• Professionals in many fields (medical, legal, mental health, media, criminal justice, victim advocacy, clergy, etc.) come in contact with crime victims every day. Yet, often, each provider knows little, if anything, about the other systems that impact the victim’s experience and pursuit of healing and justice. The MVAA Summer Institute’s week-long training helps enrich and broaden advocates’ perspectives and approaches to their work with victims and survivors.

    About the MVAA Program

    The Massachusetts Victim Assistance Academy (MVAA) began with the support of the Federal Office for Victims of Crime, which has been promoting the establishment of Statewide Victim Assistance Academies (SVAA) across the country. In 2005, the Massachusetts Office for Victim Assistance (MOVA) applied and was selected to join the ranks of only 17 existing SVAA programs at that time. Based on MVAA’s unique curriculum, it was lauded as a “model for the nation” in its first year of operation and continues to provide consultation to other states establishing similar programs. 

    While typical trainings often take a ‘topic-centered’ approach, the MVAA takes a ‘victim-centered’ approach. This unique curriculum, which is both practice-focused and academically informed, provides an in-depth understanding of the crime victim’s experience over time  and across the various systems with which they interact (e.g., criminal justice, medical, mental health, victim advocacy, media). It also incorporates an understanding of the impact of survivors’ diverse backgrounds and life experiences. Furthermore, the MVAA curriculum promotes the importance of meaningful collaborations and coordinated responses among service providers.

  • 2015 Massachusetts Victim Assistance Academy

    The 2015 Massachusetts Victim Assistance Academy (MVAA) will take place on the beautiful campus of Endicott College in Beverly, MA, from Sunday, July 26 until Friday, July 31. This innovative training is for those providing direct service to crime victims with less than 5 years experience. The MVAA seeks a diversity of attendees, representing a variety of cultural backgrounds, geographic locations, and types of agencies and constituencies served. The Academy will provide formal training and opportunities for building and strengthening collaborative relationships with others in the field. Students are expected to reside on campus throughout the week; exceptions may be made depending upon individual circumstances and with prior approval. MVAA 2015 has limited enrollment and attendees will be determined by application only. Applicants wishing to be considered for the Mintz Levin/Paul Poth and/or the Cheryl Watson Memorial scholarship must submit all materials by March 6, 2015.  All other applicants may submit materials until June 5, 2015. Selected applicants will be notified 3 weeks after the appropriate deadline as to the status of their application. Registration payment or a PV is due July 1, 2015. Payment arrangements are required to confirm space.  A late fee will be charged for payment received after the payment deadline. We will have a wait list if we exceed capacity; applicants from the wait list will be admitted to any available spaces beginning June 13, 2015. 

    2015 MVAA Cover Letter  pdf format of 2015 MVAA Cover Letter

    2015 MVAA Application  doc format of 2015 MVAA Application

  • 2015 Advanced Academy

    MOVA is offered an Advanced Victim Assistance Academy along with the successful basic MVAA.  The Advanced Academy is being offered July 29 - July 31, 2015 at Endicott College in Beverly, MA.  This two night/three day training is specifically designed for victim service providers with more than five years experience.  

    2015 Advanced Academy Cover Letter  pdf format of 2015 Advanced Academy Cover Letter

    2015 Advanced Academy Application  doc format of 2015 Advanced Academy Application

  • Funding Tips for the 2015 MVAA and Advanced Academy