It may potentially pay claimants up to 26 additional weeks of benefits if needed in order to complete training. Training extension is only payable while in full-time training. Breaks of (3) weeks or longer benefits stop and may resume after the break if claimant still enrolled and attending after break.
- Claimant must be Permanently Separated.
- Claimant must be eligible for UI from a Massachusetts company. Many claimants live in a contiguous border state and are paid from Massachusetts.
- Be unlikely to obtain suitable employment based on their most recently utilized skills which are deemed obsolete or currently there is no demand for their skills.
- Possess sufficient aptitude and skills to successfully complete and benefit from approved training.
- During the current period of extended benefits, claimant can apply for Section 30 at any time during the eligibility period. After the period of extended benefits is over, the program will revert back to the original requirements of filing within the 15th compensable weeks.
- Claimant can receive Section 30 benefits up to 26 weeks during full-time training (at least 20 hours a week or 12 credit hour per semester).
- Claimant may participate in only one approved training program during the eligibility period. A Basic Skills program together with an approved vocational, industrial training or a Certificate program shall be considered one training program.
- Training must be full-time (20 classroom hours per week at non-college or continuing education college program; College degree programs require a minimum of 12 credits per semester or equivalent.) Schools which offer trimester or quarters vs. semesters are also potentially approvable but, will need to be reviewed by TOP unit.
- Maintain attendance and make satisfactory progress in the selected training are required for their continued eligibility in the training program.
- Program must be completed within 2 years, or within 3 years if the program combines Basic Skills with vocational or industrial training.
Basic Skills Enhancement
If it is determined that, as part of your re-employment plan, you need "basic skills enhancement"-English as a Second Language (ESL), Adult Basic Education (ABE) or General Equivalency Diploma (GED) preparation-that course is usually taken as part of a vocational or industrial training program. However, you are eligible to take GED, ABE and ESOL on a standalone basis, and if combined, you can be in training for 2 years.
When basic skills enhancement is part of your vocational plan, the overall length of both programs may exceed the two year maximum. However, you will not be eligible to collect more than your maximum benefits under the regular state program plus the 26 weeks of additional benefits allowed by law.
- A program must have a 50% or better placement into the field for which the training was intended within the last 12 months.
- English as a Second Language (ESL), Adult Basic Education (ABE), or General Equivalency Diploma (GED) programs are exempt from performance data reporting, if no job attached to end of training.
- School must be current with UI Contributions if required.
- School must be registered or licensed by Massachusetts Department of Education or by other State oversight entity if required by law.
- Program must be Section 30 approved in MOSES/Job Quest systems. MA. & contiguous border state schools must apply as a provider through TrainingPro.
- Individual approval for a program may be considered for a program not listed on TrainingPro, if the claimant was attending the program prior to UI eligibility.
- Training outside of Massachusetts may be considered after review. Schools must meet their state's licensing requirement and all other requirements provided by Sec30(c) and 24(b) of Massachusetts Employment and Training Law.
Severance Pay and all Other Issues on Claim
If a claimant is serving a disqualifying severance period, s/he may still apply for Section 30. A determination will be issued when claimant becomes eligible for UI benefits. Similarly, you may apply for Section 30 while you are waiting to become eligible for UI benefits. Determination of Section 30 review is contingent upon your UI claim approval.
- Attending school less than 20 classroom hours per week or under 11 credits per semester is considered part-time.
- Claimant eligible for regular UI but not eligible for the 26 week extension benefits; must be actively seeking work and be able, available for full time work
- This type of training is potentially approvable. However, detailed conditions apply. Call TOP unit for details.
Inquiries or questions, call the Section 30 Unit at 617-626-5375.