Mass.Gov home  home get things done agencies Search Mass.Gov

Commonwealth of Massachusetts

John Adams Courthouse
One Pemberton Square
Boston, Massachusetts 02108


Joan Kenney/Charlotte Whiting 617/557-1114


Supreme Judicial Court Appoints Two New Members to Board of Bar Overseers;
Marguerite T. Grant Appointed as Chair and Francis J. Russell as Vice Chair

The Justices of the Supreme Judicial Court recently announced the appointments of Attorneys Diane Di Ianni of Boston and Jeffrey L. McCormick of Longmeadow to the Board of Bar Overseers for four-year terms, effective on January 1, 2007. The terms will expire on December 31, 2010. They fill the positions held by Attorney Alan D. Rose, who served as Chair, and Attorney James B. Re, who served as Vice Chair, whose terms are expiring.

The Justices also appointed Attorney Marguerite T. Grant of Westwood as the new Chair and Attorney Francis J. Russell of Shrewsbury as the new Vice Chair.

The Board of Bar Overseers, which consists of eight lawyers and four non-lawyers appointed by the Supreme Judicial Court, investigates allegations of professional misconduct by attorneys. Established in 1974, the Board of Bar Overseers uses annual registration fees paid by attorneys to fund its operations and those of the Office of Bar Counsel and the Clients’ Security Board.

Diane Di Ianni is of counsel in the Boston law firm Rosenberg & Schapiro, P.C., where she has a general practice concentrating in civil litigation, public sector law, and school law. Before joining the firm in 2001, she was general counsel for the Boston Public Schools for four years. From 1988 to 1996, she was associate counsel in the Litigation Department of Hill & Barlow. She is a member of the Boston Bar Association, the American Bar Association, the Council of School Attorneys, and serves as Chair of the Joint Bar Committee on Judicial Appointment. Formerly, she was a Hearing Committee member for the Board of Bar Overseers and Co-Chair of the Boston Bar Association Administration of Justice Section. Ms. Di Ianni received a J.D. degree, cum laude, from New York University School of Law, an M.A. degree from the University of Virginia, and a B. A. degree, cum laude, from the University of New Hampshire.

A partner in the Springfield law firm of Robinson Donovan, P.C. since 1977, Mr. McCormick practices civil law, concentrating in litigation. He is a member and former president of both the Hampden County Bar Association and the Massachusetts Bar Association, and a member of the New England Bar Association, where he served on the Board of Directors. He is also a member of the American Bar Association, the Federal Bar Association, and the Supreme Judicial Court Historical Society. He is a past member of the Board of Bar Overseers Hearing Committee and the Supreme Judicial Court Committee on the Rules of Professional Conduct. In 2003, Governor Mitt Romney appointed him to the Judicial Nominating Commission. A fellow in the American College of Trial Lawyers, he is a past president of the Massachusetts Bar Institute. Mr. McCormick holds a J.D. degree from Seton Hall University School of Law, and a B.A. degree and an M. Ed. degree from the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Appointed to the Board of Bar Overseers in 2005, the new Chair, Marguerite T. Grant, is an Assistant District Attorney in Middlesex County. She served as a Hearing Committee member for the Board of Bar Overseers from 1997 to 2003. A partner in the Worcester law firm of Mountain, Dearborn & Whiting, the new Vice Chair, Francis J. Russell, was also appointed to the Board in 2005.

BBO/OBC Privacy Policy. Please direct all questions to
© 2007. Board of Bar Overseers. Office of Bar Counsel. All rights reserved.