For Immediate Release - November 18, 2011


28th Annual Hanna Awards
Governor Patrick honors Massachusetts Law Enforcement Officers at the 28th Annual Trooper George L. Hanna Jr. Memorial Awards for Bravery. (Photo: Eric Haynes / Governor's Office)

BOSTON - Friday, November 18, 2011 - Governor Deval Patrick and Lieutenant Governor Timothy Murray today honored 27 law enforcement officers at the Massachusetts State House during the annual awards ceremony named after Massachusetts State Trooper George L. Hanna.

“In recognition of the courageous and selfless actions these heroes displayed, Massachusetts owes them a debt of gratitude,” said Governor Patrick. “This award recognizes officers whose actions have demonstrated bravery above and beyond expectations and for that they are to be commended.”

The 28th annual presentation of the Trooper George L. Hanna Memorial Awards for Bravery recognized 23 local police officers, three Massachusetts state troopers, and one federal agent. The honorees demonstrated a wide range of heroic actions to keep our communities safe and secure. 

“Our Administration thanks all law enforcement officers for their hard work and dedication in protecting communities across the Commonwealth,” said Lieutenant Governor Murray. “Today, we especially applaud the heroic officers praised for their extraordinary acts of courage, bravery, and service.”

Governor Patrick and Lieutenant Governor Murray presented the Medal of Honor posthumously to Woburn police officer John B. Maguire, who was fatally shot last year as he rushed to a jewelry counter robbery at a department store. Officer Maguire’s widow, children and brother accepted the award on his behalf.

“At the core of  all of our brave law enforcement officers are the qualities of leadership, professionalism, selflessness and commitment,” said Secretary of Public Safety and Security Mary Beth Heffernan. “But our winners here today have separated themselves by taking the extra step, going above and beyond the call of duty to serve, save and protect the public safety.”

Trooper George L. Hanna had been a member of the State Police for nearly 10 years when, on the night of February 26, 1983, he was fatally shot by three assailants after stopping a car in the town of Auburn. Trooper Hanna left his wife Marilyn and three children, Deborah, Kimberly and Michael. The Hanna Awards have become a symbol of prestige within the law enforcement community and the Commonwealth as a whole.

This year’s award winners are:

Meritorious Recognition

Boston Police Department:  Detective Paul G. Schroeder, Detective Stephen E. Bearth, Officer Anthony Williams.

Chelsea Police Department: Officer Felix Rivera, Officer Joseph P. Capistran, Officer Thomas H. McLain Jr.

Medal of Valor

Everett Police Department: Officer Richard DiTrapano, Officer Daniel Tucker.

Fall River Police Department: Officer Eric Copsetta.

Lowell Police Department: Sergeant Stephen M. Morrill.

Massachusetts State Police: Trooper Barry M. Shea.

Medal of Valor and Medal of Honor Group Award

Boston Police Department: Sergeant Thomas J. Foley, Officer Greg R. Bowden, Officer Anthony J. Serra, Officer Manual Blas, Officer Luis A. Lopez.

Massachusetts State Police: Trooper Walter F. Foley, Trooper Lawrence D. Richardson.

Medal of Honor Group Awards

Somerville Police Department: Lieutenant Gerald Reardon, Sergeant Joseph McCain, Detective Mario Oliveira, Detective Ernest Nadile.

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives: Special Agent Brian Higgins.

Worcester Police Department: Officer John Bossolt, Officer Thomas Drakos, Officer Terrence Gaffney.

Medal of Honor

Woburn Police Department: Officer John B. Maguire.


   Follow us on Twitter – View our Photos – Watch our Videos