NOTICE: - While reasonable efforts have been made to assure the accuracy of the data herein, this is NOT the official version of Senate Journal. It is published to provide information in a timely manner, but has not been proofread against the events of the session for this day. All information obtained from this source should be checked against a proofed copy of the Senate Journal.


Seal of the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Tuesday, January 16, 2001.

Met at three minutes past eleven o’clock A.M.


Report of a Committee.

Mr. Travaglini, for the special committee appointed to arrange the seats of the members of the Senate, reported, recommending the following:

On the President’s Left.
On the President’s Right.
1. Hon. Linda J. Melconian 1. Hon. Edward J. Clancy, Jr.
2. Hon. Stanley C. Rosenberg 2. Hon. Frederick E. Berry
3. Hon. Robert E. Travaglini 3. Hon. Michael R. Knapik
4. Hon. Cheryl A. Jacques 4. Hon. Brian P. Lees
5. Hon. Mark C. Montigny 5. Hon. Richard R. Tisei
6. Hon. Robert A. Havern 6. Hon. Bruce E. Tarr
7. Hon. Stephen F. Lynch 7. Hon. Robert L. Hedlund
8. Hon. David P. Magnani 8. Hon. Jo Ann Sprague
9. Hon. Charles E. Shannon 9. Hon. Harriette L. Chandler
10. Hon. Brian A. Joyce 10. Hon. Robert O’Leary
11. Vacant 11. Hon. Richard T. Moore
12. Hon. Pamela P. Resor 12. Hon. Susan C. Tucker
13. Hon. Joan M. Menard 13. Hon. Steven A. Tolman
14. Hon. Robert A. Antonioni 14. Hon. Susan C. Fargo
15. Hon. Marian Walsh 15. Hon. Cynthia Stone Creem
16. Hon. Dianne Wilkerson 16. Hon. Guy W. Glodis
17. Hon. Steven C. Panagiotakos 17. Hon. Marc R. Pacheco
18. Hon. Therese Murray 18. Hon. Michael W. Morrissey
19. Hon. Stephen M. Brewer 19. Hon. Robert S. Creedon, Jr.
20. Hon. Andrea F. Nuciforo, Jr. 20. Hon. James P. Jajuga

The report was accepted and placed on file.


Order Adopted.

On motion of Ms. Melconian,—

Ordered, That full consideration shall be allowed on Thursday, January 18, 2001, on an order filed this day by Mr. Birmingham, Mr. Lees and Ms. Jacques relative to making certain changes in the Senate Rules (Senate, No. 1818); and that all amendments to said order and the rules of the Senate be filed in the Office of the Clerk of the Senate no later than one o’clock P.M. on Wednesday, January 17.
Messrs. Birmingham and Lees and Ms. Jacques presented an Order that the rules of the Senate for the previous General Court be adopted with certain changes (printed in Senate, No. 1818).
Pursuant to an order previously adopted by the Senate, the order was placed in the Orders of the Day for Thursday, January 18, the question being on adoption.



On motion of Mr. Tolman, Senate Rule 20 and Joint Rule 12 were suspended on the petition, presented by Ms. Walsh (accompanied by bill) of Marian Walsh, John H. Rogers, Richard S. Mann, Peter Adams and Holly Boykin for legislation to encourage charitable giving in the Commonwealth,— and the same was referred to the committee on Taxation.

Sent to the House for concurrence.



The following resolutions (having been filed with the Clerk) were severally considered forthwith and adopted, as follows:—

Resolutions (filed by Mr. Glodis) “congratulating John E. Hickey upon the occasion of his military testimonial”;

Resolutions (filed by Mr. Havern) “recognizing Daniel Galan of Arlington”;

Resolutions (filed by Mr. Havern) “recognizing Peter Meyers of Arlington”;

Resolutions (filed by Mrs. Sprague) “congratulating Jeffrey Allen Miller upon his elevation to the rank of Eagle Scout”;

Resolutions (filed by Mrs. Sprague) “congratulating Christopher Staubin upon his elevation to the rank of Eagle Scout”;

Resolutions (filed by Ms. Walsh) “congratulating Michael A. Bell, Jr., on the occasion of his Court of Honor”; and

Resolutions (filed by Ms. Walsh) “congratulating David Johnson on the occasion of his Court of Honor.”


Order Adopted.

On motion of Ms. Melconian,—

Ordered, That when the Senate adjourns today, it adjourn to meet again on Thursday next at one o’clock P.M.

On motion of Mr. Hedlund, at seven minutes past eleven o’clock A.M., the Senate adjourned to meet on the following Thursday at one o’clock P.M.