NOTICE: - While reasonable efforts have been made to assure the accuracy of the data herein, this is NOT the official version of Senate Journal. It is published to provide information in a timely manner, but has not been proofread against the events of the session for this day. All information obtained from this source should be checked against a proofed copy of the Senate Journal.


Seal of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts


Monday, January 8, 2007.

Met at one minute past eleven o’clock A.M. (Mr. Baddour in the Chair).

The Chair (Mr. Baddour), members, guests and employees then recited the pledge of allegiance to the flag.


The following communications were severally received and placed on file:

A communication from the Honorable Bruce E. Tarr, on behalf of the Republican Caucus of the Senate, announcing the election on January 3, 2007, of the Honorable Richard R. Tisei of Middlesex and Essex as Senate Minority Leader for the 2007-2008 Legislative Session.

A communication from the Honorable Richard R. Tisei, Minority Leader of the Senate, announcing the following leadership appointments:

Assistant Minority Leader — Bruce E. Tarr of Middlesex and Essex
Minority Whip — Robert L. Hedlund of Plymouth and Norfolk
Assistant Minority Whip — Scott P. Brown of Norfolk Bristol and Middlesex

Ranking Member —

Senate Ways and Means Committee — Michael R. Knapik of Hampden and Hampshire.

A communication was received from the Honorable Robert E. Travaglini, President of the Senate, announcing his appointments to the Special Commission established (pursuant to Section 1 of Chapter 2 of the Resolves of 2006) relative to ending homelessness in the Commonwealth, effective January 3, 2007.
Appointed to the special committee were the following members;

Senator Brian A. Joyce of Norfolk, Bristol and Plymouth;
Senator Karen E. Spilka of Middlesex and Norfolk;
Senator Steven A. Tolman of Suffolk and Middlesex; and
Senator Susan C. Tucker of Essex and Middlesex.


The following resolutions (having been filed with the Clerk) were severally considered forthwith and adopted, as follows:—
Resolutions (filed by Mr. Pacheco) “congratulating Ethelyn Bissonnette on the occasion of her one hundredth birthday”; and
Resolutions (filed by Mr. Travaglini) “congratulating Craig C. Mello, PhD.”

Order Adopted.

On motion of Mr. Tisei,—
Ordered, That when the Senate adjourns today, it adjourn to meet again on Thursday next at eleven o’clock A.M.

On motion of the same Senator, at five minutes past eleven o’clock A.M., the Senate adjourned to meet on the following Thursday at eleven o’clock A.M.