- What is the Do Not Call Registry?
- How and When Can I Sign Up?
- When Will Telemarketers Stop Calling Me?
- What Protections Will Consumers Have Under the New Law?
- Are There Any Exceptions to this Law?
- How is This Law Enforced?
- Can My Information Be Used for Purposes Other than Preventing Telemarketing Calls?
- Can I Get a Copy of the Law?
Chapter 265 of the Acts of 2002, An Act Regulating Telemarketing Solicitation, creates a "Do Not Call" registry within the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation. The law became effective on January 1, 2003 and is found at Chapter 159C of the Massachusetts General Laws. By signing on to the Do Not Call Registry consumers will be able to stop receiving certain prohibited telephone solicitations.
- The list is free and is available for all Massachusetts residents to sign up.
- Registration is easy and can be accomplished in a short amount of time.
- You can register any home and cell phone numbers and each number only needs to be registered once (not every person in the household needs to register). Please feel free to register as many residential phone numbers as you have. With their permission, you may also register a friend or relative.
- Once you have registered, your phone number will be included on future lists unless you request to have it removed. If you want your phone number to be taken off the list, you must print and mail a delete request form . You should remove your number if you move and change your number.
- Business phone numbers are not covered by this law.
- You can sign up for the Do Not Call Registry in any of three ways:
- Register online at www.Mass.gov/donotcall. The website may be accessed 24 hours day, 7 days a week. OR
- Call toll-free (866) 231-CALL (2255). This automated system is also available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. OR
- You may print out a registration form and mail it to the following address:
Massachusetts Do Not Call Program
c/o First Data
11311 Cornell Park Dr. Suite 300
Cincinnati, OH 45242
- When writing, you must include your name, address, and phone number.
- WATCH OUT for frauds! In some states, when the Do Not Call programs were being set up, consumers received calls asking for fees or private information from scam artists. No one from the state will call you to enroll you in the Do Not Call Registry. You will sign up yourself on the website or by calling the toll free number.
The first Do Not Call Registry will be effective April 1, 2003. The Do No Call Registry will be updated and provided to subscribing telemarketers on a quarterly basis (January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1). Each updated list will add the names of any consumers who sign up since the last list was published. After each signup period, telemarketing solicitors will have several weeks to remove numbers from their lists. So if you signed up any time before March 1, 2003, you will start seeing results in April 2003. The following chart shows when unsolicited sales calls must stop:
Consumers sign up between:
Effective Date Unsolicited
January 1- March 1
March 2- June 1
June 2- September 1
September 2- December 1
When you sign up you will be given the effective date on which you can expect unsolicited sales calls to stop. Make a note of this date for future reference or check your status on this website to be sure of the date the telemarketers received the list on which your number appears.
- Unsolicited sales calls may not be made to consumers who sign up on the Do Not Call Registry after the effective date of their registration;
- Soliciting telephone calls cannot be made to any Massachusetts consumers (even those who are not on the registry) between the hours of 8 p.m. and 8 a.m.;
- Soliciting facsimile transmissions cannot be made at any time;
- Telephone solicitations using recorded message devices cannot be made at any time;
- Telemarketers cannot use devices to block their identity from the consumer;
- Telemarketers must disclose, within the first minute of the sales call, identifying information, including the sales purpose of the call, the name of the telemarketer and the name of the ultimate seller, and an accurate and complete description of the goods or services being offered;
- Telemarketers must disclose the following before any payment discussions:
- The total cost of the goods/services offered;
- Any limits on the purchase;
- The refund and return policy; and
- The material terms of any investment opportunity being offered, including the price, location and the non-guaranteed nature of the investment.
You may still receive certain types of calls:
- Noncommercial polls or surveys, e.g. political polls;
- Calls made by tax-exempt non-profit organizations, e.g. universities and charities;
- Calls made to consumers with that consumer's express permission;
- Calls made to consumers in response to that consumer's visit to that company's fixed commercial location;
- Telephone sales calls made primarily in connection with an existing contract or debt;
- Telephone sales calls to an existing customer;
- Telephone sales calls in the context of ongoing consumer sales when face-to-face presentations or meetings are prerequisites to payment are telephone calls that fall outside the covered purview of the banned solicitations above;
- This law does not cover e-mail or junk mail. Information about junk mail and spam is also available.
- The law may be enforced by the Attorney General or by consumers who bring suit on their own.
- We have compiled some tips about how consumers can help enforce the law by keeping track of violations or filing a complaint .
NO! Information provided by consumers to sign up on the Do Not Call Registry is protected from general disclosure and inspection or for use for any other purpose. Telemarketers must use the list solely for the purpose of the Do Not Call program and the telemarketer must agree not to sell or otherwise transfer the list to any other person or entity.
Yes. We have developed a comprehensive section called " The Law " which explains the statute and related regulations.