NOTICE: - While reasonable efforts have been made to assure the accuracy of the data herein, this is NOT the official version of Senate Journal. It is published to provide information in a timely manner, but has not been proofread against the events of the session for this day. All information obtained from this source should be checked against a proofed copy of the Senate Journal.


Seal of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts


Tuesday, April 16, 2013.

Met according to adjournment at eleven o’clock A.M.

The President, members, guests and staff then recited the pledge of allegiance to the flag.

Distinguished Guests.

There being no objection, the President handed the gavel to Mr. Ross for the purpose of an introduction. Mr. Ross then introduced, in the rear of the Chamber, a group of National American Miss Massachusetts representatives. Among the group were Caitlin O’Neill, National American Miss Massachusetts Teen, Talia Masiello, National American Miss Boston Jr. Teen, Sectra Okundaye, National American Miss Roxbury Jr. Teen, Jordan Costa, National American Miss Cover Girl Pre-Teen and Kaymesha Vital, Miss Massachusetts Pre-Teen. The Senate welcomed them with applause and they withdrew from the Chamber.


The following resolutions (having been filed with the Clerk) were considered forthwith and adopted, as follows:-

Resolutions (filed by Mr. Tarr) “commemorating the dedication of the Reid R. Sacco Adolescent and Young Adult Clinic for Cancer and Blood Diseases.”

Moment of Silence.

At the request of the President the members, guests and staff stood in a moment of silence and reflection to the memory of the victims of the bombings at the Boston Marathon on Monday, April 15th.

Order Adopted.

On motion of Mr. Petruccelli,--

Ordered, That when the Senate adjourns today, it adjourn to meet again on Thursday next at eleven o’clock A.M., and that the Clerk be directed to dispense with the printing of a calendar.

On motion of Mr. Richard T. Moore, at five minutes past eleven o’clock A.M., the Senate adjourned to meet again on Thursday next at eleven o’clock A.M.