Commonwealth of Massachusetts
A Proclamation
His Excellency Governor Deval L. Patrick

Whereas The General Court created Hampshire County  May 7, 1662, by incorporating the three settlements of Springfield, Hadley, and Northampton, and has served the municipalities of Hampshire County with programs and services that take a regional approach to solve common problems; and

Whereas Berkshire, Franklin and Hampden Counties spun off between 1761 and 1812, to continue the efforts begun by Hampshire County to ensure that each citizen of Hampshire County received representation; and

Whereas Hampshire county has served to support the entrepreneurial richness of the area; and

Whereas Hampshire County has shown a diversity and richness of history that includes the independent political thought and spirit of independence and political action as shown by the Daniel Shays Rebellion of 1786; and

Whereas Hampshire County was the home of Calvin Coolidge, who served as the U.S. President from 1923 to 1929, and who died in Hampshire County in 1933; and  

Whereas For 350 years Hampshire County has been the center of political, educational, and cultural activities in the region; and

Whereas Hampshire County is distinguished for the presence of the “five colleges” within its borders: Smith College, Mt. Holyoke College, Amherst College, the University of Massachusetts, and Hampshire college; and

Whereas On this day Hampshire county celebrates its 350th anniversary,

Now, Therefore, I, Deval L. Patrick, Governor of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, do hereby proclaim May 7th, 2012, to be


And urge all the citizens of the Commonwealth to take cognizance of this event and participate fittingly in its observance.

Given at the Executive Chamber in Boston, this twenty-sixth day of April, in the year two thousand and twelve, and of the Independence of the United States of America, the two hundred and thirty-fifth. 

By His Excellency 
Deval L. Patrick                       
Governor of the Commonwealth         

William Francis Galvin             
Secretary of the Commonwealth

God Save the Commonwealth of Massachusetts