts State 

portion of the examination without completing Massachusetts pre-licensure education. An Applicant must remit a CERTIFIED RECORD OF LICENSE 

HISTORY from the Maine Real Estate Commission showing a current license along with a cover letter that includes the Applicant’s name, mailing address 

and request for an Educational Waiver. Educational Waivers are valid for two (2) years. Certified Records of License History are valid for 90 days and 

must be valid at the issuance of the Educational Waiver. Once the Board receives and reviews the materials, the Board will mail the Applicant a 

Candidate Handbook that authorizes the Applicant to take the Massachusetts State portion of the examination. 

 

Maine Brokers with less than three (3) years of licensure or all Maine Salespersons - See "All Other States" below. 

 

All Other States & North Carolina: An Applicant must apply for an Education Waiver which allows the Applicant to take the entire Real Estate 

examination at the level of licensure in the other State without completing Massachusetts pre-licensure education. An Applicant must remit a CERTIFIED 

RECORD OF LICENSE HISTORY from their Real Estate Commission showing a current license along with a cover letter that includes the Applicant’s name, 

mailing address and request for an Educational Waiver. Educational Waivers are valid for two (2) years. Certified Records of License History are valid 

for 90 days and must be valid at the issuance of the Educational Waiver. Once the Board receives and reviews the materials, the Board will mail the 

Applicant a Candidate Handbook that authorizes the Applicant to take the entire Real Estate examination (General portion and Massachusetts State 

portion of the examination). For North Carolina, a Provisional Broker is equivalent to a Massachusetts Salesperson. 

 

Post Licensure and Continuing Education (CE): Please review the Board’s regulations and “Frequently Asked Questions” (FAQ) link at 

mass.gov/dpl/boards/re for the continuing education requirements for the various license types: Attorney Broker (exempt from CE), Reciprocal Licensee 

and Educational Waivers (also known as licensure by examination).  
Check or Money Order Payable: Commonwealth of Massachusetts 

Mailing Address: Real Estate Board, 1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118 

Phone Number: 617-727-2373 
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