For Immediate Release - January 14, 2011


Youth Council Swearing-in

Governor Patrick swears in the Youth Council (Photo credit: Matt Bennett/Governor's Office).

BOSTON - Friday, January 14, 2011 - Surrounded by students, parents and educators, Governor Deval L. Patrick today swore in the 28 new members of the Governor's Statewide Youth Council at a State House ceremony. This new class of young people is the second group of students to serve on the Youth Council and will hold their positions for a two-year term.

The Council, established by executive order in April 2008, encourages young people to become civically engaged in their local communities and to help tackle the state's biggest challenges, including education reform, youth violence and bullying, by assuming leadership roles.

"The inaugural class brought great ideas to the table and challenged us to think about a number of issues in fresh ways," said Governor Patrick. "I have the highest of hopes for this next group of talented young leaders and look forward to working with them on the many challenges our Commonwealth faces."

The Council is comprised of 28 members - two representatives from each of the Commonwealth's 14 counties. Members were selected by an application review committee for their excellence in leadership and their outstanding potential to create change in their communities. Members range from ages 14-20.

The Youth Council will hold formal bi-monthly sessions, focusing on the Governor's agenda in education, economic development, civic engagement, and community outreach. Members advise the Governor as representatives of all Massachusetts youth. In addition to their bi-monthly meetings, Youth Council members gather independently to share what they see in their communities and talk about how state government can partner with local communities to create solutions. The inaugural class of the Youth Council worked with the Administration to advocate for the passage of several important policy issues, including the historic anti-bullying legislation of 2010.

The Second Statewide Youth Council Class includes:

Barnstable County

  • Ryan Stanley
  • Tiffany Rasmussen

Berkshire County

  • Daniel Baer
  • Taylor Garrett

Bristol County

  • Gabrielle Monteiro
  • Leeara Hunt

Dukes County

  • Emma Hallbilsback
  • Delmont Araujo

Essek County

  • Emaan Syed
  • Victor (Manny) Cruz

Franklin County

  • Mirasia McGahan
  • Emily Bolduc

Hampden County

  • James Villalobos
  • Juan Gonzalez

Hampshire County

  • Tanya Karagiannis
  • Kaden Belanger


  • Ivy Smith
  • Kevin Qian


  • Carlisle Jensen
  • William Horyn


  • Andrea McDonagh
  • Kathryne Brauner


  • Fabieny De Pina
  • Joseph Sienkiewicz


  • Kimberly Mendoza
  • Arnold Pesnel


  • Caleb S. Encarnacion-Rivera
  • Kiara Lum


Follow us on Twitter - View our - Watch our Videos