NOTICE: - While reasonable efforts have been made to assure the accuracy of the data herein, this is NOT the official version of Senate Journal. It is published to provide information in a timely manner, but has not been proofread against the events of the session for this day. All information obtained from this source should be checked against a proofed copy of the Senate Journal.


Seal of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts


Thursday, January 8, 2009.

At three minutes before twelve o’clock noon, the two branches met in


in the Chamber of the House of Representatives, for the purpose of administering the oath of office to the several Councillors-elect, and were called to order by the Honorable Therese Murray, President of the Senate.

Order Adopted.

On motion of Mr. Berry,—

Ordered, That a committee be appointed to consist of members of the Senate and the House of Representatives to wait upon the several Councillors-elect and inform them that the two branches of the General Court are now in convention for the purpose of administering oaths required to qualify them for the discharge of their duties of their offices.

Senators Morrissey of Norfolk and Plymouth, Richard T. Moore of Worcester and Norfolk, McGee of Essex and Middlesex, Pacheco of Plymouth and Bristol and Brown of Norfolk, Bristol and Middlesex were appointed the committee on the part of the Senate; Representatives Donato of Medford, Scaccia of Boston, Mariano of Quincy, Fagan of Taunton, Jones of North Reading and Peterson of Grafton were appointed the committee on the part of the House.

Mr. Morrissey, for the committee, afterwards reported that the Councillors-elect would immediately attend upon the Convention.

Special Guests.

The President introduced Deputada (Representative) Aparecida Gama (Immediate Past Chair of the Women’s Council of the Parliamentary Confederation of the Americas), Deputada Cidinha Campos and Deputada Graca Mattos, members of the state legislatures in Brazil, who are members of UNALE, Brazil’s national state legislative association (comparable to the National Conference of State Legislatures). They were the guests of Senator Richard T. Moore of Worcester and Norfolk.

At five minutes past twelve o’clock noon, the Honorable Timothy P. Murray, the Lieutenant Governor, A. Joseph DeNucci, Auditor of the Commonwealth, and the Councillors-elect, entered the Chamber, under the escort of the Sergeant-at-Arms.

Before the President of the Senate, and in the presence of the two Houses, assembled, at eight minutes past twelve o’clock noon, the oaths and affirmations of office were then administered to, and subscribed by Carole A. Fiola of Fall River, Kelly A. Timilty of Boston, Marilyn M. Petitto-Devaney of Watertown, Christopher A. Iannella, Jr., of Boston, Mary-Ellen Manning, Michael J. Callahan, Thomas J. Foley and Thomas T. Merrigan as Councillors.

The Lieutenant-Governor, the Auditor and Honorable Council then withdrew from the Chamber, under the escort of the Sergeant-at-Arms.

On motion of Mr. Kennedy, at seventeen minutes past twelve o’clock noon, the Convention was dissolved; and the Senate withdrew from the House Chamber, under the escort of the Sergeant-at Arms.