1. Will grants be accepted after the July 1st date?
Yes, if the number of qualified applicants exceeds funding availability by July 1st, subsequent applications will continue to be routinely accepted and evaluated for those that qualify will be placed on a waiting list should funding become available.
1. How do I apply and when does the application process begin?
The annual process begins each October. Online applications are available by e-mailing firstname.lastname@example.org. Who is eligible to apply for a safety grant?
The Office of Safety will fund safety education training programs which target employees and/or employers operating within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and whose entire staff, including consultants, are covered by the Massachusetts Workers' Compensation Law (MGL c. 152). If you are exempt from workers' compensation (e.g. sole proprietorship, DBA, self-insured) a letter explaining your exemption must be included in the application.3. Can one employer apply for more than one grant?
Grants are limited to one grant per year, per entity.4. How is it determined who will be awarded the grants?
An Application Evaluation Committee reads all the proposals and makes recommendations to the Director of the DIA. Scoring is based on scope, design, budget and other factors. Please see the current grant application for complete details.5. What is the amount of money one company can be awarded?
Safety training grants are capped at a maximum of $25,000.6. What types of health and safety training qualify for funding?
The grant program is charged with funding programs for the education and training of employees and employers to avoid and prevent unsafe or unhealthy practices in the workplace. The goal of the training should be specific to the needs of the target audience. Training should be related to prevention of injuries occurring in the workplace and should encompass knowledge of strategies to prevent incidents of injury.7. Does the grant pay for materials and equipment?
Training dollars are to be used only for training hours and necessary training materials.8. How does the reimbursement process work?
Invoices must be submitted by the 15th of each month after the training has taken place. For example, invoices are due November 15th for services rendered in October. Reimbursements are usually remitted within 30 days after approval.
9. How do I make a budget change?
A written request, along with a copy of the original budget and a copy of the proposed new budget with alterations, and any relevant information such as the new resume for a new trainer and MOU must be submitted to the Office of Safety for approval before you make any permanent changes.
10. What is considered to be a budget change?
Any modification to the agreed upon budget, even if the total amount of money stays the same. This can include (but is not limited to) adding an instructor, buying a different quantity of materials, or buying materials at a different price.
11. When does the Office of Safety need to be informed of a budget change?
The Office of Safety and/or Accounting & Finance must approve all budget changes before any training takes place (if adding a new instructor), or before a purchase is made (if modifying materials purchases).
12. How late can I make a budget change?
May 1st is the deadline for budget modifications.
13. Where do I send the application?
The completed grant application and attachments A - H must be submitted electronically and sent to the DIA Office of Safety at email@example.com. Who do I contact if I need help?
You may contact the Office of Safety via our automatic response e-mail system at firstname.lastname@example.org