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Subject: Section 30 Law Changes 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Purpose: To inform Local Workforce Investment Boards, One-Stop Career Center 

Operators and other local workforce investment partners of changes made to 
Massachusetts Unemployment Law and regulations with respect to approval of 
training programs for claimants in conjunction with the Section 30 Training 
Opportunities program. 

 
 
Background: On October 1, 2009, the Division of Unemployment Assistance issued a 

memorandum (Attachment A) describing changes to state unemployment law 
[M.G.L. Ch. 151(A)] and related regulations.   

 
 Two changes are of a temporary nature:  
 

• When an extended benefit program such as the current EUC and EB 
programs are available to Massachusetts’ claimants the period in which a 
claimant must apply for training approval is extended beyond the normal 
15 week eligibility window to include any time within the claimant’s 52-
week “benefit year”.  

• To approve a training program under Section 30 when the Massachusetts 
unemployment rate is 7.0 % or less, the training program must have 
achieved an average minimum placement rate in full or part time training-
related placement of 70%. If the unemployment rate is between 7.1 – 8.0% 
the minimum placement rate must be 60%.  If the unemployment rate is 
8.1% of higher, the minimum placement rate must be 50%. 
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 Two changes are permanent: 
.   

• Training is approvable for a claimant when a disability does not allow the 
individual to perform the essential functions of his/her previous 
occupation. 

• To approve training, the program must be completed within 2 years or, if 
combined with a basic skills component, within 3 years. 

 
  
Required: Please assure that all appropriate staff are knowledgeable of the changes 

described in Attachment A. 
  
 
Inquiries:   All inquiries should be directed to the Section 30 Unit at 617-626-5375. 
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