NOTICE: - While reasonable efforts have been made to assure the accuracy of the data herein, this is NOT the official version of Senate Journal. It is published to provide information in a timely manner, but has not been proofread against the events of the session for this day. All information obtained from this source should be checked against a proofed copy of the Senate Journal.


Seal of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts


Monday, January 10, 2005.

Met at five minutes past eleven o’clock A.M. (Mr. Hart in the Chair).

The Chair (Mr. Hart), members, guests and employees then recited the pledge of allegiance to the flag.

Qualification of a Senator.

The Honorable Robert L. Hedlund did at twenty-four minutes past one o’clock P.M., on Friday, January 7, 2005, take and subscribe the oath of office as State Senator from the Plymouth and Norfolk District.


The following communications were received and placed on file, to wit:—


January 7, 2004.

Mr. William F. Welch
Clerk of the Senate
State House, Room 335
Boston, MA 02133

Dear Mr. Clerk,

I am writing to inform you of a vote recently taken by the Republican Caucus of the Senate.

On January 5, 2004, the Republican caucus voted unanimously to appoint Senator Brian P. Lees of the First Hampden and Hampshire District as Minority Leader in the Senate for the 2005-2006 Legislative Session.

Thank you for your time and consideration of this matter.

Very truly yours,
Senator, Caucus Chair.


January 10, 2005.

Mr. William Welch
Clerk of the Senate
State House, Room 335
Boston, MA 02133

Dear Mr. Clerk:

The following Republican Senators are hereby appointed:

Assistant Minority Leader Senator Tisei of Middlesex

Minority Whip Senator Tarr of Essex and Middlesex

Assistant Minority Whip Senator Hedlund of Plymouth and Norfolk

Ranking Member,
Senate Ways and Means Committee Senator Knapik of Hampden and Hampshire

Ranking Member, Senate Education,

Arts and Humanities Committee Senator Brown of Norfolk, Bristol and Middlesex

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Senator, Minority Leader.


A report of the Joint Labor-Management Committee (under the provisions of Chapter 589 of the Acts of 1987) relative to dispute resolution (received Wednesday, January 5, 2005),— was placed on file.  



The following communications were severally read and placed on file:

A communication was received from the Clerk of the House of Representatives announcing the appointment of Scott J. Mitchell of Burlington as Assistant Clerk of the House of Representatives and Robert J. DeCarlo of Winthrop as Second Assistant Clerk of the House.

A communication was received from the Clerk of the House of Representatives announcing the election of Kevin W. Fitzgerald of Boston as Sergeant-at-Arms of the General Court.


The following resolutions (having been filed with the Clerk) were severally considered forthwith and adopted, as follows:—

Resolutions (filed by Mr. Pacheco) “congratulating Donnelly Oldfield Roberts upon his elevation to the rank of Eagle Scout”;
Resolutions (filed by Mr. Pacheco) “congratulating Patricia A. Roland”; and
Resolutions (filed by Ms. Walsh) “congratulating Analog Devices, Inc. on the occasion of its fortieth anniversary.”

Orders Adopted.

On motion of Mr. Moore,—

Ordered, That a special committee of the Senate to consist of four members of the Senate be appointed for the purpose of arranging the seats of the members of the Senate.

Senators Moore, Augustus, Spilka and Tisei were appointed to the special committee.

On motion of Mr. Timilty,—

Ordered, That a convention of the two branches be held at seven o’clock P.M., on Thursday, January 13, 2005, for the purpose of receiving such communication as His Excellency the Governor may be pleased to make them, relating to the concerns of the Commonwealth.
Sent to the House for concurrence.

Report of a Committee.

Mr. Moore, for the special committee appointed to arrange the seats of the members of the Senate, reported, recommending the following:

On the President’s Left.

1. Hon. Frederick E. Berry
2. Hon. Marian Walsh
3. Hon. Joan M. Menard
4. Hon. Robert A. Havern
5. Hon. Therese Murray
6. Hon. Stephen M. Brewer
7. Hon. Steven A. Baddour
8. Hon. John A. Hart, Jr.
9. Hon. James E. Timilty
10. Hon. Charles E. Shannon
11. Hon. Brian A. Joyce
12. Hon. Pamela P. Resor
13. Hon. Harriette L. Chandler
14. Hon. Robert A. Antonioni
15. Hon. Cynthia Stone Creem
16. Hon. Dianne Wilkerson
17. Hon. Steven C. Panagiotakos
18. Hon. Thomas M. McGee
19. Hon. Stephen J. Buoniconti
20. Hon. Andrea F. Nuciforo, Jr.

On the President’s Right.

1. Hon. Stanley C. Rosenberg
2. Hon. Mark C. Montigny
3. Hon. Michael R. Knapik
4. Hon. Brian P. Lees
5. Hon. Richard R. Tisei
6. Hon. Bruce E. Tarr
7. Hon. Robert L. Hedlund
8. Hon. Scott P. Brown
9. Hon. Karen E. Spilka
10. Hon. Robert O’Leary
11. Hon. Richard T. Moore
12. Hon. Susan C. Tucker
13. Hon. Steven A. Tolman
14. Hon. Susan C. Fargo
15. Hon. Jarrett T. Barrios
16. Hon. Edward M. Augustus, Jr.
17. Hon. Marc R. Pacheco
18. Hon. Michael W. Morrissey
19. Hon. Robert S. Creedon, Jr.
20. Vacant

The report was accepted and placed on file.

Order Adopted.

On motion of Mr. Knapik,—

Ordered, That when the Senate adjourns today, it adjourn to meet again on Thursday next at eleven o’clock A.M.

On motion of the same Senator, at eleven minutes past eleven o’clock A.M., the Senate adjourned to meet on the following Thursday at eleven o’clock A.M.