NOTICE: - While reasonable efforts have been made to assure the accuracy of the data herein, this is NOT the official version of Senate Journal. It is published to provide information in a timely manner, but has not been proofread against the events of the session for this day. All information obtained from this source should be checked against a proofed copy of the Senate Journal.


Seal of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts


Monday, February 11, 2013.

Met at six minutes past eleven o’clock A.M. (Mr. Rosenberg in the Chair).

The Senator from Essex and Middlesex, Mr. Tarr, led the Chair (Mr. Rosenberg), members, guests and staff in the recitation of the pledge of allegiance to the flag.


The following resolutions (having been filed with the Clerk) were severally considered forthwith and adopted, as follows:-

Resolutions (filed by Ms. Chandler) “congratulating the American Antiquarian Society on its Bicentennial Anniversary”;

Resolutions (filed by Mr. Pacheco) “congratulating Arthur ‘The Baron’ Lopes on his one hundredth birthday”; and

Resolutions (filed by Mr. Timilty) “congratulating Lord's Department Store on 73 years of presence in the Medfield community.”

Report of a Committee

Mr. Rosenberg, for the committee on the arrangement of seats in the Senate, reported that the seating of the Senate be in the following order:

Honorable Therese Murray, President of the Senate.

On the President’s Left.

On the President’s Right.

1. Hon. Stanley C. Rosenberg

1. Hon. Richard T. Moore

2. Hon. Harriette L. Chandler

2. Hon. Cynthia Stone Creem

3. Hon. Karen E. Spilka

3. Hon. Richard J. Ross

4. Hon. Stephen M. Brewer

4. Hon. Michael R. Knapik

5. Hon. Jennifer L. Flanagan

5. Hon. Bruce E. Tarr

6. Hon. Mark C. Montigny

6. Hon. Robert L. Hedlund

7. Hon. Sal N. DiDomenico

7. Hon. John F. Keenan

8. Hon. Joan B. Lovely

8. Hon. Michael O. Moore

9. Hon. Michael J. Barrett

9. Hon. Patricia D. Jehlen

10. Vacant

10. Hon. Kenneth J. Donnelly

11. Hon. James B. Eldridge

11. Hon. Eileen M. Donoghue

12. Hon. Katherine M. Clark

12. Hon. Kathleen O’Connor Ives

13. Hon. Anthony W. Petruccelli

13. Hon. Barry R. Finegold

14. Hon. Benjamin B. Downing

14. Hon. Gale D. Candaras

15. Hon. James T. Welch

15. Hon. Michael J. Rodrigues

16. Hon. Thomas M. McGee

16. Hon. Sonia Chang-Diaz

17. Hon. Daniel A. Wolf

17. Hon. James E. Timilty

18. Hon. Brian A. Joyce

18. Hon. Marc R. Pacheco

19. Hon. Michael F. Rush

19. Hon. William N. Brownsberger

20. Hon. Thomas P. Kennedy

20. Vacant


There being no objection, at ten minutes past eleven o’clock A.M., the Chair (Mr. Rosenberg) declared a recess subject to the call of the Chair; and, at eleven minutes before two o’clock P.M., the Senate reassembled, Mr. Rosenberg in the Chair.

Order Adopted.

On motion of Ms. Lovely,--

Ordered, That when the Senate adjourns today, it adjourn to meet again tomorrow at two o’clock P.M., in a full formal session with a calendar.

On motion of Mr. Tarr, at ten minutes before two o’clock P.M., the Senate adjourned to meet again tomorrow at two o’clock P. M.