New employers who perform services in Massachusetts are liable to pay Massachusetts Unemployment Insurance contributions once they reach the following applicable threshold requirements.

Domestic Employers: (services performed in the home such as a baby sitter, personal care attendant, housekeeper, gardener etc)

Cash remuneration of $1,000 or more in a calendar quarter

Agricultural Employers: (services performed on a farm including stock, dairy, poultry, fruit, fur bearing animals, nurseries, orchards, greenhouses and other similar structures that are used primarily for raising of agricultural and horticultural commodities)

Cash remuneration of $20,000 in a calendar quarter or employment of 10
or more individuals on some day in each of 20 calendar weeks, not
necessarily consecutive, in a
calendar year

Out of State Employers: (an employer organized outside of Massachusetts)

A Massachusetts payroll of $200 or more in a calendar quarter

Governmental Employers: (created by statute and are financially independent)

Liability begins on first date of payroll

All Other Massachusetts Employers:

Payment of wages of $1500 or more in a calendar quarter or employment
of one or more individuals on some day in each of 13 weeks, not
necessarily consecutive, in a calendar year

Recommended Content

People also viewed...

You recently viewed...

Personalization is OFF. Your personal browsing history at Mass.gov is not visible because your personalization is turned off. To view your history, turn your personalization on.

Learn more on our .

*Recommendations are based on site visitor traffic patterns and are not endorsements of that content.