For Immediate Release - May 03, 2007


Panel to help guide selection of future trustees at Massachusetts state colleges and universities

BOSTON- Thursday, May 3, 2007 - Governor Deval Patrick today swore in members of the restored Public Education Nominating Council, urging the new appointees to strive for excellence in seeking out the best qualified candidates to serve Massachusetts' public colleges and universities.

"The importance of this assignment cannot be overestimated. The council members will, quite literally, be primary partners in creating the team of leaders who will move public higher education in the Commonwealth forward," Governor Patrick said. "We have an ambitious agenda for the future of education in Massachusetts and we are counting on our public colleges and universities to lead Massachusetts to the fulfillment of our extraordinary economic and education potential."

The Public Education Nominating Council, chaired by Judith Block McLaughlin , a world renowned expert on higher education leadership and university boards, will recommend candidates to serve on the boards of trustees of the 25 public higher education institutions across the Commonwealth. Currently there are almost 90 vacancies and trustees with expired terms still sitting on boards. This includes four seats at the University of Massachusetts.

The council will begin seeking candidates immediately, with their first decision-making meeting slated for May 15. The council will recommend two candidates per vacant seat, with the Governor making the final decision.

About the members:

  • Judith Block McLaughlin, the chair of the Public Education Nominating Council, has written and consulted extensively on leadership transitions, presidential assessment, board-president relationships, senior staff functioning, and board governance. She is a Senior Lecturer, the Director of the Higher Education Program and the Educational Chair of the Harvard Seminar for New Presidents at Harvard's Graduate School of Education.


  • Frederick W. Clark, Jr. is the Vice President of Mirrione Realty Corp, a mid-sized real estate development company that specializes in active retirement communities. He is also the President of the John Joseph Moakley Charitable Foundation, and he recently served as the Chief Executive Officer of the Massachusetts State Colleges Council of Presidents. Mr. Clark is a former chair of the board of trustees of Bridgewater State College.


  • Eileen Farleyserved as President of Bristol Community College between 1978 and 2000. During her tenure, she facilitated a dramatic expansion of the College. Dr. Farley has also worked as President of Elizabeth Seton College and Vice President for Student Affairs at SUNY New Paltz. She is the chair of the board of trustees at Southcoast Hospitals Group.


  • Bernard Harlestonis one of the architects of the Doctoral Program in Higher Education Administration at the University of Massachusetts Boston and previously served as President of City College, City University of New York. A former Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences at Tufts University, he is currently a trustee both at Tufts and at Lesley College. Dr. Harleston is a senior associate at the New England Resource Center for Higher Education.


  • Mary Lou Anderson is the Academic Dean of the College and Graduate Programs, and a former Interim Provost, at Assumption College in Worcester. She also serves as the Vice Chair of the Worcester Catholic School Board, and is a former member of the Massachusetts Higher Education Coordinating Council, vice chair of the Massachusetts Board of Regents, and a former faculty member at Quinsigamond Community College.


  • Andrea Silbertis the President of the Eos Foundation, a private family foundation focusing its investments on innovative approaches to addressing urban poverty in and around Boston. Prior to that, she co-founded the Center for Women & Enterprise and worked as a financial analyst with Morgan Stanley. Ms. Silbert currently serves as a trustee of the Harwich Conservation Trust.


  • Robin M. Jacoby is Chief of Staff at Partners HealthCare, a system of hospitals and physicians associated with Harvard Medical School. She previously served as Provost of Lesley University, Vice President of Radcliff College, and a faculty member at the University of Michigan.


  • E.B. Wilson is chairman emeritus of the board of trustees of St. Lawrence University. A former President and CEO of C.F. Hathaway Company, his business experience also includes tenure as CEO of Almay, Inc. and of subsidiary companies of Kimberly-Clark Corporation. Mr. Wilson has served as a trustee of The Boston Conservatory, and has been a member of the Council of Board Chairs of the Association of Governing Boards.


  • Bridget Terry Long, an associate professor of education and economics at Harvard University, studies the transition from secondary to higher education and beyond. Her work has focused on college access and choice, factors that influence college student outcomes, and the behavior of postsecondary institutions. Dr. Long currently serves as a trustee at Newbury College in Brookline.


  • Mary Walachyis Executive Director of the Irene E. and George A. Davis Foundation, a private family foundation located in Springfield. She is a trustee of the Pioneer Valley Planning Commission's Plan for Progress, and also serves on the steering committee of the Massachusetts Early Education for All Campaign. Ms. Walachy serves on the executive committee of the Springfield Chamber of Commerce as well as the Community United Way of Pioneer Valley.


  • Byron Matthews is a former chair of the board of trustees of Northern Essex Community College and currently serves as a member of the foundation charged with raising money for the College. He is also a former mayor of Newburyport.



Follow us on Twitter – View our Photos – Watch our Videos