CONTACTING THE COURT

If the parties involved in the workers' compensation dispute do not reach an agreement at Conciliation, the case can be referred on to a Conference before an Administrative Judge (AJ). Twenty-one AJ's preside over disputed workers' compensation cases from the Conference proceeding to the Hearing stage.

Conferences involve informal, non-evidentiary proceedings where each party (usually represented by an attorney) presents brief oral arguments and submits documents to support their side of the case. The AJ will issue a Temporary Order addressing the matter in dispute. Either party may appeal the order and request a Hearing.

Unlike the Conference, the Hearing is a formal proceeding where contested issues are heard de novo (without regard to what happened at the Conference) under the Massachusetts Rules of Evidence, and the prescribed DIA Regulations. A court stenographer is assigned to record the Hearing. After the Hearing concludes, and all motions are ruled on and necessary depositions are filed, the AJ issues a formal Hearing Decision containing findings of facts and rulings of law.

Judges and Assistants

TEL: (617) 727-4900
FAX: (617) 727-6477 (Administrative Judges)
FAX: (617) 727-7122 (Administrative Law Judges)

SENIOR JUDGE

Omar Hernandez
Melissa Greenleaf, x 7307
Melissa.Crosby@massmail.state.ma.us

JUDICIAL SUPPORT MANAGER

       Deborah Pierre  x 7350
       Deborah.Pierre@massmail.state.ma.us

ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGES

Judge Richard Heffernan
Kelly Ivers, x 7337
Kelly.Ivers@massmail.state.ma.us

Judge Sabina Herlihy
Joanne Simon, x 7329
Joanne.Simon@massmail.state.ma.us

Judge Roger Lewenberg
MyLien Vuong, x 7331
Mylien.Vuong@massmail.state.ma.us

Judge Douglas McDonald
MyLien Vuong, x 7331
Mylien.Vuong@massmail.state.ma.us

Judge Dianne Solomon
Elaine Frattaroli, x 7398
Elaine.Frattaroli@massmail.state.ma.us

Judge Fred Taub
Kelly Ivers, x 7337
Kelly.Ivers@massmail.state.ma.us

Judge Michael Williams
Joanne Simon, x 7329
Joanne.Simon@massmail.state.ma.us

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Judge Carol Calliotte
Melissa Greenleaf x 7311
Melissa.Crosby@massmail.state.ma.us

Judge Bernard Fabricant
Lynette Jones, x 7309
Lynette.Jones@massmail.state.ma.us

Judge William Harpin
Cheryl McCrevan, x 7394
Cheryl.McCrevan@massmail.state.ma.us

Judge Mark Horan
Lynette Jones, x 7309
Lynette.Jones@massmail.state.ma.us

Judge Catherine Koziol
Cheryl McCrevan, x 7394
Cheryl.McCrevan@massmail.state.ma.us

Judge Frederick Levine
Cheryl McCrevan, x 7394
Cheryl.McCrevan@massmail.state.ma.us