For Immediate Release - October 06, 2015

Baker-Polito Administration Convenes Economic Development Planning Council

Council will assist Secretary Jay Ash in creation and execution of a comprehensive economic development plan

Boston – Tuesday, October 6, 2015 – Today the Baker-Polito Administration swore in members of its Economic Development Planning Council prior to its initial meeting with Housing and Economic Development Secretary Jay Ash to discuss the administration’s forthcoming economic development plan.

The plan, shaped by feedback that the Executive Office of Housing and Economic Development gathered during listening sessions earlier this year, and guided by the Council, will be submitted to the Legislature for approval later this year.

“The Planning Council offers an opportunity for engagement with business, public, and non-profit sector leaders on a wide range of economic development priorities and programs,” said Governor Charlie Baker. “Their invaluable experience will help guide our planning and implementation, and I look forward to continued partnerships as we work to develop Massachusetts’ economy, and ensure that communities across the Commonwealth share in our economic growth.”

The Planning Council is comprised of representatives from banking, innovation, manufacturing, and other industries; representatives of non-profits and membership organizations; and the Co-Chairs of the Joint Committee on Economic Development and Emerging Technology, Senator Eileen Donoghue, and Representative Joseph Wagner. Administration and Finance Secretary Kristen Lepore, Labor and Workforce Development Secretary Ron Walker, Energy and Environmental Affairs Secretary Matthew Beaton, and Transportation Secretary Stephanie Pollack will also serve as members. Secretary Ash will chair the Council.

“Addressing some of the problems that stymie Massachusetts’ economic development and hurt our global competitiveness requires productive dialogue with engaged citizens and industry groups,” said Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito. “The Council’s economic expertise is a wonderful resource to help us confront barriers to growth – including permitting, regulations, zoning, and workforce development – efficiently and effectively.”

The Council will convene again for the second and final time on December 9th to offer its final recommendations.

Massachusetts law requires the appointment of an economic development planning council, and the filing of an economic development plan, within the first year of each new gubernatorial administration.

Members of the Economic Development Planning Council:

Senator Eileen Donoghue, Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Economic Development and Emerging Technologies

Representative Joseph Wagner, House Chair, Joint Committee on Economic Development and Emerging Technologies

Ms. Kristen Lepore, Secretary, Executive Office of Administration and Finance

Mr. Ronald Walker, Secretary, Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development

Mr. Matthew Beaton, Secretary, Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs

Ms. Stephanie Pollack, Secretary, MassDOT

Mr. Arthur Barrett, President, Barrett Distribution Centers

Mr. Delcie D. Bean IV, CEO, Paragus Strategic IT

Ms. Bonnie Biocchi, Director of Development, Habitat for Humanity Metro West/Greater Worcester

Ms. Christa Bleyleben, Managing Partner, Mass Global Partners

Ms. Cindy Brown, CEO, Boston Duck Tours

Mr. Jeff Bussgang, General Partner, Flybridge Capital Partners

Mr. Prabal Chakrabarti, Senior Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

Mr. JD Chesloff, Executive Director, Mass Business Roundtable

Mr. Tom Chmura, Vice President for Economic Development, University of Massachusetts

Ms. Donna Cupelo, Regional President, Verizon New England

Mr. Tom Erickson, CEO, Acquia

Mr. Jack Healy, President and CEO, MassMEP

Ms. Susan Houston, Executive Director, MassEcon

Mr. Jon B. Hurst, President, Retailers Association of Massachusetts

Mr. Daniel C. Kenary, CEO and Co-Founder, Harpoon Brewery

Mr. Salvatore Lupoli, President and CEO, Lupoli Companies

Mr. Marcos Marrero, Director of Planning and Economic Development , City of Holyoke

Mr. Paul Matthews, Executive Director, 495/MetroWest Partnership

Mr. Travis McCready, President and CEO, Massachusetts Life Sciences Center

Mr. Timothy J. McGourthy, Executive Director, Worcester Regional Research Bureau

Mr. Chris Oddleifson, President and CEO, Rockland Trust

Mr. Michael Prisco, CEO, Bourne Field Properties

Mr. John T. Smolak, Esq., Partner, Smolak & Vaughan LLP

Mr. Peter Stasiowski, Director of Communications and Human Resources, Interprint Inc.

Mr. Michael Tamasi, President and CEO, AccuRounds

Mr. Benjamin Forman, Research Director, MassINC

Mr. Eric Hagopian, President and CEO, Massachusetts Center for Advanced

Design and Manufacturing

Ms. Susan Mailman, President, Coghlin Electrical Contractors, Inc.

Mr. Jonathan Butler, President and CEO, Berkshire Chamber of Commerce

Mr. David Begelfer, CEO, NAIOP Massachusetts, the Commercial Real Estate

Development Association

Mr. Bob Luz, President and CEO, Massachusetts Restaurant Association

Dr. Emily L. Reichert, CEO, Greentown Labs

Mr. Robert F. Rivers, President and COO, Eastern Bank

Mr. Andrew P. Botti, Esq., Director, McLane Middleton Law Firm

Mr. Jeevan Ramapriya, Vice President, State Street Bank and Trust Co.

Mr. Tom Hopcroft, President and CEO, Massachusetts Technology Leadership Council

Mr. Christopher Sikes, CEO, Common Capital

Ms. Karen Kaplan, Chairman/CEO, Hill Holiday

Mr. Robert Pura, President, Greenfield Community College

Mr. Richard A. Packer, Chairman and CEO, ZOLL Medical

Mr. Tim Rowe, Founder and CEO, Cambridge Innovation Center

Mr. Vilas S. Dhar, Gleitsman Fellow on Social Change, Founder, Dhar Law, LLP and Next Mile Project

Mr. Robert Halpin, Town Manager, Town of Framingham

Mr. Sushil K. Tuli, President, Leader Bank

Mr. Ralph Smith, Chief Executive Officer, President and Director, Kayem Foods Inc.

Mr. Devin Cole, Director of Development, Workbar

Mr. James Fiorentini, Mayor, City of Haverill

Mr. Tim Brennan, Executive Director, Pioneer Valley Planning Commission

Mr. Colin Angle, Chairman of the Board, CEO and Co-Founder, iRobot

Mr. Ira H. Rubenzahl, President, Springfield Technical Community College

Mr. Wayne Canty, CEO/ Owner, Heat Trace Products, LLC

Mr. Ralph Crowley Jr., President/ CEO, Polar Beverages

Mr. Tripp Jones, MassINC