Lt. Governor Karyn Polito, Chair
Tammy Mello, Executive Director

About the Council

Governor Charlie Baker and Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito, joined by Attorney General Maura Healey, announced on April 27, 2015 the re-launching of the Governor’s Council to Address Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence established through Executive Order 563.  The Council’s charge is to advise the Governor on how to help residents of the Commonwealth live a life free of sexual assault and domestic violence by improving prevention for all, enhancing support for individuals and families affected by sexual assault and domestic violence, and insisting on accountability for perpetrators. The Executive Order also elevated the council to the Governor’s Office and named Lt. Governor Polito as the chair.

Over the next year, the council will be charged with assessing the implementation of An Act Relative to Domestic Violence, enacted in 2014, and reviewing programs aimed at reducing sexual assault and domestic violence in the Commonwealth. The new council will set and report on annual goals and recommendations and inform the Commonwealth’s funding based on best practices related to prevention, intervention and services addressing domestic violence and sexual assault. Consisting of up to 30 members representing providers, advocates, health care, the Attorney General’s Office, law enforcement, the courts and higher education, the Council will meet at minimum every two months, conducting outreach and establishing committees to carry out their tasks. The Executive Director will carry out the day-to-day operations and support for the Council.

Members (as of 10/11/16):

  • Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito, Chair
  • David Adams, Co-Founder and Co-Director, Emerge
  • Nancy Alterio, Executive Director, Disabled Persons Protection Commission
  • Christina Bain, Director, Initiative on Human Trafficking and Modern Slavery, Babson College
  • Secretary Daniel Bennett, Public Safety and Security
  • Stephanie Brown, CEO, Casa Myrna
  • Karen Cavanaugh, Executive Director, Womanshelter / Companeras
  • Kim Dawkins, Executive Director, Pathways for Change, Inc.
  • Duane De Four, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Mark Dubois, Chief of Police, Maynard Police Department
  • Commissioner Edward Dolan, Office of the Commissioner of Probation
  • Suzanne Dubus, CEO, Jeanne Geiger Crisis Center
  • Worcester County District Attorney Joe Early
  • Sarah Ellis, Deputy General Counsel, Massachusetts District Court
  • Diane Fasano, Designee for Commissioner Edward Dolan
  • Col. Andrea Gayle-Bennett, Army National Guard
  • Susan Gentili, Senior Director, Southern Middlesex Opportunity Council (SMOC)
  • Amarely Guttierez Oliver, YWCA of Central Massachusetts
  • Attorney General Maura Healey
  • Lysetta Hurge-Putnam, Executive Director, Independence House
  • Mary Reardon Johnson, Director, YWCA Western Massachusetts
  • Michelle Loranger, Executive Director, Children's Advocacy Center of Bristol County
  • Liam Lowney, Executive Director, Massachusetts Office for Victim Assistance (MOVA)
  • Stacey Malone, Victims Rights Law Center
  • Sarah Perry, Executive Director, Second Step
  • Paulo Pinto, Massachusetts Alliance of Portuguese Speakers (MAPS)
  • Alicia Pradas-Monne, Designee for Attorney General Maura Healey
  • Debra Robbin, Executive Director, Jane Doe Inc.
  • Emily Rothman, Associate Professor, Boston University School of Public Health
  • Nancy Scannell, Director of Policy and Planning, Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children
  • Joan Meunier-Sham, RN, MS, SANE Program Director, SANE Pediatric Associate Director, Department of Public Health
  • Michelle Smith, Executive Director, Women of Means
  • Secretary Marylou Sudders, Health and Human Services
  • Northwestern District Attorney David Sullivan
  • Molyka Tieng, Lowell Community Health Center
  • Vilma Uribe, The Network La Red
  • Juan Vega, Assistant Secretary for Communities and Programs (HED), Designee for Secretary Jay Ash

NOTE: Additional members will be added

Governor’s Council To Address Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence
State House
Room 272
Boston, MA 02133

Questions about the Council? Email Executive Director Tammy Mello: tammy.m.mello@State.MA.US

For an emergency or if you need immediate help:  Call the Safelink Hotline at 877-785-2020 (Advocates available in Portuguese, Spanish and Creole, as well as access to a language line with up to 130 languages)

Rape Crisis Centers

SafeLink Hotline

  • SafeLink Hotline


    MA's Domestic Violence Hotline
    Always Available for Support



Massachusetts Office For Victim Assistance

Jane Doe, Inc.

Jane Doe Inc.

The Massachusetts Coalition Against Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence



Sexual Assault Prevention and Survivor Services